English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 April 2013, 23:41   #1
Jason H
Registered User
Jason H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 95
Pause Mode crashing FS-UAE

Something has broken for me recently. Now I find that when I choose the Pause function from the menu or the F12 + P option, FS-UAE crashes.
I am running Mac OS 10.8.3 and am using V2.2 of FS-UAE. I have tried using older versions too but get the same result.

If I run FS-UAE without invoking it from the Launcher, then it works fine..
Jason H is offline  
Old 18 April 2013, 23:55   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,708
Hi, I have tried to reproduce on OS X 10.6 (and Ubuntu 12.10) without any success. Do you get any crash report from OS X which you can post? Also, can you attach FS-UAE.log.txt after FS-UAE have crashed?

EDIT: can anyone else with OS X 10.8 give it a try?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 00:06   #3
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 40
Posts: 357
Hi Frode, Using Ubuntu 12.10 PAE here and the pause function completely locks up FS-UAE on my machine, I have to force power-off/on as my keys stop responding.

Not sure if this is relevant to the MAC issue.
DaveMB is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 00:10   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMB View Post
Hi Frode, Using Ubuntu 12.10 PAE here and the pause function completely locks up FS-UAE on my machine, I have to force power-off/on as my keys stop responding.

Not sure if this is relevant to the MAC issue.
Hmm.. interesting, might be the same problem... A bit weird that I cannot reproduce on any OS here.. (A tip btw: instead of power-cycling, press Ctrl+Alt+F1, log in, and run killall fs-uae or killall -9 fs-uae ;-))
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 00:17   #5
Jason H
Registered User
Jason H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 95
My console crash log is just too long I'm afraid and I can't upload it or post it here - can I email? Please see my FS-UAE log I have included.

Is there any way I can Trash my prefences for the Launcher - I've been looking for a .plist file but can't see one.
Attached Files
File Type: txt FS-UAE.log.txt (44.0 KB, 139 views)
Jason H is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 00:18   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason H View Post
My console crash log is just too long I'm afraid and I can't upload it or post it here - can I email? Please see my FS-UAE log I have included.
Yes, please send to fs-uae@fengestad.no if you cannot post here
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 00:28   #7
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 40
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
(A tip btw: instead of power-cycling, press Ctrl+Alt+F1, log in, and run killall fs-uae or killall -9 fs-uae ;-))
Thanks for that but how do i get back to the Unity DE afterwards?

PS: the pause=crash is 100% reproducible on my machine.
DaveMB is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 00:50   #8
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,708
Hi, I managed to reproduce the problem. I saw from the log that video_sync=off was specified (an option I don't use myself, but good choice in some cases, esp. with low-ends computers). FS-UAE does indeed hang (not crash as such) when using the pause function with video_sync=off.

Thanks for reporting the problem. I'll report back when I have a fix
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 00:52   #9
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMB View Post
Thanks for that but how do i get back to the Unity DE afterwards?
Ctrl+Alt+F7 (or one of the other F keys, just try them all if it doesn't work )
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 01:11   #10
Jason H
Registered User
Jason H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 95
Yep - that fixed it. 'video_sync = auto' works for me now. Thanks Frode.
Jason H is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 11:59   #11
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 40
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Ctrl+Alt+F7 (or one of the other F keys, just try them all if it doesn't work )
Thanks , I can confirm that video_sync=auto fixes the 'hang' on Ubuntu also but introduces 'treacle mouse' on my machine, which is why I turn it off.
DaveMB is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 19:52   #12
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,708
Please test the new 2.2.2 release

http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/2013/04/1...2-2-2-released
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 22:41   #13
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 416
Pause works without vsync now.
jbl007 is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 23:36   #14
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 40
Posts: 357
I will test on Ubuntu when the development release is updated, though I already suspect it will work as intended.
DaveMB is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS-UAE] OS X Lion Full-Screen Mode yoki support.FS-UAE 12 26 March 2014 20:37
Vigilante on FS-UAE / Interlaced mode [Solved] Marskilla support.FS-UAE 14 23 September 2012 13:19
FS-UAE: 50Hz mode with Mac OSX waal support.FS-UAE 6 09 July 2012 21:50
FS-UAE: 50Hz mode with Intel/Linux hockpa2e support.FS-UAE 3 02 July 2012 23:51
Hunt for Red October (Grandslam) and state-saving in pause mode andreas support.WinUAE 6 23 October 2008 22:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12532 seconds with 16 queries