English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 October 2010, 21:18   #1
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Ultima VII for AGA machines?

Hi everyone,

is Ultima VII really available for AGA based Amigas like pronounced here on HOL: http://hol.abime.net/230? Everything I'm aware of is this weak Exult version which requires heavily (PPC & gfx card) equipped Amigas.
pintcat is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 October 2010, 21:25   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
Like mentioned on the page it's only playable via Exult and we already had a discussion about those 'interpreted' games on HOL. I will have another talk about that, but while it's there, can someone comment on it working with just AGA (even at 0.5 FPS ).
TCD is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 21:43   #3
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Oh, you're right - now I noticed the fine print at the bottom. Too bad Exult is the only way to play this game on Amiga, but it's pointless even to try this way of adaptation. I can imagine how terribly slow this would on native Amiga hardware.
pintcat is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 22:39   #4
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by pintcat View Post
Oh, you're right - now I noticed the fine print at the bottom. Too bad Exult is the only way to play this game on Amiga, but it's pointless even to try this way of adaptation. I can imagine how terribly slow this would on native Amiga hardware.
the game is a simple 2d linear without 3d stuff....so I don't know why you imagine it will run slow on AGA
the only reason it is because it is a compiled release
anyways ...it run slow on my PC...the scroll is horrible...
the game GODS have better scroll
Fabie is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 22:40   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
So have you tested the Exult port on your Amiga Fabie?
TCD is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 22:48   #6
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
So have you tested the Exult port on your Amiga Fabie?
nop but if you can send me a link to the exult amiga port I can test it
Fabie is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 22:49   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
http://www.amigafuture.de/downloads....tail&df_id=735
TCD is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 22:57   #8
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post

thanks
btw,is there any other file that is needed? a midi file or something like that?
Fabie is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 22:59   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
You need the Ultima 7 files and AMidi which is linked on that page.
Try you luck on Abandonia for the U7 files
TCD is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 23:16   #10
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
You need the Ultima 7 files and AMidi which is linked on that page.
Try you luck on Abandonia for the U7 files
I have the game...but I need the amidi file....I can't download the file ...it says I have no permission

btw,just tried on winuae...it works without sound but it works...
in full screen show incorrect colors...but windowed...works fine
however it is not AGA
it says in requeriments GFX card
Fabie is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 23:19   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
Then try AmiNet : http://aminet.net/package/mus/midi/AMidi.lha
Have you tried it without GFX card emulation? If it doens't run at all I'll change it.
TCD is offline  
Old 07 October 2010, 01:48   #12
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Then try AmiNet : http://aminet.net/package/mus/midi/AMidi.lha
Have you tried it without GFX card emulation? If it doens't run at all I'll change it.
ok I tried without p96 monitor in devs
it does not works...
needs a gfx card yes or yes
change it
Fabie is offline  
Old 07 October 2010, 07:22   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
Okay, changed.
TCD is offline  
Old 07 October 2010, 17:55   #14
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Thanx for testing and clarifying.
pintcat is offline  
Old 09 July 2013, 15:10   #15
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,447
Never say never

[ Show youtube player ]
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 09 July 2013, 15:21   #16
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 236
Holy Sh*t!
Reido is offline  
Old 09 July 2013, 15:42   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,265
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
that's just excellent !!! But all this needs a bit of beta don't you think Nova ? XD
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 09 July 2013, 17:01   #18
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Good work!! Never got this to work full-screen with my setup, only in a window the colors were right. But details were lost because of this.
And on AGA it's fast already damn!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 09 July 2013, 20:47   #19
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 910
At the rate Nova's chucking stuff out, we'll soon have Skyrim AGA
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 10 July 2013, 00:51   #20
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 568
How wonderful is it that mr novacoder does all this for us. You're a god damn diamond!
vroom6sri is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exult (Ultima VII) Amiga Version Chris1965 request.Apps 2 13 August 2012 16:58
Ultima VII: The Black Gate (Youtube retrospective) mattbarton.exe Retrogaming General Discussion 14 21 June 2009 20:53
[Found: Ultima VII] Looking for a game Recretus Looking for a game name ? 4 23 February 2009 00:02
Ultima VII + addons + exult interpreter haynor666 request.Old Rare Games 13 26 December 2007 16:57
Ultima VII - is this real? Twistin'Ghost MarketPlace 2 10 November 2002 10:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22797 seconds with 12 queries