English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 September 2019, 23:16   #561
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 65
While not intending to derail anything, can you speak to why your icon.library displays all deficons as ghosted? This has never made much sense to me, and personally I dislike the aesthetic. Beyond that, I really dig your icon.library.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 30 September 2019, 23:51   #562
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,539
The ghosting of default icons was inspired by the PowerIcons patch and Ghosty from Elena Novaretti and I like it/her very much.

Of course, it looks much better when you use this feature on HiColor or TrueColor screens with smooth fading than on 8 bit or planar screens where only every other pixel is made transparent.

And you always know at the first glance whether an icon really exists or is just a deficon.
PeterK is offline  
Old 02 October 2019, 20:25   #563
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 943
Which separate Modules etc. does OS3.9 BB2 RomUpdate File consist of ?
macce2 is offline  
Old 02 October 2019, 21:16   #564
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,991
You can see the contents if you load it into ROMSplit.
Minuous is offline  
Old 20 October 2019, 17:29   #565
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 943
After some playing around with startup- sequences etc. the workbench menu (Tools) does have problem(s):
After installation of BB3&4 there are some commands added to the menu Tools: flush libraries command no longer works and/ or appears at the menu, it starts a backround cli window which does declare: " Command returned 10" . (?!) Guess it may somehow have something to do with THE editor ? But I haven' t edited that in any way and have tried replacing it with the original file, but to no avail. The problem is still there. Thus, if you run the command " flush lib", which parameters should I give it ..?!
macce2 is offline  
Old 20 October 2019, 20:11   #566
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 42
Posts: 576
Flush libs doesn't need parameters. You get that message because the command of the menu entry can't be found. For 'flush libs' that is 'c:avail' iirc.
If you start THE you can see the used command.
tero is offline  
Old 24 October 2019, 00:52   #567
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 943
Can' t get the right, new version of some modules ( console.device, filesystem at least) resident.
I have been playing around with some different combinations of startup- sequence.
At some point, I managed to have the right version of the above mentioned modules, but then THE didn' t work properly ( Flush libraries missing from the menu).
I' m starting to get frustrated .
Thus, I have problems with Loadmodule, Loadresident and Setpatch commands.
For example, My SetPatch version seems to be 44.38(?!), but it should be 44.39 ..?!
I think the installation of Boingbags 3&4 is way too difficult...
macce2 is offline  
Old 24 October 2019, 03:20   #568
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,991
@macce2:

I am happy to help of course, but your bug report is much too vague. You haven't given any details that would help isolate the issue, even what version of BB3&4 you installed, or what model of Amiga, etc. Of course randomly hacking at the startup-sequence will cause problems. This should not be necessary; you can just let the installer update startup-sequence for you. If there is still some problem after that, then please submit a bug report with sufficient details for me to isolate and resolve the issue.

SetPatch 44.38 is the correct version.

Last edited by Minuous; 24 October 2019 at 04:58.
Minuous is offline  
Old 12 November 2019, 21:59   #569
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 56
Posts: 482
I have a possible bug or compatibility problem report for layers.library 45.27...

About a year ago, I updated my Kickstart 3.9 ROMs and they seemed to work just fine until today.

So what did I do today? Well, I just tried to use P96!

My system crashed any time I loaded a monitor driver. So, thinking I possibly had some corrupted files I started replacing P96 libraries, chip set drivers, monitor drivers and settings files but NO LUCK at all.

Then, I remembered that I had not used P96 since the last 3.9 ROM update. After eliminating workbench.library and icon.library I then tried LOADMODULE layers.library(40.1) DOWNGRADE and voila P96 is working just fine!

Now, is there some obscure P96 Tooltype or ENV: variable which I need to set for layers.library 45.27 or I do I happen to be the first user to test this version with P96?
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 12 November 2019, 22:56   #570
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,539
When layers.library v45 is installed then you have to remove or rename Libs:Picasso96/fastlayers.library. It's not required anymore and causes conflicts with the new layers.library.
PeterK is offline  
Old 12 November 2019, 23:27   #571
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 56
Posts: 482
Thanks PeterK!

I don't use the BB3+4 Installer which renames fastlayers.library for you...
SpeedGeek is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 3.9 BoingBag 1 cant install JAH support.Apps 13 31 March 2013 21:00
OS3.9 Boingbag 3 caver99 support.Apps 7 05 February 2013 00:15
OS 3.9 BoingBag 2 installation error fc.studio support.Apps 4 18 August 2007 04:22
AmigaOS 3.9 BoingBag 1 and 2 hab New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 01 January 2006 22:30
Boingbag updates... BarrySWE support.Apps 11 02 October 2005 21:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09060 seconds with 16 queries