English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 March 2016, 14:15   #41
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,969
I also have the ACA1232 33MHz and never experienced any overheating issues with the trapdoor closed, even in summer time. If it is less than 2 years old, I'd consider opening a case with the shop you got it from (if you bought it new). Starting to mess with the clock will surely violate the warranty if there is any left and if you make a mistake, you could even kill the card.

Have you verified that the CPU is indeed a 33MHz part and not an overclocked 25MHz?
Also, what is your 5V level, e.g. measured on the floppy connector? If it is higher for some reason, say 5.25V, that would cause excessive heat in the CPU.
demolition is offline  
Old 22 March 2016, 20:45   #42
maxint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
I also have the ACA1232 33MHz and never experienced any overheating issues with the trapdoor closed, even in summer time. If it is less than 2 years old, I'd consider opening a case with the shop you got it from (if you bought it new). Starting to mess with the clock will surely violate the warranty if there is any left and if you make a mistake, you could even kill the card.

Have you verified that the CPU is indeed a 33MHz part and not an overclocked 25MHz?
Also, what is your 5V level, e.g. measured on the floppy connector? If it is higher for some reason, say 5.25V, that would cause excessive heat in the CPU.
I opened a complain to the Store where I boight it, maybe i'm in time for warranty.
maxint is offline  
Old 22 March 2016, 20:47   #43
maxint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Be sure to give us updates on the progress
Placed an heatsing on the cpu: not resolutive.
I'm testing different positions of the heatsink.

Last edited by maxint; 22 March 2016 at 20:57.
maxint is offline  
Old 28 March 2016, 12:14   #44
maxint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
Thumbs up

Hi my friends!
I did it!!!

I did a mod to the Aca1232 implementing a pc gpu fan to the 60030 of the Aca1232, feeding it with 5v taken from the floppy power line.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160328_112749.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	541.0 KB
ID:	48032

It's 20 minutes since the power on and I'm responding to you from Ibrowse!!

Thanks a lot Turrican9 and also thanks a lot who helped me.

Bye!

Max

Last edited by maxint; 28 March 2016 at 15:49.
maxint is offline  
Old 28 March 2016, 17:39   #45
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxint View Post
Hi my friends!
I did it!!!

I did a mod to the Aca1232 implementing a pc gpu fan to the 60030 of the Aca1232, feeding it with 5v taken from the floppy power line.

Attachment 48032

It's 20 minutes since the power on and I'm responding to you from Ibrowse!!

Thanks a lot Turrican9 and also thanks a lot who helped me.

Bye!

Max
Happy to hear you got it working These ACA cards should really not need a fan, but it could be something related to using it on your particular A1200 motherboard or your particular ACA 1232 does not handle it's stock clock frequency without active cooling. Anyway, as long as you got it working and don't mind using a fan then everything is good
turrican9 is offline  
Old 28 March 2016, 18:47   #46
maxint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
Thank you Turrican9 to point me in the right direction
maxint is offline  
Old 29 March 2016, 21:29   #47
maxint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
running for 4+ hours -> no problems!!

:-)
maxint is offline  
Old 30 March 2016, 00:16   #48
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxint View Post
running for 4+ hours -> no problems!!

:-)
Nice man Happy to hear it's working solid for you
turrican9 is offline  
Old 30 March 2016, 13:22   #49
maxint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
now I want to search a nice little laptop internal fan.
maxint is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WINUAE (TSCC Codec) "AVIStreamWrite() FAILED" ransom1122 support.WinUAE 21 19 December 2015 09:49
A600, kipper2k's 4mb board, "Whdload failed returncode 10" portarinos support.Apps 8 10 April 2015 17:56
"Photon cell animator" & "Anim Workshop" amiga request.Apps 5 05 April 2008 17:22
HOL "Query failed" - broken link A500-Danny HOL suggestions and feedback 2 27 July 2007 22:27
Scanned reviews of "Drop It" & "Project Ikarus" Tim Janssen HOL contributions 1 15 May 2003 10:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07197 seconds with 14 queries