English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 October 2019, 22:03   #1
Amiga-fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 19
Amiga 1500 ROM help please.

Can anyone confirm that you can use any 2.04 ROM from an Amiga 500 in a 1500 please, or is it just 3.1 ROM's that are swappable?

Have read this is the case - yet ordered 2.04's and am just presented with a white screen and no boot but when I put the original 1.3 back in it starts as normal again. I have also tried a second set from an A500+ with no joy, but both sets boot fine in the A500+.

I have a feeling it is a very early 1500 (not just from KS1.3) but that it is a yellow motherboard, instead of green, which is the only colour I've ever seen other 1500's and 2000's in?

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
Amiga-fan is offline  
Old 21 October 2019, 22:19   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,404
Yes, you can fit the 2.04 ROM just fine. Which revision is your 1500's motherboard? 4.x will usually need the 1-31 jumper for a 2.04 mask ROM.

EPROMs need more jumpers/bent legs.
Jope is online now  
Old 21 October 2019, 22:21   #3
Amiga-fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 19
Hi Jope,

Really confused why it won't boot then!

It's a revision 6.2 board, and marked 1988 on the board itself - any jumpers I might need to change on that?

The ROM chip is marked 390979-01.

Thanks!

Last edited by Amiga-fan; 22 October 2019 at 00:16.
Amiga-fan is offline  
Old 22 October 2019, 07:10   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,404
The 2.04 ROM should work in your motherboard with no changes to anything. Does it have a jump wire soldered to its legs?
Jope is online now  
Old 22 October 2019, 16:06   #5
Amiga-fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 19
Hi Jope,

No jumper wire soldered that I can see, no.

Anything else I can look at? The ROM seller is sending another chip but I'm not holding out much hope.
Amiga-fan is offline  
Old 22 October 2019, 17:32   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,404
Hope the other chip works properly. I'm not aware of any specific tricks a 6.x board would need.
Jope is online now  
Old 22 October 2019, 19:44   #7
Amiga-fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 19
I guess I will wait and see if the replacement ROM's play ball then.

The only other thing I have noticed on some boot attempts it flashes the power LED 6 times, then a short pause, then once more, in continuous boot loop.

But again, with the original 1.3 fitted it plays nicely again.
Amiga-fan is offline  
Old 23 October 2019, 08:26   #8
Amiga87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sydney/Australia
Posts: 22
Check continuity of A18, pin 1 of ROM to pin 46 of the 68k.

KS1.3 is 256k, doesn't use A18, KS2.04 is 512k and uses A18.
Amiga87 is offline  
Old 24 October 2019, 19:47   #9
Amiga-fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 19
Think I'm sorted - the RAM expansion card was causing it not to boot - removed and now boots. Strange though, as the card was used in a 2000 with KS2.04 and the HD has WB 2.04 installed - Oktagon 2008, can anyone add anything more to help?

With KS1.3, RAM is recognised and the card works fine, but unable to use HD due to being too low a KS unless I install 1.3 on it?
Amiga-fan is offline  
Old 24 October 2019, 19:49   #10
Amiga-fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 19
Also getting different fault codes it looks like now, when I tried the card in other slots with the 2.04 ROM - dark grey, lighter grey, white screen for a while, continually boot loops.
Amiga-fan is offline  
Old 25 October 2019, 12:02   #11
Vypr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride, Scotland
Posts: 164
What model card is it?
Vypr is online now  
Old 25 October 2019, 12:05   #12
Amiga-fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 19
It's Oktagon 2008 revision 7.
Amiga-fan is offline  
Old 25 October 2019, 14:14   #13
Vypr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride, Scotland
Posts: 164
How much RAM is in it? I t could be a bad Zip RAM stick
Vypr is online now  
Old 25 October 2019, 16:54   #14
Amiga-fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 19
Just 2MB at the moment, but supports upto 8MB.

Not sure on the bad RAM theory - with KS1.3 it runs everything spot on, no crashes or issues of any sort at all - all very random.
Amiga-fan is offline  
Old 26 October 2019, 12:23   #15
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga-fan View Post
Just 2MB at the moment, but supports upto 8MB.

Not sure on the bad RAM theory - with KS1.3 it runs everything spot on, no crashes or issues of any sort at all - all very random.
Why even use 2.04? I don't think there's anything that requires it, pretty much everything that works on 2.04 also works on 3.1.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 28 October 2019, 17:52   #16
Amiga-fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 19
The plan was to keep the machine as original as possible - guess I could fit 3.0 ROM's - would the hard drive with WB 2.04 still work though or would I need to clean install with 3.0?

Also not sure if the card will work under 3.0 - forgive me though, not that techy on Amiga hardware.
Amiga-fan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1500 weirdness afxgroup support.Hardware 0 17 November 2018 22:07
Amiga 1500 Build decnet Hardware pics 15 13 November 2016 09:14
Amiga 1500 games27 MarketPlace 10 04 February 2015 17:04
Amiga 1500 - What to do with it? KingDaffyd support.Hardware 7 08 January 2015 08:11
amiga 1500 help minimiger support.Hardware 1 01 August 2011 22:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08283 seconds with 15 queries