English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 December 2016, 05:53   #1
IvanEBC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 472
New Ikari Warriors Release

Hi Guys.

Wondered if anyone else has had a chance to look over the new Ikari Warriors update that Stingray just released.

Using a 4000, i tried to recopy the slave over to update but appeared quite messy than the regular updates, so i did a clean install from a non cracked version. It proceeds along fine and completes with no errors. When double clicking the icon, i get a requestor...
Unable to open your tool 'Ikari Warriors'

Stingray seems to have mixed things up a bit, checking the icon it doesn't look for a .slave but a file called IWHD which is present in the folder i installed to. But the error is correct, i don't have a tool called "Ikari Warriors" in the install folder, only 4 files (and the data directory holding the disk image)
readme + Icon
IWHD and the Ikari Warriors icon.

Any ideas?

Anyone else had a chance to update their version?
IvanEBC is offline  
Old 29 December 2016, 08:57   #2
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,467
I just tried it and I cannot get the player to move with the joystick.

I had to copy the Slave1 file and rename it to IkariWarriors.slave as I did not want to reinstall it.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 29 December 2016, 12:08   #3
IvanEBC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 472
OK, that got it working, just copying the slave is always a little ... is this right or not as sometimes the icons contain new or different info, but it did work, thanks.

Oh, joystick worked for me in at least one player mode.... so i can't vouch for why.
Press 1 for one player, not the button?
IvanEBC is offline  
Old 19 February 2017, 14:45   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanEBC View Post
Stingray seems to have mixed things up a bit
Not true! The whole install script and icons have been done by Girv, I have "only" updated the slave and fixed the timing problems and a few other things. All the (quite messy!) install scripts and stuff weren't done by me and I didn't touch them at all.

I will, at a later date, redo the install scripts and use the standard install scripts instead of Girv's custom ones.
StingRay is offline  
Old 22 April 2019, 16:07   #5
Whittle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bolton
Posts: 7
Question

Can you let me know where I'm going wrong please:

- Workbench 3.1.4
- WHDLoad 18.5
- Installer 44.6
- Ikari Warriors Install Package 2.00

Symptoms are the same as IvanEBC.

The post by TjLaZer suggests that I should move Slave1 (from the Install Package) and rename it.

Is that the case? If so, where do I need to put it as if I try putting it into the drawer that I installed it to then the original issue persists.
Whittle is offline  
Old 10 July 2019, 22:14   #6
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,467
The slave goes in the game folder where the icon is at. Make sure the name is correct. See icon tooltype.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 14 July 2019, 19:12   #7
Whittle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bolton
Posts: 7
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
The slave goes in the game folder where the icon is at. Make sure the name is correct. See icon tooltype.
Thanks for replying, however I'm still managing to mess it up Post-Installation I have the following folder structure:

Code:
IkariWarriors [Drawer]
    data [Drawer]
        Disk.1
    Ikari Warriors.info
    Ikari Warriors.readme
    Ikari Warriors.readme.info
    IWHD
I then copy "Slave1" from over to the "IkariWarriors" folder as per the guidence above:

Code:
IkariWarriors [Drawer]
    data [Drawer]
        Disk.1
    Ikari Warriors.info
    Ikari Warriors.readme
    Ikari Warriors.readme.info
    IWHD
    Slave1
Rename it to "IkariWarriors.slave"

Code:
IkariWarriors [Drawer]
    data [Drawer]
        Disk.1
    Ikari Warriors.info
    Ikari Warriors.readme
    Ikari Warriors.readme.info
    IWHD
    IkariWarriors.slave
Within Workbench I select "Ikari Warriors" and [Right Click > Icons > Information] and update the "SLAVE=IWHD" line to read "SLAVE=IkariWarriors.slave" and click Save.

I then run "Ikari Warriors" within Workbench and get the same pop-up saying "Unable to open your tool 'Ikari Warriors'". I've tried different naming conventions with different spacing but the result seems to be the same.

Thanks for reading!
Whittle is offline  
Old 14 July 2019, 19:25   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,484
Why don't you use Retroplay's installed archive here: IkariWarriors_v2.0_0771.lha?

Just extract and all is working perfectly
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 July 2019, 19:58   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whittle View Post
I then run "Ikari Warriors" within Workbench and get the same pop-up saying "Unable to open your tool 'Ikari Warriors'". I've tried different naming conventions with different spacing but the result seems to be the same.

Thanks for reading!
Besides what I've written in the post above...

If you want to get the files you've already extracted / installed working then try this:
  • Open "IconEdit" from "System" --> "Tools".
  • Drag the "Ikari Warriors.info" file in.
  • Right-click, select "Type", then change from "Tool" --> "Project" and save.
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 July 2019, 05:31   #10
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,467
I believe that disk.1 should be in the data folder.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 20 July 2019, 12:07   #11
Whittle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bolton
Posts: 7
Big grin

Thanks for the replies and the download link. It looks like my issue was actually with the "Ikari Warriors.info".

Clearly, I don't have the technical knowledge to understand why, but the "Ikari Warriors.info" file that gets produced by the 2.0 version of WHDload install script is significantly different from Retroplay's installed version.

I went through the 2.0 installation process again and once I'd finished:

1) Renamed "IWHD" to "IkariWarriors.Slave" (as both IWHD output from 2.0 install and "IkariWarriors.Slave" have identical content)
2) Deleted the existing "Ikari Warriors.info" and replaced it with Retroplay's "IkariWarriors.info"
3) Ran "Ikari Warriors" from within Workbench and it worked.

While I don't understand why one version works and the other doesn't, I'm just happy to have a working version, so thanks again!
Whittle is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 00:48   #12
Whittle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bolton
Posts: 7
Big grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Besides what I've written in the post above...

If you want to get the files you've already extracted / installed working then try this:
  • Open "IconEdit" from "System" --> "Tools".
  • Drag the "Ikari Warriors.info" file in.
  • Right-click, select "Type", then change from "Tool" --> "Project" and save.
I finally "got" it - better late than never

After using the 2016-12-28 slave to install, I did as you suggested in IconEdit to set the "Type" from "Tool" to "Project". Afterwards, I pulled-up the icon's Information and set the "Default tool" to WHDLoad.

Thanks for your help!
Whittle is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 01:38   #13
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,484
No problem

...I had to do the same thing in order to get it working when not using Retroplay's package
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for Medway Boys & Ikari intro dylandog request.Demos 9 02 December 2016 17:16
REQ: Ikari Warriors (not the Knight Hawks crack) Belgarath request.Old Rare Games 15 14 September 2012 01:27
Ikari Warriors NES jharrison Retrogaming General Discussion 0 12 December 2008 09:46
new york warriors doozie support.Games 12 04 May 2007 23:32
Bunk Ikari Warriors NTSC disk? NightSprinter support.Games 0 06 August 2006 09:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08289 seconds with 15 queries