English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 September 2019, 10:50   #1
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 230
Amiga OS 3.1.4 ClassicWB FULL and Scalos NewIcons issue

I have got some issues with getting EAB WHDLoad icons shown correctly using Amiga OS 3.1.4 with ClassicWB FULL running Scalos.

My EAB WHDLoad icons are garbled in their drawer as shown in the screenshot left icon, but if I open information on the icon it's displayed correctly shown to the right.

This is not an issue with Amiga OS 3.1 and Scalos, so I would expect it's somehow related to Amiga OS 3.1.4 combined with Scalos.

Have anyone tried something similar and/or have any suggestions if this could be fixed by replacing libs or other patches?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amiga_os_3.1.4_classicwb_full_scalos_newicon_issue.png
Views:	95
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	64323  

Last edited by cyberhead97; 03 September 2019 at 10:53. Reason: Added drawer to description
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 11:27   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,195
Have you tried using icon.library by Peter?

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64079&page=158
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 12:33   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,195
I did a quick installation of OS 3.1.4 on ClassicWB (no Scalos, I'll prove it later).
To my knowledge there is no official installation, I had to manually "integrate" 3.1.4 leaving the original Startup-sequence of ClsssicWB I had no problem with any type of icon even using the icon.library of OS 3.1.4.

EDIT:

I confirm the graphic problem if you activate "Scalos".

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 07 September 2019 at 23:39.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 13:56   #4
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Have you tried using icon.library by Peter?

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64079&page=158
I did also try with PeterK icon.library v46.4 from aminet.net, but that didn't help.

If there's currently no official way of running or supporting Amiga OS 3.1.4 and Scalos, then I might add an option to disable Scalos as a solution.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 14:08   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,195
Yes to disable Scalos you just need to replace "LoadWB" with that of OS 3.1.4

In any case if ClassicWB must be used to start the games I do not find any need to integrate OS 3.1.4, in my opinion, if you don't do a thorough installation, is lost in terms of system speed, on possible instability, on the compatibility of the games, here I do not express myself I have not done any test.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 03 September 2019 at 14:17.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 14:09   #6
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 42
Posts: 577
Try to disable transparency for newicons in the scalos prefs. Just a guess but the icon looks kinda transparent in your pic.
tero is online now  
Old 03 September 2019, 15:28   #7
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
Try to disable transparency for newicons in the scalos prefs. Just a guess but the icon looks kinda transparent in your pic.
I tried disabling transparency in Scalos prefs for NewIcons, but it didn't help either. It does look a bit different in the garbling though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amiga_os_3.1.4_classicwb_full_scalos_newicon_issue_2.png
Views:	60
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	64325  
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 16:42   #8
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 42
Posts: 577
Looks even worse
tero is online now  
Old 10 September 2019, 23:30   #9
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 230
I managed to add options to disable and enable Scalos for ClassicWB both during installation and after when using Workbench.

With Scalos disabled, I added Tools Daemon and Magic Menu to get similar options in Workbench top menu and right click menus. I also unchecked "No NewIcons" from Workbench prefs to enable Amiga OS 3.1.4 showing NewIcons.

It seems to work well and I have attached a few screenshots of the changes.

This will be applied to all ClassicWB's using Scalos and will be part of next HstWB Installer release.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_full_scalos_patch1.png
Views:	66
Size:	7.6 KB
ID:	64426   Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_full_scalos_patch2.png
Views:	74
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	64427   Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_full_scalos_patch3.png
Views:	73
Size:	31.8 KB
ID:	64428  
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 01:21   #10
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 65
Looks great. It’s a shame Bloodwych is MIA...I’d be curious what Workbench customizations his creative mind would have cooked up with 3.1.4.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 12 October 2019, 01:13   #11
bjdcleary
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Southampton
Posts: 16
Totally agree. Cyberhead HST is doing his best to back-engineer the project and integrate it into his current works to make it compatible with 3.1.4.1. But with loads of custom scripts and hidden files it's no easy task!
bjdcleary is offline  
Old 12 October 2019, 15:20   #12
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
It’s a shame Bloodwych is MIA...
Didn't know that. That's sad
PeterK is offline  
Old 12 October 2019, 19:15   #13
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 65
I don’t think he’s been on EAB for a few years. Maybe someone knows him through social media or something that can plead with him to pop back in here and say hi
cloverskull is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Scalos Menu - Item Renaming Heywood project.ClassicWB 1 26 June 2019 16:50
Backdrop in Scalos (ClassicWB) 8bitbubsy support.Other 3 05 September 2014 11:16
TrueColor and OS 3.5 icons for ClassicWB & Scalos on WB 3.0/3.1 PeterK project.ClassicWB 72 06 October 2013 03:27
ClassicWB: file operations hang in Scalos but OK in Dopus Quaxo76 project.ClassicWB 8 29 August 2010 12:09
NewIcon with ClassicWB FULL on a TV, possible ?? Kristian95 project.ClassicWB 22 19 March 2006 23:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08014 seconds with 16 queries