English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 January 2009, 16:35   #1
bpazolli
 
Posts: n/a
Devpac keeps Crashing??

Devpac occasionally crashes when I try to assemble code. It will get to the point of telling me that there are no errors and the mouse will freeze, the powerlight flash, at which point it restarts to tell me a guru meditation error message. An example of the code I might type in is as such;

Code:
PROG:    MOVEM.L    VALUE1,D0-D3
         ADD.L      D3,D1
         ADDX.L     D2,D0
         MOVEM.L    D0-D1,RESULT
         RTS
VALUE1:  DS.L 2
VALUE2:  DS.L 2
RESULT:  DS.L 2
         END        PGM_4_7
This code for example is from a book teaching assembly language; it is adding together 2 64bit numbers.

Any ideas of whats wrong would be appreciated. I am using Devpac v.3 (a pirated version I think). Could it be a bad disk image? bad memory? bad program? Again, any help appreciated.

Ben Pazolli
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 January 2009, 16:43   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,835
code looks ok, nothing wrong with it. might be devpac runs out of stack when assembling or something, try to increase stacksize before starting devpac, may help.
StingRay is offline  
Old 07 January 2009, 20:22   #3
Jherek Carnelia
Dazed and Confused
Jherek Carnelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: portsmouth/uk
Posts: 227
The code runs fine from devpac when I try it - from WinUAE.

I have that book, and I noticed from the examples I have on disk that I INCLUDE'd misc/easystart.i at the beginning of my code. It was a very long time ago that I was using it, but I seem to remember that it was something about returning to the OS that caused the intermittent crashes (could be I'm totally wrong though ).

Maybe using the include (supplied on the Devpac disks) would help...
Jherek Carnelia is offline  
Old 07 January 2009, 22:29   #4
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,842
When you return to the OS, you should terminate the end of your routine before the RTS with a moveq #0,d0, this tells the OS there were no errors to report, as error handling numbers are put into D0.

Secondly, are you using Master Devpac by any chance? If so, junk it, its prone to crashes, its a hacked version with built in calculator and its shit.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 07 January 2009, 23:21   #5
hitchhikr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 362
As i recall it was a bug in the official devpac 3 package itself.

If you own a PC or a Mac you should assemble your program with vasm/vlink instead, it'll be much faster.
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 08 January 2009, 08:58   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitchhikr View Post
As i recall it was a bug in the official devpac 3 package itself.
I've been using 3.18 for years and it's always been good as gold.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 08 January 2009, 10:23   #7
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,495
Ofc it crashes. Devpac is lame Seka is fame, don't you know?

Try to get the exact Devpac version and upgrade if possible. Increasing your stacksize may help, since it is *while assembling* it happens.
Photon is offline  
Old 08 January 2009, 13:32   #8
hitchhikr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 362
It depends on the version, there was 2 shipped: one for 1.x and one for 2.x and upward, the first one doesn't like anything else than 1.x os.

The latest version (v3.18 i think but others behave just as bad) doesn't like the 2.04 os at all (and needs v37 libraries so no go on 1.x systems).
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 08 January 2009, 19:46   #9
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpazolli View Post
This code for example is from a book teaching assembly language; it is adding together 2 64bit numbers.
Hi, can you tell me a good book to lern Amiga Assembly?
Thanks in Advance
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 08 January 2009, 20:08   #10
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,020
Hi AlfaRomeo,

for a start you could have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=21516
TCD is offline  
Old 08 January 2009, 22:13   #11
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,288
I learnt 68000 coding from "68000 Assembly Language" by Lance Leventhal (and some other dudes). Not related to the Amiga at all of course, but I thought it was very well written. I also liked it because it was free - stolen from my college library
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 09 January 2009, 01:04   #12
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 776
Thanks for your tips guys
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 09 January 2009, 05:26   #13
bpazolli
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaRomeo View Post
Hi, can you tell me a good book to lern Amiga Assembly?
It's the same book as the guy that posted above. '68000 Assembly Language Programming' by Gerry Kane, Doug Hawkins, Lance Leventhal. It is not great for amiga assembly though, you have to change the programs around to make them all relative addressing; so that they can be placed anywhere. Also like the guy above I got it from my University Library (UWA) but unlike him I intend on returning it.

Ben Pazolli
 
Old 09 January 2009, 08:52   #14
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpazolli View Post
I got it from my University Library (UWA) but unlike him I intend on returning it.
Well... I couldn't return it after I damaged the book removing the security tag could I?
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 09 January 2009, 23:06   #15
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 776
Thanks bpazolli

Anyone knows where can I get the DevPac includes for WB 3.9 ?(I don´t know which version they are)

Last edited by AlfaRomeo; 10 January 2009 at 00:55.
AlfaRomeo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time fixed done, still crashing. Hache support.Hardware 2 02 January 2013 17:07
WinUAE 1.3.4 in lores - crashing killergorilla support.WinUAE 10 06 September 2007 19:19
Winuae crashing RickyC support.WinUAE 4 29 May 2007 18:01
WinUAE 1.3 crashing Tony Landais support.WinUAE 11 26 July 2006 12:59
Emulator crashing when quitting Melvein New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 02 June 2003 14:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28290 seconds with 14 queries