English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 August 2019, 21:39   #41
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 132
I spent some time trying to get it to run on the Vampire.
The good news: it runs.

The bad news: I couldn't get RTG to work. I installed the SAGA vampire RTG driver but running the Picasso96 prefs or LoadMonDrvs crashes the system.

So obviously without RTG it's kind of pointless...
(Allthough, without all the eye candy it's also super fast :-) )

I'll dig in some more later.
Steffest is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 22:40   #42
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 65
Hi Amigasystem, the first post includes a link to update AfA One to version 1.2 but doesn't link to the actual full hdf, can you please provide a link?

Thanks!
cloverskull is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 23:54   #43
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
Hi Amigasystem, the first post includes a link to update AfA One to version 1.2 but doesn't link to the actual full hdf, can you please provide a link?

Thanks!
I don't really understand what's wrong, the AfA One 1.2 link works well, however it's not an update of a previous version, but a Full version updated to 1.2.
Of course the hardfile that includes AfA One 1.2 is not bootable just to prevent someone from making mistakes, all the content of "AfA One 1.2" must be copied over a HD with OS 3.9 bootable BB4.

For download you have to click on the arrow as shown in the screenshot:

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 31 August 2019 at 11:22.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 00:07   #44
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steffest View Post
I spent some time trying to get it to run on the Vampire.
The good news: it runs.

The bad news: I couldn't get RTG to work. I installed the SAGA vampire RTG driver but running the Picasso96 prefs or LoadMonDrvs crashes the system.

So obviously without RTG it's kind of pointless...
(Allthough, without all the eye candy it's also super fast :-) )

I'll dig in some more later.
In the WBStartup there is PowerWindowsNG try to move it to disable. If you copied the KickStart 3.1 im Devs/KickStart as explained in the News PowerWindowsNG allowed you to move the windows out of the screen, very convenient feature even if I made some sacrifices, PowerWindowsNG when it is active block PlayOgg that I had to delete in the Distro.

I add that in AfA OS Startup if you hold down the SX Mouse button, the system will boot without AfA OS extension, if you hold down the DX Mouse button instead the system will boot in PAL without graphics card.

AfA OS is an RTG extension is not suitable for PAL but in any case on WinUAE WHDLoad games work very well in some circumstances even better thanks to the big screen.

I don't have a Vampire but if Amikit works well on the Vampire, AfA One must work, Amikit uses the same AfA OS system.

Anyway I read that AfA OS works on the Vampire, ask here:

http://apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=4&note=22502

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 29 August 2019 at 00:37.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 00:58   #45
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
I don't really understand what's wrong, the AfA One 1.2 link works well, however it's not an update of a previous version, but a Full version updated to 1.2.
Of course the hardfile that includes AfA One 1.2 is not bootable just to prevent someone from making mistakes, all the content of "AfA One 1.2" must be copied over a HD with OS 3.9 bootable BB4.

For download you have to click on the arrow as shown in the screenshot:
Hi,

That download goes to a zip file, inside the zip file is a directory "AfA-One Update". Inside of that directory is "Update AfA One" and another directory with media, music, and prefs. There sadly is no hdf file.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 01:12   #46
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
Hi,

That download goes to a zip file, inside the zip file is a directory "AfA-One Update". Inside of that directory is "Update AfA One" and another directory with media, music, and prefs. There sadly is no hdf file.
You're right my 65th birthday starts weighing like a boulder.
Sorry I got the link wrong, now find the right one
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 01:17   #47
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 65
Haha thx
cloverskull is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 08:03   #48
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Anyway I read that AfA OS works on the Vampire, ask here:

http://apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=4&note=22502
Hmmm, yes. Thanks for the pointer.
There's one guy that installed it on top of CoffinOS, and another one that used 3.1.4.1 as base (including maprom)

That should give me some clues.
So much fun stuff to explore, so little time :-)
Steffest is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 09:21   #49
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,194
I think I've been doing this before for a long time.

Here is my OS3.1.4 + AfA OS (also create Dua-PNG icons) and Coffin + AfA OS:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OS 3.1.4 AfA OS.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	121.1 KB
ID:	64272  

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 31 August 2019 at 11:22.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 14:21   #50
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
and Coffin + AfA OS:
No offense to your clearly awesome skillset, but installing it in emulation also works fine here. Running it on a vampire however is not the same thing.

Anyway: no reason why it shouldn't work on "real" hardware of course.
Steffest is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 17:16   #51
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,194
Yes WinUAE represents the best compatibility, yes on a Real Amiga expanded AfA OS works well:

Old video: A1200T with Blizzard 1260:

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 19:30   #52
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
yes on a Real Amiga expanded AfA OS works well:
Ok, I got AFA running stable on a Vampire.
Excellent. Performance is not too bad.
Next step is to figure out what the difference is between this and your AFA-One package. I'm curious!

Steffest is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 20:09   #53
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,194
CoffinOS is a sort of mixage between the old and the new, AfA OS includes the latest OS3.9 software.

On AfA One try to replace the libraries "MMULib", from what I've read around it seems that Vampire does not support these libraries
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 20:29   #54
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
CoffinOS is a sort of mixage between the old and the new, AfA OS includes the latest OS3.9 software.

On AfA One try to replace the libraries "MMULib", from what I've read around it seems that Vampire does not support these libraries
Yeah, already did that.
It's not "supported" because I think your AFA-ONE package has the 040 version of that library. I replaced it with the 060 version, but still no cigar.

Anyway. We'll get there :-) It's the journey that is interesting, right?
Steffest is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 21:20   #55
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,194
AfA One is based on libraries and applications 060 some require FPU, this is the reason for its power and speed.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 23:00   #56
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,194
Looking at the screenhot I noticed that my icons do not look good, why not do screenshots directly to an Amiga capture utility?

By the way, when you have time you could on the Vampire you could also try my AROS One 68k

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=98062
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 30 August 2019, 09:16   #57
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
By the way, when you have time you could on the Vampire you could also try my AROS One 68k

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=98062
Ah! Will do.
Majsta posted some teasers for the Vampire 1200 yesterday which apparently is again much much faster.
At some point all this speedy hardware would need a matching OS with all the modern bells and whistles, right?
Steffest is offline  
Old 30 August 2019, 10:12   #58
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steffest View Post
Ah! Will do.
Majsta posted some teasers for the Vampire 1200 yesterday which apparently is again much much faster.
At some point all this speedy hardware would need a matching OS with all the modern bells and whistles, right?
Well, first off we get Amiga OS 3.2 soon...
Steril707 is offline  
Old 06 September 2019, 21:42   #59
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 132
Ok,
Finally got it running smoothly on the Vampire.

That AmiStart toolbar is pushing it a bit and sometimes crashes when accessing the right-click settings, but temporarily lowering the resolution and removing the WB backdrop seems to fix that.

Again: Congratulations AmigaSystem for this setup: it's really polished and well-configured. A joy to use and play with.

Click image for larger version

Name:	AFA_1500.jpg
Views:	266
Size:	850.2 KB
ID:	64336
Steffest is offline  
Old 06 September 2019, 22:45   #60
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,194
Congratulations, in AfA One did you replace any library or other software?

On AfA One Directory Graphics there are two applications to do the screnshot, SGrab and Snapshoter, do a scrennshot i would like to see well the icons that seem a bit 'damaged.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 September 2019 at 23:47.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
creating a new drawer on WB with AfA madlax support.Other 3 30 April 2019 10:06
AFA OS prob with DOPUS Bamiga2002 support.Apps 3 29 August 2009 23:05
Afa Os 3.94 Paul News 10 02 November 2006 19:48
AFA OS and datatypes Rod_cl support.Apps 0 16 September 2006 02:39
Update AFA OS 3.93.1 Paul News 3 17 April 2006 17:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09322 seconds with 14 queries