English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 30 May 2015, 06:50   #1
vertigo

cf card plus ide drive

Hi, currently I have an 8gb master and 4gb slave both cf cards. I also have a 40gb ide 2-1/2 drive which I can use as a master no problem, its formatted with sfs.

Problem is I want to use the ide drive as a slave to my 8gb main but it won't work, I have the ide drive jumpered as a slave, like the working 4gb cf but the Amiga won't even boot. Any ideas please?
Old 30 May 2015, 09:21   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

Send a message via MSN to FOL
Some drives just will not work together with cf cards.
Old 30 May 2015, 09:50   #3
vertigo

Yes, it seems I'm unlucky then. Just to add its an Amigakit rear adapter with a ide cable with two connections. I was wondering if there was a problem due to having two bootable dh0 drives, I can get to the early boot and they are listed as are all partitions but choosing either still locks the Amiga.
Old 31 May 2015, 01:37   #4
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by vertigo View Post
i was wondering if there was a problem due to having two bootable dh0 drives.
pz.
Old 31 May 2015, 02:04   #5
thomas

Quote:
I was wondering if there was a problem due to having two bootable dh0 drives, I can get to the early boot and they are listed as are all partitions but choosing either still locks the Amiga.
If you see all partitions of both drives in early-startup but cannot boot, it's a software problem IMHO, not something with cabling or such. In order to read the partition table it has already accessed both drives seperately and has read data from them.

It's more likely file system code which needs a higher CPU model than your current Amiga has or different file systems with the same DOS type or the boot partiton with the highest priority is not accessible, for example because of lacking >4GB support or missing file system code.