English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 June 2012, 21:25   #1
hockpa2e
 
Posts: n/a
FS-UAE: 50Hz mode with Intel/Linux

Hello, I'm running FS-UAE 1.2.1 on 64-bit Linux with Intel graphics. My Thinkpad T61 has a 50Hz graphics mode configured, and when I switch to it, FS-UAE detects it and I get great smooth scrolling. But it runs too fast, like it is really refreshing at 60Hz even though the mode says 50Hz.

Is this a bug in FS-UAE or is the X server lying? I tried making new modelines, turning off EDID, etc. as shown on the page for getting 50Hz with nVidia, but nothing works. Does anybody have Intel graphics and have experience with this? Thanks.
 
Old 30 June 2012, 23:09   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,708
This is almost certainly not a bug with FS-UAE: Because if the scrolling is perfectly smooth, it means that FS-UAE sucessfully syncs to vblank, and if the game then runs too fast, it means that the vblank rate is > 50Hz.

So if xrandr says you have a 50Hz mode, the X server is most likely lying. It sounds exactly like the problems I had when creating a custom modeline for nVidia -where I got a "frontend" mode @50Hz which mapped to a "backend" mode @60Hz (which doesn't really make much sense, but still.. "frontend" / "backend" modes are terminology used in the nVidia driver). I got the problem fixed in the end with a combination of nVidia driver-specific options.

You can of course (and you probably should) try to run some other OpenGL benchmarking program (with vsync) to verify what refresh rate it runs on.

It is also a good idea to read through /var/log/Xorg.0.log for possible problems. If there is a way to enable extra mode-related logging with the Intel driver, you should enable it. It was a similar option with the nvidia driver which helped me debug my problem.

Ufortunately, I don't have any experience debugging / fixing this problem with Intel graphics.. -Anyone else?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 02 July 2012, 21:35   #3
hockpa2e
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks, I confirmed that it's the X server's problem, because glxgears gives 60fps no matter what mode I'm in.

The xorg intel driver doesn't seem to have as many options as the nvidia. However, it seems like in Windows I really do get 50hz, so there must be some way...
 
Old 02 July 2012, 23:51   #4
hockpa2e
 
Posts: n/a
UPDATE: I chatted on #intel-gfx and found out that the i915 driver ignores all modelines and just uses a fixed mode for the internal panel. So it's not going to work

If I get a patch to the driver working I'll let you know
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help running FS-UAE @ 50hz on Linux roboamiga support.FS-UAE 5 10 February 2013 17:30
FS-UAE: 50Hz mode with Mac OSX waal support.FS-UAE 6 09 July 2012 21:50
Using PowerStrip to get 50Hz Windows display mode on laptop screen mark_k support.WinUAE 13 09 September 2008 07:19
E-UAE for Intel Mac OS-X with CAPS support Interceptor News 0 10 June 2008 18:23
Intel powered A1200 hits streets. Runs Linux. alexh Amiga scene 4 11 October 2006 14:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06266 seconds with 13 queries