English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2016, 21:36   #41
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Well, I'm happy to report that after woefully remapping my Xbox 360 controller --> a CD32 pad; I'm now able to insert coins, start the game and then move the pointer

If only I could work out what button released the bubbles (or whatever they are called in this game)

Would be very interesting if a real CD32 user could test this patched image file and then list what buttons on your controller do what
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 November 2016, 21:39   #42
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 517
tHANX D! Tested in WinUAE so far.
Cobe is offline  
Old 22 November 2016, 21:41   #43
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
tHANX D! Tested in WinUAE so far.
Don't thank me, thank Toni

...so, I presume in WinUAE it's all working and you've successfully mapped your joystick / joypad to a CD32 pad?

Can you advise on my question above my friend?
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 November 2016, 21:49   #44
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 517
Yeah, I did. I simply mapped the keyboard. I don't know a thing about XBox but RED releases the bubbles.

Thanks Toni!
Cobe is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 01:59   #45
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Ah, another successful day in the office!!!

Well, finally managed to setup my Xbox 360 wireless controllers --> CD32 pads (see this thread for more details)

...so have now tested the "patched" image file via WinUAE; all good

Guess I should really upload this to the "EAB File Server" under "/Commodore_Amiga/CD/CD32" for preservation purposes

<heads off to do so>

Not that there should be any issues, but is anyone going to test this on a real CD32 and report back?
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 02:15   #46
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Tested in WinUAE, will try to get around to testing on CD32 tonight. Great stuff!

CD32 pad mappings seem to be:
RED: Start/Fire (Player 1 or 2 depending on joypad)
BLUE: Exit settings menu
FORWARD: Insert coin


Update - I'm looking into the contents of the disc, there appears to be a second game on it (CINQUE), with reference to a third that appears to not be on the disc ("FORZA4", presumably unrelated to the XBox title!)

Update 2 - The "CINQUE" game on the disc appears to be "Lucky Five". Probably not worth doing anything with that one?

Last edited by earok; 23 November 2016 at 02:33.
earok is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 08:16   #47
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
It works on a real CD32, but there's an odd inconsistency between how WinUAE handles it and how a real console handles it. The difference is WinUAE allows you to tweak the dipswitch settings (you're prompted to when the game loads) but on a real CD32 it skips the menu and loads the game directly (presumably with whatever the default settings are).
earok is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 09:28   #48
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,529
Great work DamienD! I was going to have a look tonight at this, but seems I have time on my hands now!
Will try it out later, hope it plays well, from the little is known it is said to quite decent?

Edit: Sorry forgot to thank Toni to telling us how to do it in the first place, cheers!

Last edited by Amigajay; 23 November 2016 at 10:21.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 09:34   #49
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
It works on a real CD32, but there's an odd inconsistency between how WinUAE handles it and how a real console handles it. The difference is WinUAE allows you to tweak the dipswitch settings (you're prompted to when the game loads) but on a real CD32 it skips the menu and loads the game directly (presumably with whatever the default settings are).
I don't think there is any inconsistency. Unless you erased your CD32 NVRAM before testing
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 09:49   #50
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I don't think there is any inconsistency. Unless you erased your CD32 NVRAM before testing
how does it use NVRAM? It might be possible that either my winuae nvram file or my real CD32s nvram might be full, but I'm not in a position to check right now.
earok is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 10:16   #51
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
It works on a real CD32, but there's an odd inconsistency between how WinUAE handles it and how a real console handles it. The difference is WinUAE allows you to tweak the dipswitch settings (you're prompted to when the game loads) but on a real CD32 it skips the menu and loads the game directly (presumably with whatever the default settings are).
This was already known, if i remember that ninjaw cd32 bloke said the same, the dipswtich screen appears on an amiga reading the cd but not a cd32.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 11:16   #52
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Update - I'm looking into the contents of the disc, there appears to be a second game on it (CINQUE), with reference to a third that appears to not be on the disc ("FORZA4", presumably unrelated to the XBox title!)

Update 2 - The "CINQUE" game on the disc appears to be "Lucky Five". Probably not worth doing anything with that one?
Found this last night; you can see some screenshots here
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 11:31   #53
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
The only other Cubo CD32 game that looks worth playing is Harem Challenge.

Problem being that all we have so far though is the MAME .chd file... Most probably not able to patch this in the same way as the Candy Puzzle image files.

I know Hammy mentions he has this but is unfortunately AWOL

Would be cool if we could source the image files for this game; time to start looking I guess
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 12:11   #54
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,935
chdman should be able to convert to/from chd, bin/cue etc..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 12:24   #55
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
chdman should be able to convert to/from chd, bin/cue etc..
Nice; I was going to look into this tonight Toni when home
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 13:49   #56
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Hmmm, not sure if I'm doing this correctly


Method 1:



If I open the file "Harem Challenge Cubo CD32" with Notepad afterwards it looks like:

Code:
CD_ROM
 
// Track 1
TRACK MODE1 RW_RAW
NO COPY
DATAFILE "Harem Challenge Cubo CD32.bin" 49:59:70 // length in bytes: 482389280
 
// Track 2
TRACK AUDIO RW_RAW
NO COPY
NO PRE_EMPHASIS
TWO_CHANNEL_AUDIO
DATAFILE "Harem Challenge Cubo CD32.bin" #482389280 00:05:43 // length in bytes: 1023264
Method 2:



Unfortunately I get warnings...

If I open the file "Harem Challenge Cubo CD32.cue" with Notepad afterwards it looks like:

Code:
FILE "Harem Challenge Cubo CD32.bin" BINARY
  TRACK 01 MODE1/2048
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
  TRACK 02 AUDIO
    INDEX 01 49:59:70
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 14:12   #57
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,051
i dont have that image here, but as written in the image, you have to force chdman to output .toc instead of .cue:
chdman -extractcd input.chd output.(toc/cue) output.bin (if toc, no extension if cue)
^^ uses older syntax, taken from a mame board.

try "-o Harem Challenge Cubo CD32.toc" instead of "Harem Challenge Cubo CD32.cue"
emufan is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 14:17   #58
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,935
Subchannel data should be normally unused (at least none of the normal CD32 games use it) and can be ignored, unless there is CD+G or similar stuff.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 14:30   #59
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
i dont have that image here, but as written in the image, you have to force chdman to output .toc instead of .cue:
chdman -extractcd input.chd output.(toc/cue) output.bin (if toc, no extension if cue)
^^ uses older syntax, taken from a mame board.

try "-o Harem Challenge Cubo CD32.toc" instead of "Harem Challenge Cubo CD32.cue"
Cheers; this produces the same files as "Method 1" in post #56

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Subchannel data should be normally unused (at least none of the normal CD32 games use it) and can be ignored, unless there is CD+G or similar stuff.
Ok, so would you say use "Method 2" then?
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 15:50   #60
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Cheers; this produces the same files as "Method 1" in post #56
ah, ok. so toc mode is default, if there is no extension given.

#1) *.toc is not recognized, if you open the "insert cd" dialog in winuae. so Methode #2 is the way to go.


#2) but how does one "Insert a Coin" when playing this game ?

^^ just reading above, i will try what earok wrote:

CD32 pad mappings seem to be:
RED: Start/Fire (Player 1 or 2 depending on joypad)
BLUE: Exit settings menu
FORWARD: Insert coin

Last edited by emufan; 23 November 2016 at 16:04.
emufan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 Cubo Dastardly Amiga scene 13 24 July 2014 19:10
CD32 Cubo F1ReB4LL support.WinUAE 38 20 January 2013 02:34
WTB cubo cd32 carlo3do MarketPlace 4 14 May 2012 22:10
Cubo Cd32 nnever2000 Amiga scene 14 12 September 2007 05:22
Cubo CD32 - Interesting news from MAMEDevs... DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 1 30 August 2007 22:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19307 seconds with 13 queries