English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 August 2016, 06:30   #1
bwldrbst
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 19
Amiga 1000 crashes after loading kickstart

I picked up a non-working Amiga 1000 last weekend, mainly to get an original keyboard and mouse for my working A1000.

The non-working A1000 runs through the POST colours and makes the startup sound OK. It will prompt for a kickstart disk. It appears to load kickstart but instead of prompting for workbench it flashes a bit of garbage then shows a solid purple screen.

According to this page: http://members.quicknet.nl/rhm.herol...rs_meaning.htm a magenta screen indicates "single-task or cold-start initialization failed" which sounds like it fits with what I'm seeing.

I have tried swapping the floppy drive with my other A1000 (30 &@*^!#% screws!) and an A1200. Both do the same thing and the drive from the non-working A1000 works fine in another Amiga.

Removing the 256K RAM expansion made no difference.

The machine also came with an Action Replay cartridge. On my working A1000 I can bring up the AR console and run a memory test as soon as kickstart is loaded. The AR doesn't respond on the non-working machine.

The A1000 is a PAL model with no daughter board and no internal modifications. Apart from a bit of dust it looks pretty clean and there isn't anything obviously wrong that I can see. I've attached a picture of the motherboard.

To me this sounds like a problem with RAM or the memory used to store kickstart. Does anyone have any suggestions for getting this old girl running?

Cheers,

Andrew
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160821_111321.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	96.4 KB
ID:	49495  
bwldrbst is offline  
Old 21 August 2016, 17:17   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,013
What happens if you keyboard reset it after KS disk has been loaded? Does it ask for KS disk again or just crash again or nothing happens?

Magenta color most likely means nothing in this case, it is most likely garbage written to custom registers. (and afaik magenta error color is only in KS2.0+)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 August 2016, 01:04   #3
bwldrbst
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
What happens if you keyboard reset it after KS disk has been loaded? Does it ask for KS disk again or just crash again or nothing happens?
If I reset it will just ask for the KS disk again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Magenta color most likely means nothing in this case, it is most likely garbage written to custom registers. (and afaik magenta error color is only in KS2.0+)
Fair enough. I thought it might have some meaning due to it being very consistent.
bwldrbst is offline  
Old 22 August 2016, 09:59   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwldrbst View Post
If I reset it will just ask for the KS disk again.
I think this points to Kickstart RAM/WOM fault or fault in related signals (write protected when it should not, ROM overlay etc..)

Boot code asks for Kickstart if it is not yet loaded. I don't remember how it tests it (I need to check it again) but it isn't full checksum check because KS disk with bad checksum is accepted and it does boot once before red screen appears.

Did you try swapping CIA chips? (If it is CIA ROM overlay signal fault). It can't be anything major because KS disk loading works and basic A1000 boot ROM tests pass.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 August 2016, 15:56   #5
bwldrbst
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 19
I've just tried swapping the CIAs around and it made no difference.

At least I didn't make anything worse...
bwldrbst is offline  
Old 28 August 2016, 16:06   #6
bwldrbst
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 19
A bit more messing around...

I tried leaving the machine running for a couple of hours, rebooting every now and then, to see if anything changed as it heated up. None of the ICs felt overly warm to touch.

A couple of times I got different coloured screens after kickstart loaded, once aqua and on the next reboot yellow. After that it was back to purple.
bwldrbst is offline  
Old 31 August 2016, 16:48   #7
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
I don’t usually go pushing my own videos after the fact, but this is for you
[ Show youtube player ]

Unless of course you can find the right RAM chips!
The mod makes a mess of course, and changes it fundamentally to a Kickstart ROM
machine with less RAM, even after the 256k expansion, than a trapdoor expanded A500.
xArtx is offline  
Old 01 September 2016, 17:09   #8
bwldrbst
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 19
That looks pretty cool, I had wondered what was involved in getting a ROM in there. Why does it end up with less memory? Is the ROM mapped into the same address space as the RAM?

Before doing something like that I'd rather find out what the actual problem is.
bwldrbst is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1000 kickstart 3.1.adf mr_marx support.Hardware 18 10 February 2016 20:53
Amiga 1000 Kickstart Adapter DJBase MarketPlace 33 01 November 2010 09:34
FS: Amiga 1000 Kickstart Adaptor DJBase MarketPlace 0 06 September 2008 19:03
Kickstart 2.x on amiga 1000 MBry0 support.Hardware 29 17 November 2007 03:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09155 seconds with 16 queries