English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2013, 23:49   #1
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Ishar AGA protection fails

Easy to reproduce, you started the game from the beginning, and you just need to advance, you meet a bridge, than you advance again a bit, and the password protection appears, and there's no way to pass it, and finally the game freeze, and the only exit is the whdload quit key.

Can you help Bertrand ?

Last edited by dlfrsilver; 16 March 2013 at 00:41.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 March 2013, 00:33   #2
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Easy to reproduce, you just need to advance, you meet a bridge, than you advance again a bit, and the password protection appears, and there's no way to pass it, and finally the game freeze, and the only exit is the whdload quit key.

Can you help Bertrand ?

hi Denis,

it's can be long investigation (game coded in C+ not ASM)

so i will look it in june...

contact me at this period.

i'll try to finally fix it
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 March 2013, 00:34   #3
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
hi Denis,

it's can be long investigation (game coded in C+ not ASM)

so i will look it in june...

contact me at this period.

i'll try to finally fix it
ps:
if it's no already done, can you upload savegame on Nantis whdload's bug report page with short desciption of action to do to launch protection ?
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 March 2013, 00:41   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
it's already done and it's written here in my first post too
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 March 2013, 01:01   #5
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
it's already done and it's written here in my first post too
ok

If i forget thar in june (call me or email me )
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 March 2013, 01:26   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
maybe i can at first use the debugkey ? And then prepare the coredump ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 March 2013, 02:01   #7
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
maybe i can at first use the debugkey ? And then prepare the coredump ?
it will don't really help me if i can reproduct easy crash or to go to protection screen

for 100 miglia i can't reproduct it without play long times....

so it's interesting to have dump/reg file to look for memory location of protect code.

more over fo ishar it's C+ code so it's more complicate to understand it
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 March 2013, 13:42   #8
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 464
@CFOU! : Interesting... I didn't know there were Amiga games coded in C++ or C. Is plain C suited for fast Amiga games using the chipset? I don't know a thing about 68K asm, but I work with C often.
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 16 March 2013, 14:03   #9
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
in fact, under winuae, you can access the debugger too, via Shift+F12.

for what i saw, it's stuck in an ASM routine (nothing like C+ code).

We will check this deeper next time you're available
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 10:57   #10
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
in fact, under winuae, you can access the debugger too, via Shift+F12.

for what i saw, it's stuck in an ASM routine (nothing like C+ code).

We will check this deeper next time you're available
it's possible it's perhaps old silmarils games which was coded in C langage

i will quick looks that...
CFOU! is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 10:59   #11
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
for what i saw, it's stuck in an ASM routine (nothing like C+ code).
Ishar is definitely coded in C!

See post below.

Last edited by StingRay; 18 March 2013 at 11:18.
StingRay is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 11:09   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Yes but this game has asm routines but i can be wrong
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 11:18   #13
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,593
Yes, you're right. I actually remembered it wrong, at least first Ishar seems to be coded in Assembler, just checked it.
StingRay is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 12:54   #14
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Yes, you're right. I actually remembered it wrong, at least first Ishar seems to be coded in Assembler, just checked it.
in my memory manual passwords protection code is not localised in main program but in somes other crypted data files.

so better way to crack is to use generic research code to localised protection code which is inserted after decrunch code...

i thougth have to do it..

but perhaps protection code is a bits differents after..

i will soons fix password protection check...
CFOU! is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 12:55   #15
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
in my memory manual passwords protection code is not localised in main program but in somes other crypted data files.
Ishar is interpreted so the manual check is "hidden" in the interpreter data files. Have fun reversing the interpreter.
StingRay is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 12:57   #16
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,979
>denis

have you same problem with ECS version?

(i don't know if savegame files are compatible between ECS/AGA=>never try)


if yes i will fix both versions
CFOU! is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 13:00   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the ECS version doesn't seem to have a problem. But on my AGA multilingual version, i trigger easily the password protection.

Is there any program to decompress and access the files outside the main executable ?

EDIT : and in June, once you'll have more time, ishar 2 AGA will need investigation, because there is a serious bug/problem on the AGA release which actually kill the game. Even the IPF has the problem so far.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 13:15   #18
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
the ECS version doesn't seem to have a problem. But on my AGA multilingual version, i trigger easily the password protection.

Is there any program to decompress and access the files outside the main executable ?
i don't know but in my memory it's classic silmarils cruncher (i will look, if i had not already done generic decruncher for that)

StingRay are right, it's interpreter, for this reason manual protection request is in data files...

it's more complicate, if we want not forget one protection test.... only solution to be sure all protection are removed is to finish game

i am never done ishar serie (perhaps a day....)
CFOU! is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 13:19   #19
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post

EDIT : and in June, once you'll have more time, ishar 2 AGA will need investigation, because there is a serious bug/problem on the AGA release which actually kill the game. Even the IPF has the problem so far.
it's perhpas simple problem

if problem is only in french it can be caused by long french sentence (french colonisation or civilisation cracked for this reason...)

have you try in english to compare
CFOU! is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 14:49   #20
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 45
Posts: 5,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
>denis

have you same problem with ECS version?

(i don't know if savegame files are compatible between ECS/AGA=>never try)


if yes i will fix both versions
I know I have tried that swap of savegame files, but it was years ago and I don't remember anymore.
But I remember that the ECS pirated version I used had the maze corrupted in the fortress part (walls that could be passed like they were not there, party got stuck soon afterward).
Marcuz is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1000 Miglia (Simulmondo), protection fails Marcuz project.WHDLoad 33 28 October 2013 22:57
ERROR Ishar AGA Marcuz project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 0 12 June 2011 15:55
req: Ishar 1, 2 and 3 (AGA versions only) wlcina request.Old Rare Games 1 08 September 2004 21:09
Ishar I-III AGA HDD problem HOBORG support.WinUAE 1 04 April 2003 07:01
Ishar AGA manual or cracked haynor666 request.Old Rare Games 4 09 February 2003 18:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09499 seconds with 16 queries