English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 30 October 2018, 12:18   #1
rthorntn

Please help newbie with Buddha IDE

Hi,

I'm new to Amiga, please be gentle.

I got a Buddha from amigastore, please see attachment for the options I ordered.

I repaired an A2000 motherboard up to the point Kickstart asks for a disk (Kickstart 3.1), I don't have any real Amiga drives.

Can someone please talk me through getting the Buddha working, in lots of detail, I found an IDE cable but I'm worried about connecting it the wrong way (can't find a manual for the IDE CF adapter so no idea on which is pin 1), I also see this warning on amigastore:

(!): Caution, UDMA 80pin cables cannot used with this controller.

What does that mean, is it just because it has double the pins and so won't fit?

Also with the 4GB CF can that be powered by the IDE bus (same as the DoM)?

J2 and J3 "bus power" jumpers, is J2 for the first IDE port and J3 for the second?

Thanks.

Richard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	buddha.png
Views:	158
Size:	381.0 KB
ID:	60502  
Old 30 October 2018, 12:49   #2
Daedalus

Quote:
Originally Posted by rthorntn View Post
Can someone please talk me through getting the Buddha working, in lots of detail, I found an IDE cable but I'm worried about connecting it the wrong way (can't find a manual for the IDE CF adapter so no idea on which is pin 1)