English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 December 2016, 09:42   #81
jarre
Registered User

jarre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Holland
Posts: 114
looks like this should work, i'm on my work right now and can't check
maybe try the lines one at the time

4a 40 67 00 00 0a 30 3c --> 4a 40 66 00 00 0a 30 3c (guess player one)

4a 40 67 00 00 32 10 2d --> 4a 40 66 00 00 32 10 2d (guess player two)

i don't know id we need this last one:

4a 00 67 00 00 7a 30 3c --> 4a 00 66 00 00 7a 30 3c (something with $7f00,a5)
jarre is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 December 2016, 12:27   #82
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarre View Post
looks like this should work, i'm on my work right now and can't check
maybe try the lines one at the time

4a 40 67 00 00 0a 30 3c --> 4a 40 66 00 00 0a 30 3c (guess player one)

4a 40 67 00 00 32 10 2d --> 4a 40 66 00 00 32 10 2d (guess player two)

i don't know id we need this last one:

4a 00 67 00 00 7a 30 3c --> 4a 00 66 00 00 7a 30 3c (something with $7f00,a5)
Thanks for this jarred; am currently trying things

After patching with your the last entry the game resets when loading

With the "player one" string there are 16 entries so going through one at a time / test / back to original image / repeat.

Patching the 2nd "4a 40 67 00 00 0a 30 3c" --> "4a 40 66 00 00 0a 30 3c" starts the game immediately so I could play with my Xbox 360 wirless controller (mapped as a CD32 controller):


Last edited by DamienD; 07 December 2016 at 13:03.
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 December 2016, 13:08   #83
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Ok; have now been through all possible patches. Here's the summary:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarre View Post
4a 40 67 00 00 0a 30 3c --> 4a 40 66 00 00 0a 30 3c (guess player one)
There are 16 of these hex strings. Only patching the 2nd hex string does anything; the game starts immediately and can play (as per screenshot in above post).

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarre View Post
4a 40 67 00 00 32 10 2d --> 4a 40 66 00 00 32 10 2d (guess player two)
There is only 1 of these hex strings. Patching this also starts the game immediately and can play:



Quote:
Originally Posted by jarre View Post
i don't know id we need this last one:

4a 00 67 00 00 7a 30 3c --> 4a 00 66 00 00 7a 30 3c (something with $7f00,a5)
There is only 1 of these hex strings. Patching this causes the game to reset when loading.

Last edited by DamienD; 07 December 2016 at 18:36.
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 December 2016, 20:24   #84
jarre
Registered User

jarre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Holland
Posts: 114
Yup, seems there's an other patch needed, but i'am not able to find right now. Maybe i will look for it next week again, its hard.

Last edited by jarre; 07 December 2016 at 22:06.
jarre is offline  
Old 07 December 2016, 20:39   #85
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarre View Post
Yup, seems there's an other patch needed, but i'am not able to find right now. Msybe ik willen look for it next week again, its hard.
You've done very well jarre

...way better than my dismal attempt, that's for sure.

Yes, maybe master Wilen will help out when he has some time free
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 December 2016, 21:29   #86
jarre
Registered User

jarre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Holland
Posts: 114
Well i'll keep looking and trying......busy with it right now.

seems like it's a chack for $7ebe, but i can't find the check for it, the value has to be 00 or 01, i guess it's loaded wt 1F now.

i skipped the $7f00 now with the patch i made, which is wrong, because the game has to start in the menu where you have to add coins, that check seems to be in $7ebe

anywayz i played the game and it's alot of fun......love this game..also asked Galahad to take a look for what i can't find....

Last edited by jarre; 07 December 2016 at 22:04.
jarre is offline  
Old 07 December 2016, 22:22   #87
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarre View Post
i skipped the $7f00 now with the patch i made, which is wrong, because the game has to start in the menu where you have to add coins, that check seems to be in $7ebe
Yup, that's the ideal scenario

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarre View Post
anywayz i played the game and it's alot of fun......love this game..also asked Galahad to take a look for what i can't find....
Oh, that would be cool if Sir Galahad could find the time to assist
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 December 2016, 22:36   #88
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 967
I see nice progress here on Harlem Challenge. I wonder how will You do switch to change sets of pictures?
Gzegzolka is offline  
Old 07 December 2016, 22:49   #89
jarre
Registered User

jarre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Holland
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gzegzolka View Post
I see nice progress here on Harlem Challenge. I wonder how will You do switch to change sets of pictures?
First lets fix the game to work properly....
jarre is offline  
Old 07 December 2016, 22:49   #90
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
So, wheres the game file, and whats happening so far?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 07 December 2016, 22:56   #91
jarre
Registered User

jarre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Holland
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
So, wheres the game file, and whats happening so far?
Nice to see you, please read, the posts and see the disassembled file. If you have then more questions i'm happy to answer your them anywayz glad you join here....

Can someone upload the cd bin, i do not have access to it now...

Damiend can you upload the cd image..?

Last edited by jarre; 07 December 2016 at 23:09.
jarre is offline  
Old 07 December 2016, 23:27   #92
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
So, wheres the game file, and whats happening so far?
Really appreciate someone with your skills / knowledge offering assistance Phil

That's a long story... To try to bring you up to speed

The game image files came from converting the MAME .CHD of "Harem Chellenge". See this post and Toni's reply afterwards here.

I've uploaded the converted .BIN & .CUE files for you here.

As for patching, I've been using a program called HxD.

For correcting the image afterwards I followed Toni's instructions for "Candy Puzzle" here in which you need CDMage. Mind you, after patching "Harem Challenge" and then loading in CDMage; the option to "Rebuild Sector Fields" is greyed out
DamienD is online now  
Old 12 December 2016, 14:57   #93
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
I'm sure your busy with your Starquake port

...but have you had the chance to look into this Galahad?
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 December 2016, 22:43   #94
jarre
Registered User

jarre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Holland
Posts: 114
still no progress in this matter, having vacation right now, but will be able to look at it some more next year, but i hope Galahad will take a look and patch this game. I'm almost sure it has something to do with a check on $7ebe the value should be 00 or 01 to accept coins (thats what i read out of the mame info)
jarre is offline  
Old 31 January 2017, 11:18   #95
jarre
Registered User

jarre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Holland
Posts: 114
still working on this

still working on this, but can't figure it out, if i do a BRA on L00025, the game skips intro and starts with alot of credits. same if i put nops in there.

$7f00 is the place where they check if coins will be accepted.

L000506 ext.w d0
L000508 movea.l -$7F00(a5),a2
L00050C lea $1F(a2),a2
L000510 move.b (a2),d1
L000512 ext.w d1
L000514 move.w #$0,d2
L000518 cmp.w d2,d1
L00051A seq d1
L00051C ext.w d1
L00051E and.w d1,d0
L000520 tst.w d0
L000522 beq.w L00052E ; dc.w $6700
L000526 move.w #$1,d0
L00052A move.b d0,-$7EF3(a5)
L00052E moveq #1,d0
L000530 move.l #$800003,d1
L000536 jsr $17872

Last edited by jarre; 31 January 2017 at 11:24.
jarre is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 09:00   #96
nikolaos1960
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Greece
Posts: 32
Hallo from Greece!
I am new in Amiga,i install WINUAE 3.5.0 (64 bit)and i tried to play Laser Quiz !
I know it is in MAME,where i am more relative,but the graphics are very bad,i can't see the image (version 0.184) !
I read very careful all the instructions here ,the game loads perfectly,but i can't use joystick to insert coins,or keyboard or mouse!
I tested in winuae option on mapping and it seems to work ok!
I do exactly the mapping you show here...
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=84878
But i don't have a XBOX, instead i have a Bullfrog gamepad and winuae read it as USB device adaptor (in greek language)
Is there any solution in it?
I use MAME lsrquiz.chd
I have win 7 ultimate

Last edited by nikolaos1960; 30 June 2017 at 09:06.
nikolaos1960 is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 13:43   #97
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Hello there nikolaos1960,

Welcome to EAB

I must admit that this is a Cubo CD32 game that haven't bothered to try...

I would say that the issue is that the image needs to be patched (like Candy Puzzle was) before you'll be able to insert coins / use a joystick unfortunately
DamienD is online now  
Old 30 June 2017, 15:49   #98
nikolaos1960
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Greece
Posts: 32
Thanks for your answer and all the work you do here,DamienD!
Is there any chance to try it by my self?
My knowledge unfortunately about all this is poor,but i see some instructions!
I see also some warnings in MAME for big disaster if you do something wrong ,and I am a little a bit scared!
Is there any chance to patch it correctly by my self without harming my system?
Is it easy for you to do it?
It is a good game,the only real good one that came in my country in quiz category!
Unfortunately in 2002 all arcades of any kind,for a pathetic reason were forbidden in Greece!
The other one was PHOTOPLAY,also not working in MAME,but i don't think this is an Amiga cd32 ,so the changes are almost zero!
Thanks in advance,sorry for my English!
nikolaos1960 is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 18:14   #99
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
All Cubo CD32 games need to be patched / hacked in order to play them on a real Amiga CD32 or via emulation.

Unfortunately it's not easy to do; you would need to have coding skills...

Toni Wilen provided the patch / hack information for Candy Puzzle.

The only other game that I personally think is worth playing beside Candy Puzzle is: Harem Challenge

Galahad (cracker / coder / Amiga legend) was going to look into this but guess he's too busy with other projects.
DamienD is online now  
Old 30 June 2017, 20:57   #100
nikolaos1960
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Greece
Posts: 32
Pity!
But that's ok ,I understand ,if it is hard for me,and i bet it is,i will wait for (SIR) GALAHAD,as long as it takes!
But in thiw game i am really unlucky!
I can use joystick in MAME,but graphics and sound is bad!
In WINUAE the games looks perfect,but I can't use joystick !
The other 2 games you mention work fine in MAME,and of course i will give them a try,if you recommend them!
Thanks again DamienD,and sorry i put you in troubles!
nikolaos1960 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 Cubo Dastardly Amiga scene 13 24 July 2014 18:10
CD32 Cubo F1ReB4LL support.WinUAE 38 20 January 2013 01:34
WTB cubo cd32 carlo3do MarketPlace 4 14 May 2012 21:10
Cubo Cd32 nnever2000 Amiga scene 14 12 September 2007 04:22
Cubo CD32 - Interesting news from MAMEDevs... DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 1 30 August 2007 21:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19406 seconds with 13 queries