English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2018, 12:42   #1
RetroBill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Surrey
Posts: 4
Can't load XCopy

Hi All,

I have tried many different versions of XCopy on my A1200 and all I get is this:
bad xcopy.png

Any ideas?
RetroBill is offline  
Old 08 March 2018, 13:26   #2
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
hi,

this version seems incompatible to the A1200 chipset,
probably made for OCS/ECS which cause this screen corruption.
try a different version - or here - links on the ftp.

#1) did test X-Copy Pro 5.1, which does work booting the disk,
does freeze emulation, if I start it on my workbench.

#2) in the early startup-menu (hold both mouse buttons when booting),
choose Display options -> Original or Enhanced, this may help too.

Last edited by emufan; 08 March 2018 at 13:34.
emufan is offline  
Old 08 March 2018, 13:40   #3
RetroBill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Surrey
Posts: 4
Choosing Original chipset in boot options sorted the problem
Thanks muchly
RetroBill is offline  
Old 08 March 2018, 13:48   #4
RetroBill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Surrey
Posts: 4
I meant Display options
RetroBill is offline  
Old 08 March 2018, 13:50   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,771
There are many versions of X-Copy that work well on Amiga AGA also expanded, use the one shown in the screenshot

In this video of mine there are all versions of X-Copy including the most modern ones to copy floppies PC.

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 April 2018 at 19:18.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 24 March 2018, 03:35   #6
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 43
Posts: 21
I had the same problem: Different XCopy versions, they work on the A500 and A600, but not on the A1200 (distorted picture).

Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
in the early startup-menu (hold both mouse buttons when booting),
choose Display options -> Original or Enhanced
Thanks emufan - this works fine.
As booting goes quite fast and this setting applies only to a single boot - I mean you don't have to change it back afterwards - it's not a bad workaround.

Btw, I had a hard time getting into the early startup menu on my A1200, until I noticed that you should hold the 2 mousebuttons from exactly the moment the screen goes black, but not earlier...

Nice compilation Amigasystem!
Nightshft is offline  
Old 01 November 2018, 23:01   #7
RiP
IK+

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DF0:
Posts: 105
I have similar problem with X-Copy 5.21 but on A2000 rev4.5 with ECS Denise 8373
Original chipset in boot options didn't help too. v3.4 worked fine but has no intro.


Last edited by RiP; 01 November 2018 at 23:22.
RiP is offline  
Old 02 November 2018, 09:35   #8
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 122
You must use JST:

Change the icon of XCopy from TOOL to PROJECT
Set Default Program to JST
In the tooltypes insert EXECUTE
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	XCopy.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	60557  
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 02 November 2018, 21:41   #9
RiP
IK+

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DF0:
Posts: 105
I meant the ADF version with bootloader. Even the zip version that runs from HD works fine on A2000 rev6 with OCS Denise
RiP is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which xcopy version to use kipper2k support.Apps 0 23 December 2013 07:33
Xcopy with dongle elpiloto request.Apps 8 09 December 2012 19:27
XCopy problem orange support.Apps 0 27 December 2009 23:07
Xcopy mtb support.Apps 5 03 December 2003 09:40
XCopy Ziaxx Retrogaming General Discussion 5 04 January 2003 01:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06704 seconds with 14 queries