English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2019, 15:52   #1
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,179
changing colours in c64 forever

this is not not amiga forever related, but i can't find a (sub-)forum regarding c64 forever. so i ask here as 64 forever also comes from cloanto. by default c64 games are emulated matching original pale c64 colours. now i have seen youtube videos of c64 games showing colours with more saturation. is there an option to change that in c64 forever. i would only use the false colours in cases my sister visits again for playing retro games. because my sister likes these more colourful false colours more than the original pale ones. i prefer original colour scheme, of course.
honx is offline  
Old 22 February 2019, 16:01   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,563
Don't know about C64 forever. But it's pretty easyto setup directly in WinVice. Video Settings -> VICII Colors -> tick "external palette" and select "Colodore" (browse the "C64 subfolder inside your Vice).






Quote:
by default c64 games are emulated matching original pale c64 colours
The old default never showed the correct colors. This was always wrong from the beginning. Pepto recognized is some time back that he was wrong and created the more realistic "Colodore" palette. This is how a C64 looks like via TV or monitor. Check the screen comparison.

left = new Colodore (the correct colors, Red is actually Red and Blue is not purple anymore)
middle = old Pepto/Vice default (wrong colors)
right = old Pepto with more saturation. Still completely wrong.




https://www.colodore.com/

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 22 February 2019 at 16:42.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 22 February 2019, 16:25   #3
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,179
it seems i'll have to install vice seperately as c64 forever doesn't let me configure vice.
or does vice have some key like winuae (f12) for configuration?
honx is offline  
Old 22 February 2019, 16:33   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,563
I have no clue. All this C64 Forever player looks confusing to me. To setup an additional menu for the existing one in WinVice.



http://www.c64forever.com/screenshots/
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 22 February 2019, 16:39   #5
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,179
well, i'll have to mess with this another day.
thanks to you i stumbled accross turbo outrun, which i now have to download and try first!

Last edited by honx; 22 February 2019 at 17:10.
honx is offline  
Old 22 February 2019, 17:05   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,563
It seems the Forever GUI doesn't have an option for changing the palette file. Would probably work via custom commandline ( Tools -> Option -> Emulation, scroll down to custom parameters). Anyway, it's easier to use the VICE subfolder inside your C64 Forever installation and start the x64.exe.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 22 February 2019, 17:20   #7
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,179
as i never used a c64 emulator outside of c64 forever, how exactly do i load a game?
is that command "load $, 8" correct?
honx is offline  
Old 22 February 2019, 17:34   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,563
Load"$",8

loads the disk directory by following the "LIST" command.

Load"*",8,1

Loads the first file on disk. Start via "RUN" command.

Drag & Drop the D64 image (in windowed mode) usually works fine though. Only if you want to load a specific file from an disk image it makes sense to use the normal commands.

Another way to load a specific file is to select File -> Attach Disk Image and use the internal D64 directory browser to start a PRG file.


Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 22 February 2019 at 17:48.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 29 March 2019, 20:19   #9
majestyx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: PA - USA
Age: 49
Posts: 31
Jeez, why are the C64 Forever colors purple? I had a C128D back in the day and don't recall the C64 mode being anything but shades of blue.
majestyx is offline  
Old 29 March 2019, 21:03   #10
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,565
@honx: WinVice is really easy to use
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C64 Forever dcms61 Retrogaming General Discussion 4 19 November 2011 09:41
Changing disks in Amiga Forever 2009 BryceOne support.Amiga Forever 5 16 May 2011 10:02
Changing colours in CLI? Dreedo support.Other 2 09 January 2011 01:02
C64 Forever released... Paul_s Retrogaming General Discussion 45 03 July 2010 13:38
Amiga Forever and C64 Forever Live Video Meetup mcb News 1 30 May 2009 19:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07459 seconds with 15 queries