English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 November 2004, 23:34   #1
Amigaice
 
Posts: n/a
PCMIA Flash Drivers

I have a Flash Card Reader that is PCMIA is there drivers for the Amiga for this?
 
Old 27 November 2004, 23:45   #2
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 1,301
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
search on the aminet for "cfd" and the needed "fat95" and you will find what you search...
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 30 November 2004, 07:28   #3
Amigaice
 
Posts: n/a
Hey Thanks for the reply, I got it working! Now I'm a little rusty in Workbench how do I have it boot to mount the CF card on boot?
I got my old 1200 in my sons room so his first computer is an Amiga. He loves it. Just got Sim City running for him by far the best Version made. It's funny how my 128mb CF card is bigger then the hard drive thou LOL.

God Bless
Amigaice
 
Old 30 November 2004, 10:54   #4
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 57
Posts: 242
To have the startup-sequence mount the device, you need to make a mountlist - or modify the one you may already have in DEVS:. Then, you need to put the driver also into DEVS: (will be called something like device.device). If it were the Ramdisk for example, you are looking for RAMDISK.DEVICE - see what I mean? Anyway, you may then need to add an assign or two but that should get it running

I know what I'm trying to say here, but it's awful hard to explain it properly. There should be installation instructions contained in a reasdme.txt file in the archive you downloaded.... Maybe they explain it better?
lloyd is offline  
Old 30 November 2004, 11:04   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,867
Mountlist is 1.3 style. All machines with PCMCIA have at least OS 2.0 and work with DosDrivers.

As you already have it running you probably already copied FAT95 to L: and cfd.device (or whatever it is called) to devs: and you have a DosDriver somewhere, probably in Storage/DosDrivers. So just move the DosDriver from where it is to Devs/DosDrivers, then it will be automagically mounted upon startup.

However, you cannot boot from the PCMCIA adapter, if you expected this. You can only boot from devices whose drivers are in the Kickstart ROM. So you probably can boot from an IDE flash adapter.
thomas is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 21:01   #6
SeeD32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: london
Age: 43
Posts: 44
I'm trying to use a PCMCIA card with a 8meg flashcard inserted on my A1200 with ClassicWB Lite installed, I have followed the above, got the CFD files and installed them, and noticed I have Fat95 in the L: folder, but it just won't regognise the card, just says that CF0: is mounted, and that nothing is inserted. Can anyone help at all??
SeeD32 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCMIA Net 3c589.device paulisthebest support.Other 7 04 November 2009 15:58
Workbench 3.1+pcmia JACK98 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 23 May 2009 01:17
Am After PCMIA Squirrel CD ROM CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 6 16 January 2005 14:39
Amiga 1200 PCMIA network card? AEV support.Hardware 4 23 June 2002 11:50
Amiga 600 PCMIA 2MB Andrew support.Hardware 16 04 March 2002 20:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06140 seconds with 13 queries