English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 September 2017, 18:52   #1
DopPie
Zone Friend

DopPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Den Hoorn, NL
Age: 39
Posts: 259
Thumbs up Tom Adapter (v2) Great stuff!

I'm not sure if I'm supposed to post this under the support.Hardware section.

I wanted to let you guys know I found a usb mouse solution for my Amiga.
Previously I tried the Rys Adapter (mk2). I found that Rys Adapter way too sensitive.
Games like Lemmings or Operation Wolf became unplayable as the Rys Adapter made mouse movent way too fast in even it's slowest setting. Sadly, the Rys ended up in a corner gathering dust. It's useless to me as a mouse adapter.

So, after some time I thought I'd try the Tom Adapter (v2). It works right out of the box! The mouse speed is spot on! It even works via my KVM switch. I can now neatly share my mouse between my laptop and my Amiga. I love it!!! I can now enjoy the optical mouse! That ball mouse is a bit of retro I can miss.

Should anyone need a usb mouse adapter for the Amiga, I can recommend the Tom (v2). That Rys is left for joypad duties only.

Hurray
DopPie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 September 2017, 18:57   #2
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,075
I agree it's a good adaptor. I have the same adaptor and I really like it. Only issue I have is that it seems to be very picky about the mouse supported (must have ps2 protocol) so unfortunately, I can't use my KVM - Same issue with my USB keyboard adaptor. I have to use a wireless KB and a wired ball mouse with ps/2 to USB adaptor.

Once I complete my current projects I'll have to investigate further.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 21 September 2017, 19:48   #3
DopPie
Zone Friend

DopPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Den Hoorn, NL
Age: 39
Posts: 259
Well, the Tom v2 does not require a PS/2 mouse. It works on any USB HID mouse and keyboard or Game controller. It is a 100% USB device host.

It is picky about wirless mice. Mine didn't work. But I don't think that is a major issue.
DopPie is offline  
Old 21 September 2017, 20:16   #4
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by DopPie View Post
Well, the Tom v2 does not require a PS/2 mouse. It works on any USB HID mouse and keyboard or Game controller. It is a 100% USB device host.

It is picky about wirless mice. Mine didn't work. But I don't think that is a major issue.
Perhaps I need to update the firmware.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 03:19   #5
puppypc
Registered User

puppypc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Greensboro, NC USA
Age: 26
Posts: 90
The one that I own requires a mouse that uses the PS/2 protocol, meaning that some USB mice are compatible (they push the PS/2 protocol), but many newer ones won't. I forget if it's a TOM+ or a JERRY+, and I don't have it near me at the moment.

I found the A-EON mouse (it's just a logitech with the logo ripped off and replaced with a boing ball) sold on Amigakit works, and feels as "amiga" as any USB mouse can. Some people don't want to give them money, but you can just hunt down the model of mouse.

The company who makes TOM and JERRY adapters maintains a list of compatible mice, but you have to do a little googling to find it. I think that they link to it in their eBay listings.
puppypc is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 06:24   #6
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,526
Where can it be bought?
Supamax is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 08:33   #7
DopPie
Zone Friend

DopPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Den Hoorn, NL
Age: 39
Posts: 259
Ebay

The Tom Rev2 requires a Hid compliant mouse. This means most of them should work.


I did notice a strange thing. When I switch over to my laptop and back to my Amiga, it lags a bit. As it needs to tune in on the mouse or something. After a minute the lag disappears.
DopPie is offline  
Old 03 January 2018, 15:19   #8
antiriad76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Westfield
Posts: 90
Got one of these adapters. Does anyone know if it is compatible with the XBOX 360 controllers?

Also I am confused why there is an "Amiga" , Atari and Atari ST Mode.
antiriad76 is offline  
Old 03 January 2018, 23:19   #9
Swe_Kryten2x4b
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Uppsala
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by antiriad76 View Post
Got one of these adapters. Does anyone know if it is compatible with the XBOX 360 controllers?

Also I am confused why there is an "Amiga" , Atari and Atari ST Mode.
There are some pins in the DB9 connector that needs to be swapped depending on if the mouse is connected to an Atari ST or an Amiga. Don't remember which ones, although a 3rd party mouse I had during the nineties had a little swith on the bottom that would allow you to switch mode.
Swe_Kryten2x4b is offline  
Old 07 June 2018, 16:14   #10
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 90
I got one of these Tom Rev2 adaptors to use with my A1200 but the right mouse button doesn't work. Has anybody else experienced this? I saw a report on an Amibay post of there being incompatibilities with certain A1200 motherboards.

The other problem I had was it was far too sensititve. Trying something like Lemmings 2 where you have to choose lemming type was really difficult to land the cursor on the one you are aiming at. I couldn't see any way to reduce the sensitivity of the device itself...

As far as compatibility goes it did really well with the 4 mice I tried with it though. I tried 2 wired and 2 wireless mice.
crabfists is offline  
Old 07 June 2018, 16:30   #11
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,831
The sensitivity issue is mostly down to the mouse, not the adaptor really. Most mice have their own acceleration curves and so on built in, instead of giving a linear response.

Some A1200s do have a funky right-hand button (and 3rd button) response. A pull-up resistor on that line might help things.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 07 June 2018, 16:44   #12
arcanist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 35
Posts: 44
The Zowie and the cheap Dell mouse I have here work with both buttons on my A1200 1D4 with the Tom v2.

The acceleration is a bit much for fine control. The only variable-DPI mouse I have (Evoluent) doesn't work with the adapter.
arcanist is offline  
Old 07 June 2018, 17:23   #13
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 90
The weird thing about the right mouse button is it works at boot time so I can get into the early startup screen but once I get to workbench it doesnt work at all. I will see which motherboard I have to see if it can help diagnose the issue.

I have another motherboard I could try it on but it's packed away at the moment so it's a bit of a faff to do.

Regarding the sensitivity, I am going to try a Sharkoon Shark Force mouse that I use at work. It has 3 DPI options, the lowest being 600 DPI.

If low DPI is the way to go then this mouse might be ideal as it goes down to 200 DPI (but its not cheap).

https://www.logitech.com/en-gb/produ...master-2s-flow
crabfists is offline  
Old 07 June 2018, 17:38   #14
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,831
What can happen (and the effect I've seen on some A1200s) is that the button signal gets stuck low, so once it's pressed it remains pressed as far as the computer is concerned. So it will work for one click and that's it, which fits with what you're seeing.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 08 June 2018, 00:33   #15
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 90
Ah, that makes sense.

My motherboard is a 1B revision so perhaps it is an incompatibility with that particular revision?

I tried my adjustable DPI mouse and at 600 DPI it is much better. Almost perfect in workbench but still too twitchy in games.
crabfists is offline  
Old 08 June 2018, 17:59   #16
puppypc
Registered User

puppypc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Greensboro, NC USA
Age: 26
Posts: 90
I'll apologize for talking from memory (I haven't pulled out the adaptor in months now, and I never used this feature) but I recall that these adaptors have a feature where pressing a certain button combination on startup will switch between Amiga and Atari mode.

Could that be causing the problem there?
puppypc is offline  
Old 09 June 2018, 21:45   #17
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by crabfists View Post
I tried my adjustable DPI mouse and at 600 DPI it is much better. Almost perfect in workbench but still too twitchy in games.
Yep, Workbench is a higher resolution screenmode than most games, so the mouse will be half as twitchy. 600DPI means that a typical game screen of 320x200 is covered horizontally in around 1/2 an inch, and vertically in 1/3 of an inch. Which isn't a lot really! It's a pity the adaptor doesn't offer a more "intelligent" conversion instead of a 1:1 passthrough - 300 DPI would be ideal I suspect.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 10 June 2018, 00:48   #18
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 90
Yeah, I agree. It’s an impressive device but the lack of sensitivity settings makes it kind of useless for my needs. Think I might try the Rys MkII adaptor which is supposed to allow the sensitively to be altered.
crabfists is offline  
Old 13 June 2018, 12:17   #19
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crabfists View Post
Ah, that makes sense.

My motherboard is a 1B revision so perhaps it is an incompatibility with that particular revision?

I tried my adjustable DPI mouse and at 600 DPI it is much better. Almost perfect in workbench but still too twitchy in games.
I've a 2B that doesn't like mouse adapters, think it just depends on the individual motherboard no matter what the revision.
fluffkitten is online now  
Old 13 June 2018, 13:07   #20
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 90
I must be really unlucky then because this adaptor doesn’t work on both my revision 1B or 1D4 motherboards. :P
crabfists is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tom Adapter Wireless Controller scu98rkr support.Hardware 0 05 July 2016 08:40
Tom Kirks PS2 Amiga/Atari adapter kipper2k Hardware mods 38 27 July 2012 17:37
Tom Servo Charlie Nostalgia & memories 5 12 January 2008 18:14
Tom & Jerry 2 turtle request.Old Rare Games 5 21 July 2002 03:02
Tom Tom's Amiga HD spiele cant download AEV Amiga scene 2 25 April 2002 02:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08730 seconds with 15 queries