English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 October 2020, 23:27   #1
YouKnowWho
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Toronto
Posts: 96
McIntosh Centris ripped off Amiga 1000?

OK, I know I'm a little late to realize this, but...in a recent search for a project Amiga 1000 case, I tripped up on a McIntosh Centris 610, and my goodness, how much more could Apple have ripped off the Amiga 1000? SHAMELESS! What an Amiga 1000 wanna be.

Anyhow, I'm buying one of these probably because they are easier to find, cheaper and I won't have to mod an Amiga 1000 case. I'm going to put a MISTer inside of this Centris 610 run an Amiga core. I'm going to take out the Centris 610 label and stick an AMIGA label in there. That's right, it will be a "McIntosh AMIGA"! TAKE THAT Apple! :-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	images.jpeg
Views:	240
Size:	3.3 KB
ID:	69402  

Last edited by YouKnowWho; 20 October 2020 at 00:04.
YouKnowWho is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 23:33   #2
Weaselrama
Registered Voter

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 59
Posts: 573
Interesting. The center cover, a RAM expansion on the Amiga 1000, is a drive bay on the 610.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 23:34   #3
aeberbach
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 257
Wouldn't be the first time. I remember hearing on radio in about 1993 that Apple had invented an amazing new technology called "multitasking" that would let you run two programs at once...

But everyone steals from everyone else.
aeberbach is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 23:50   #4
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by YouKnowWho View Post
OK, I know I'm a little late to realize this, but...in a recent search for a project Amiga 1000 case, I tripped up on a McIntosh Centris 610, and my goodness, how much more could Apple have ripped off the Amiga 1000? SHAMELESS! What an Amiga 1000 wanna be.

Anyhow, I'm buying one of these probably because they are easier to find, cheaper and I won't have to mod an Amiga 1000 case. I'm going to put a MISTer inside of this Centris 610 run an Amiga core. TAKE THAT McIntosh!
I made that comparison somewhere, and long time ago. Yes, looks the same.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 23:57   #5
Weaselrama
Registered Voter

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 59
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeberbach View Post
Wouldn't be the first time. I remember hearing on radio in about 1993 that Apple had invented an amazing new technology called "multitasking" that would let you run two programs at once...

But everyone steals from everyone else.
The Apple Lisa, which debuted on January 19, 1983, featured a full 32-bit OS with preemptive multitasking. I seem to recall reading the Mac team opted out of a preemptive multitasking environment to keep the cost down.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 00:09   #6
YouKnowWho
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Toronto
Posts: 96
Before I put the MISTer into this thing, I am going to see if a 1200 MoBo fits. Maybe McIntosh 1200? :-)

Or I guess the right thing to do is to just change that Centris 610 label to a 1000 - Macintosh 1000 anyone?

Last edited by YouKnowWho; 20 October 2020 at 00:20.
YouKnowWho is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 05:01   #7
Warty
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 95
The middle spot was for an optional CD-ROM, not RAM expansion.

The Centris 610 "grew up" from the pizza box Mac LC when they needed t cram more stuff into it. I sincerely doubt anyone at Apple looked back EIGHT years and said, "boy, we should copy that Amiga 1000 form factor that Commodore loved so much they never made a second version of". Objectively, mid-size computer with 2 drive bays side by side has a lot more in common with a 1983 IBM PC than it does with an Amiga 1000.

I love my A1000, it's the only one I keep out of storage. But as an industrial design for a computer, the case was clearly a dead-end. Not enough room for expansion inside the case. Look at the monstrosity C= went with next, in the 2000! <shudder>

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macintosh_Quadra_610
Warty is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 07:17   #8
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,566
Everybody ripped off Amiga.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 11:58   #9
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselrama View Post
The Apple Lisa, which debuted on January 19, 1983, featured a full 32-bit OS with preemptive multitasking. I seem to recall reading the Mac team opted out of a preemptive multitasking environment to keep the cost down.
It's true that you could get Xenix for the machine, which was 32 bit and as it was basically Unix so obviously multitasking. But the default GUI based OS on the Lisa (Lisa OS) did not pre-emptively multitask. It instead used co-operative multitasking like the Mac.

On a side note, the Lisa was actually a very cool machine. But it was also very expensive (around $10.000). As I understand it, the high price kept it from ever being succesful. Essentially it ended up competing price-wise with "proper" workstations. This was perhaps a bridge too far for a company which, at the time, was mainly know for it's 8-bit home computers.
roondar is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 22:10   #10
YouKnowWho
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Toronto
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warty View Post

I love my A1000, it's the only one I keep out of storage. But as an industrial design for a computer, the case was clearly a dead-end. Not enough room for expansion inside the case. Look at the monstrosity C= went with next, in the 2000! <shudder>

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macintosh_Quadra_610
I'm surprised that no one is modding the A1000s. It's the easiest system to mod it appears. I mean, it had a backplate that could be removable/replaceable. Simply shocked no one has done one with ports for 1200 for example to house the 1200 MoBo in the 1000 case. The lengths you have to go to to get 020, 2MB Chip, graphic update and keep the 1000 MoBo internals and looks? Fortune!

Meanwhile, change that backplate, drop in a 1200 MoBo, you get the 1200 spec, maybe even throw in one of those 060s in there, add a Lyra for keyboard so you can keep the original 1000 keyboard with a cable plug end adapter on the computer side, and you're in business! Sweetest 1000 you can get! AGA. CF. 2MB Chip. Flickerfixer for a nice monitor. Easy and plentiful accelerator options. NO BRAINER to me...all made possible by the removable 1000 case backplate - and I don't think anyone has done it yet!!!!! You could even probably fit a compact modern power supply in that back opening. I just gave away a crazy awesome project idea, didn't I? Someone will do this get 100K Views with it!

Last edited by YouKnowWho; 20 October 2020 at 22:18.
YouKnowWho is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 22:19   #11
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,566
Don’t fiorget to paint the A1000 CDTV Jet Black at the end of modding.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 23:23   #12
YouKnowWho
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Toronto
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
Don’t fiorget to paint the A1000 CDTV Jet Black at the end of modding.
Personally I would keep it original colour. But let's be honest Pyro, no one appears to have painted an A1000 Black either. Probably because black is usually associated with performance or best version, and let's be honest, the 1000, while first is hardly the Amiga ANYONE thinks about when they think performance. But with a 1200 MoBo...black 1000...why not?!
YouKnowWho is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 00:36   #13
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,566
I’m thinking of painting one of my A1000’s black.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 04:20   #14
YouKnowWho
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Toronto
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
I’m thinking of painting one of my A1000’s black.
Only if the internals are worthy!
YouKnowWho is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 05:23   #15
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by YouKnowWho View Post
Only if the internals are worthy!
My A1000 internals are certified to work until 2071.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 07:08   #16
Warty
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 95
If you go over to Amigalove, you'll see that there are some folks making 3D printed back plates, with various outputs, for VGA, USB, CF Card mount, etc.

But modding it by stripping the guts and putting something else in... I hope no one is doing that in this day and age. It's not like they are making new A1000s. you can do some great stuff with "damage free" A1000 modding. Indivision ECS, Matze TK68030, CF card... not to mention hanging a A500+ off the side if you're into that sort of thing.
Warty is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think I've been ripped off... Lektroid support.Hardware 8 11 August 2020 23:38
Any amiga diskmag articles ripped online? ruinashiro Amiga scene 3 23 January 2017 08:59
Amiga 1000 Inboard 1000 by Spirit - help needed amiman99 support.Hardware 0 13 December 2011 05:50
Atari ST Demo ripped from Amiga Fred the Fop Nostalgia & memories 35 08 October 2008 12:08
Connecting Amiga 1000 DKB Insider to 1000 without daughterboard huggies support.Hardware 0 05 October 2008 12:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09795 seconds with 14 queries