English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 September 2018, 19:58   #421
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 71
Really? How stupid is that? Ok..we have the chance patzik will do it right, i hope so
katarakt is offline  
Old 27 September 2018, 20:21   #422
majinga
Registered User

majinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
Why? The led is almost useless here. Once the case is closed, the led is no longer visible.
To check what is enabled and what is not, check the jumpers.
majinga is offline  
Old 27 September 2018, 22:33   #423
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,525
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
how about translucent cases, which are on its way, somehow
Chain is offline  
Old 27 September 2018, 22:59   #424
majinga
Registered User

majinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
Even in this case the led can still always on.
The led is to indicate if the board is powered or not. It has nothing to do with settings.
majinga is offline  
Old 27 September 2018, 23:03   #425
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,525
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
ah thats not good, led should lit when board is enabled
Chain is offline  
Old 27 September 2018, 23:22   #426
majinga
Registered User

majinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
What do you mean with enabled? Ram or RTC?

And why should someone keep a disabled board inside his A500?
majinga is offline  
Old 28 September 2018, 00:32   #427
patzik
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Haarlem/Netherlands
Posts: 10
Ok, I did the last corrections and added the led jumper next to the select switch jumper. They share a common ground so only 3 wires needed.
The resistor is the same resistor as used with the onboard led, so if you need to make the led less or more bright, R6 is the resistor you need to change.
This led is just as the onboard led, and always lights up, unless you use a 4 pole switch (spdt), in that case you would switch the led and the expansion on/off at the same time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled_Combined_Top.png
Views:	40
Size:	544.6 KB
ID:	60003   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled_Combined_Bottom.png
Views:	34
Size:	491.0 KB
ID:	60004  
Attached Files
File Type: zip A501b6 Gerber Mousebites Jumpers Led.zip (361.7 KB, 14 views)
patzik is offline  
Old 28 September 2018, 09:53   #428
majinga
Registered User

majinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
Ah, so, that's the purpose of the switch on the bottom right corner. I wondered what it was for.

Just a suggestion, maybe it is better to add a silk-screen to indicate how to use the jumper.
majinga is offline  
Old 29 September 2018, 00:04   #429
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 71
Great !! Thanks a lot!

But you haven't done all i think:

C20 change from 2.5mm to 2mm RM done ?

You have to line up the 3pin sw/led with the sel 0 sel 1 2pin gary header...so, move the 2pin a little bit more to the right of the board so the vh connector can be turned 180 degrees. Check my picture, you can see what i mean. Tomorrow i can modify the picture and measure the board...don,t know if i can describe it enough with words.

Yes ...silkscreen hint is missing for led function.

Final version silkscreen should be Rev B.7

About using a LED. With final version someday i'll use this ramexpansion with a switch i'm going to put on the back right behind the floppy. This switch has an LED built-in ...now guess...i turn on the ramexpanion and LED shows that ramexpansion is turned on

But, now we have every combination and everyone can choose which led setting he want

Btw...does anybody know for what the 2 big holes are ??? Maybe they should be deleted too ?

Last edited by katarakt; 29 September 2018 at 00:12.
katarakt is offline  
Old 29 September 2018, 03:14   #430
mc6809e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 282
Back in the day I used the piggy-back method to bring my A500 to 1Meg.

I can't remember the details but basically I soldered another 16 chips on top of the 16 already on the motherboard, making sure not to solder the RAS lines. Those I pulled up to be horizontal and soldered all of them to wires that went to the appropriate RAS select on the motherboard. I might also have had to break a trace on the motherboard but I can't remember.

Of course there was no real time clock but it didn't matter at the time.

I think I got the 512K of memory from an old 68K workstation that a friend had.

And it was all free!

At one time I also wound up using an Atari ST color monitor. I had been using an old monochrome monitor (no joke) and a friend had gave me (for free again) an ST color monitor. It was easy to get it to work with the Amiga. Looked really good, too!

I remember thinking how much better it looked than the Commodore Amiga monitors!
mc6809e is offline  
Old 29 September 2018, 10:34   #431
majinga
Registered User

majinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
...

Btw...does anybody know for what the 2 big holes are ??? Maybe they should be deleted too ?

I don't know what they are for.

But this start to be a big and heavy expansion board, if full populated. The A500 connector can't take it all the way up alone. The external hole can be used with a pcb stand-off, to keep the board up when the trapdoor is closed. Not easy to select the right stand-off, but, still an option.




Or maybe a pcb feet, mounted on the top side. Used as guide with the trapdoor rail.

Anyway, in my opinion, keep them, they can be useful in a way or another.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pcb-standoff.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	60044   Click image for larger version

Name:	pcb-feet.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	9.6 KB
ID:	60045  
majinga is offline  
Old 29 September 2018, 10:49   #432
majinga
Registered User

majinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
Or better, they can be turned into a big vias, to keep the ground planes perfectly connected.
In this way they also can be used for stand-offs, pcb-foots, an other things like that.
majinga is offline  
Old 30 September 2018, 09:09   #433
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
Really? How stupid is that? Ok..we have the chance patzik will do it right, i hope so
It is a power led! And good stuff has to have a nice shiny power led
Mathesar is offline  
Old 04 October 2018, 10:02   #434
PeteAU
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by patzik View Post
Ok, I did the last corrections and added the led jumper next to the select switch jumper. They share a common ground so only 3 wires needed.
The resistor is the same resistor as used with the onboard led, so if you need to make the led less or more bright, R6 is the resistor you need to change.
This led is just as the onboard led, and always lights up, unless you use a 4 pole switch (spdt), in that case you would switch the led and the expansion on/off at the same time.
Would the cheap board houses actually fabricate that? I would have doubts, but show us a photo if they do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
It is a power led! And good stuff has to have a nice shiny power led
It also needs to be blue to be cool.
PeteAU is offline  
Old 04 October 2018, 10:11   #435
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteAU View Post
It also needs to be blue to be cool.
And pulsating so it can really attract attention.
demolition is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modern Trapdoor RAM killed my A500 Silwuff New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 15 August 2016 09:29
Homemade A500 trapdoor expansion? cabal Hardware mods 5 01 December 2014 21:44
WTB: two(2) A500 trapdoor slot covers papa_november MarketPlace 0 25 December 2008 09:17
Trapdoor expansion options for A500 Impakt support.Hardware 7 20 March 2008 06:05
A500 Plus Trapdoor Expansion TheCorfiot support.Hardware 10 14 March 2008 16:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09267 seconds with 15 queries