English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 December 2017, 11:49   #61
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti040 View Post
Guys, my game screen looks like this. What do I wrong?
config: A12k, 060, Voodoo 3 (Mediator)
That's caused by a limitation of the Amiga SDL port. The Amiga SDL port is built around the cybergraphics.library, which doesn't map 1:1 to the P96 screen modes. This is especially visible in the 32 Bit RGB modes, where ARGB,BGRA,RGBA etc. pp. can be supported by the graphics card. Problem is: only a subset of these variants is used* in the Amiga SDL port to write the pixels onto the screen.

*also a limitation of the respective cybergraphics call.

Bottom line: Wholesale screen mode support would require a rewrite of parts of the SDL port specifically for Picasso96.
buggs is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 December 2017, 16:50   #62
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,481
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
All the elites run/ran CGX anyway. None of this P96 stuff. ;-)
Jope is online now  
Old 08 December 2017, 17:37   #63
arti040
Piotr

 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lodz/Poland
Age: 34
Posts: 149
Send a message via Skype™ to arti040
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs View Post
That's caused by a limitation of the Amiga SDL port. The Amiga SDL port is built around the cybergraphics.library, which doesn't map 1:1 to the P96 screen modes. This is especially visible in the 32 Bit RGB modes, where ARGB,BGRA,RGBA etc. pp. can be supported by the graphics card. Problem is: only a subset of these variants is used* in the Amiga SDL port to write the pixels onto the screen.

*also a limitation of the respective cybergraphics call.

Bottom line: Wholesale screen mode support would require a rewrite of parts of the SDL port specifically for Picasso96.
So there is no chance to make it work on P96 for now?
arti040 is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 18:32   #64
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 169
so much misinformation - this should work fine on P96. are you using the latest driver? Please update it

edit: i am working on a port to completely remove SDL from the code
lantus360 is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 18:34   #65
arti040
Piotr

 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lodz/Poland
Age: 34
Posts: 149
Send a message via Skype™ to arti040
Driver of what? Voodoo? I'm using 4.30.

PS How can I support your work? Paypal or something? ;-)
arti040 is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 18:36   #66
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 169
P96

do you have a screenmode for 320x240x24 ?

edit: i dont want/need donations. its open source

also i have the almost same configuration as you. A4000 + Voodoo 3 (mediator) + Warp Engine
lantus360 is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 18:44   #67
arti040
Piotr

 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lodz/Poland
Age: 34
Posts: 149
Send a message via Skype™ to arti040
Yup, I got 320x240 in all possible variants - 8, 16, 24 and 32bit defined. PicassoAPI.library has version number 2.310, so it's Picasso96 2.1e I think... or something near.

PS It can be open-sourced, but beer is always a beer ;-)
arti040 is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 19:27   #68
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,198
Hi Lantus,
thanks for your great work.
when do you think a new version will be available ???
Could you make an aga version even if it's just playable on winuae for the moment ??? It could be a great test for saga (new aga enhanced vampire cgx) developpers.
For converting the music in mod, adrdesign http://eab.abime.net/member.php?u=48665 did great job for others conversions perhaps you should try to contact him.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 20:17   #69
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 169
i am working on an AGA port too, my free time is limited these days but its coming

edit: arti this is what i have - which works fine for me


Libs: pci.library 9.7 11632
Libs:Picasso96API.library 2.310 24520
Libs:Picasso96/emulation.library 40.395 39652
Libs:Picasso96/rtg.library 40.4029 219004
Libs:Picasso96/Voodoo.card 4.35 15072

Last edited by lantus360; 08 December 2017 at 20:55.
lantus360 is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 16:52   #70
bimbo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nottinghamshire, England
Posts: 17
Have not seen this before and i used to love Outrun on all my old retros. Time to love it again.
bimbo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better Outrun port for Amiga tekopaa Retrogaming General Discussion 323 16 October 2017 23:39
would you like to have an Outrun like for Aga? sandruzzo Retrogaming General Discussion 50 30 January 2013 13:03
Was Chaos Engine 2 ever actually released for OCS/ECS? JohnnyWalker Nostalgia & memories 10 21 January 2011 15:34
Problems running outrun europa dlfrsilver project.WHDLoad 12 23 November 2007 23:30
Outrun arcade challenge.......... Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 0 12 September 2003 16:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15021 seconds with 14 queries