English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 April 2021, 02:39   #1
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 558
Is it possible to port fmsx 6.0 to Amiga 68k?

Putting aside performance, is it possible technically to port fmsx 6.0 to Amiga 68k, even if it is runs at 5 fps? Forget the question, "Why? What is the point?" or other negative remarks. I just want to know the technicality part. Is it possible to fMSX 6.0 to Amiga 68k?

Thanks in advance.
xboxown is offline  
Old 07 April 2021, 21:36   #2
stevelord
Registered User

stevelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 199
Yes. There's code for 2.4a. You should probably start by getting that to compile, then hitting 6 with hammers till it works. I wouldn't expect it to be easy though.

I notice 2.4 used SAS-C and DevPac. That might not work so well with 6 and you might need a more modern compiler.
stevelord is offline  
Old 08 April 2021, 07:22   #3
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelord View Post
Yes. There's code for 2.4a. You should probably start by getting that to compile, then hitting 6 with hammers till it works. I wouldn't expect it to be easy though.

I notice 2.4 used SAS-C and DevPac. That might not work so well with 6 and you might need a more modern compiler.
What about 4 or 3.8 or the most possible latest FMSX that can be ported to Amiga 68k?
xboxown is offline  
Old 08 April 2021, 17:19   #4
stevelord
Registered User

stevelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 199
6 Can be ported. It'd just be a lot of work. Older versions may or may not require less work.
stevelord is offline  
Old 08 April 2021, 19:24   #5
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 44
Posts: 3,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
I just want to know the technicality part.
Technically it's possible to port anything to 68k. Anything. Literally. Same goes for just about every other CPU ever made.
Thorham is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 21:42   #6
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 558
So what it takes to have it a ported? A petition?
xboxown is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 21:49   #7
coldacid
WinUAE 1200/40, V4SA

coldacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Candinavia
Posts: 239
Someone to actually do the work and maintain it, I would assume. For most projects that means whoever suggests it either volunteers or it doesn't happen.
coldacid is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 22:09   #8
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,781
why not just use AmiMsx.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 23:18   #9
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 44
Posts: 3,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
So what it takes to have it a ported?
There has to be a point. If it won't ever run fast enough to be usable, then it ain't gonna happen.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
why not just use AmiMsx.
+1
Thorham is offline  
Old Yesterday, 11:32   #10
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,011
As someone who spent many hours porting DOSBox to 68k, of course it is possible but not much point.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old Yesterday, 12:14   #11
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 48
Posts: 4,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
So what it takes to have it a ported? A petition?
Like everything else it is a matter of motivation.
A petition would not work.

A huge donation could, though
(this is where ppl asking for the moon suddenly disappear overnight)
meynaf is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:58   #12
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
why not just use AmiMsx.
Lack of game compatibility. I purchased two new games for MSX and both failed to run on AmiMSX.

fMSX 3.x worked with one game but not the other. I had hoped that if at least fmsx 4.0 get ported, it will open more doors for game compatibly that it is enough for all games to run. That was my original intention, you see? But it seems for some games I have no choice but to use blueMSX in windows to run it. To be honest, I would have preferred it on Amiga more.
xboxown is offline  
Old Yesterday, 21:01   #13
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Like everything else it is a matter of motivation.
A petition would not work.

A huge donation could, though
(this is where ppl asking for the moon suddenly disappear overnight)
I am ok to donate. But if it is something outside my scope of budget, I may have to pay in sums if that person agrees to that term. As you can see, I am but an average Joe here.
xboxown is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New ZDOOM port to Amiga 68k NovaCoder News 217 09 March 2021 13:03
Dune2 Amiga 68k Port (OpenDune) NovaCoder News 5 25 July 2020 09:22
fMSX 2.3 beta 2 (on Amiga) Solo Kazuki request.Apps 15 19 December 2012 14:58
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? Ironclaw request.Other 7 22 September 2006 20:56
Amiga fMSX CU_AMiGA Retrogaming General Discussion 1 27 January 2004 15:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07612 seconds with 14 queries