English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2009, 00:47   #1
doble07
AmiEmulators coder
doble07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Age: 43
Posts: 40
There is SDL (Simple DirectMedia Layer) support for Classic Amigas

Hi all!

There is SDL (Simple DirectMedia Layer) support for Classic Amigas?

Anyone has achieve SDL with Amiga 68k/030 + AGA only?

I found SDL-Amiga in Aminet, but it seem only to work with Graphics Cards...

Thanks

Juan
doble07 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 January 2009, 01:47   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,970
There are several SDL implementations for AGA. Slow as hell but hey.

http://ggreco.interfree.it/sdl.html
http://amiga.sourceforge.net/ (I think this might be cgx only)

WarpSDL by Chaozer was the fastest but he never released the source or developer libs so all you could play was WarpSCUMM

http://www.onyxsoft.se/download.shtml

Last edited by alexh; 02 January 2009 at 02:04.
alexh is online now  
Old 03 January 2009, 01:59   #3
doble07
AmiEmulators coder
doble07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Age: 43
Posts: 40
Hi Alexh!

Thanks for the links...

I have been testing all these SDL implementations but none works with AGA. Only with RTG...

Thanks.

Juan
doble07 is offline  
Old 03 January 2009, 02:05   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,970
I guess your only chance is to try to get Chaozer to release WarpSDL?
alexh is online now  
Old 03 January 2009, 02:38   #5
doble07
AmiEmulators coder
doble07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Age: 43
Posts: 40
Hi Alexh!

I have been testing WarpSCUMM that requires WarpSDL, but it crashed when I launched it in my AGA system.

If Chaozer doesn't released it, probably it never will be released!

Thanks

Juan
doble07 is offline  
Old 03 January 2009, 12:08   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by doble07 View Post
I have been testing WarpSCUMM that requires WarpSDL, but it crashed when I launched it in my AGA system.
All I can think of is that you have some extra software installed (patches) which crash WarpSDL.

Check to see what you've got installed, perhaps disable them for a bit.
alexh is online now  
Old 03 January 2009, 16:55   #7
doble07
AmiEmulators coder
doble07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Age: 43
Posts: 40
Hi Alexh!

I have tested WarpSCUMM with ClassicWB_P96_v24 and it works perfect, but it uses Graphics Card. My second test was launch ClassicWB_P96_v24 without Startup-Sequence, then I launched "SetPatch" manually from CLI and then I start WarpSCUMM. It loads MonkeyIsland but it crash before open a window or custom screen...

Anyone used WarpSCUMM successful in a AGA system?
if so, what kind of AGA system you used?

Thanks!

Juan
doble07 is offline  
Old 07 January 2009, 15:55   #8
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
An unneeded wrapper outside opengl written in C on a 50 MIPS computer where the blitter (if it's used at all) is slower than syrup? Sounds like a marriage made in heaven! :P

With a graphics card, I can possibly see it. Should be a bunch of much faster libraries for those cards to use instead. Whatever you make on it will not reach an audience.

Last edited by Photon; 08 January 2009 at 11:26.
Photon is offline  
Old 07 January 2009, 18:16   #9
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 41
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by doble07 View Post
Hi Alexh!

I have tested WarpSCUMM with ClassicWB_P96_v24 and it works perfect, but it uses Graphics Card. My second test was launch ClassicWB_P96_v24 without Startup-Sequence, then I launched "SetPatch" manually from CLI and then I start WarpSCUMM. It loads MonkeyIsland but it crash before open a window or custom screen...

Anyone used WarpSCUMM successful in a AGA system?
if so, what kind of AGA system you used?

Thanks!

Juan
from the requirements in the README file of WarpSDL:

* 040/060 for AGA support.

i played with source code of a very primitive scummvm version to make a day of tentacle version compatible with stock 1200. it included an sdl library as scummvm was relying on it and needed ixemul.library also. a WriteChunkyPixels Patch (blazeWCP or systempatch) was necessary to make it run at reasonnable speed. i will check if i can still find this source code and will let you know....

YOU CAN DOWNLOAD IT DIRECTLY FROM AMINET (source included ... 3 files related to sdl) and sorry the version i used did not need ixemul library :http://aminet.net/package/game/role/ScummVM_AGA

you will find details of dott version here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=dott

Last edited by pbareges; 07 January 2009 at 18:25.
pbareges is offline  
Old 08 January 2009, 01:26   #10
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 390
Send a message via Skype™ to Vairn
ooh, more juicy source code... Might be worth a looksie, see what it has inside.

Cheers for the linky
Vairn is offline  
Old 09 January 2009, 00:35   #11
doble07
AmiEmulators coder
doble07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Age: 43
Posts: 40
Hi pbareges!

Thanks for the info and the link, I will try this weekend.

Juan
doble07 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Mouse with scroll support adapter (all Amigas kipper2k support.Hardware 3 18 July 2013 23:29
Programming on Classic Amigas A420X Coders. General 4 09 February 2011 07:56
dwindling classic Amigas Oscar Castillo Amiga scene 8 04 January 2009 01:17
Linux for (classic) Amigas macce2 Amiga scene 24 28 June 2007 23:40
Current market value of classic Amigas Galaxy MarketPlace 22 21 November 2004 16:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25900 seconds with 14 queries