English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 April 2009, 00:11   #1
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 42
Posts: 573
Turrican 2 - Time Out = Game Over!?!?

OK, so it's been a while since I last sat down to play any Turrican title from start to finish but, sincing trying out WinUAE's "save state" feature, I've decided to go for it. In segments.

Anyways, I'm a bit baffled because after 2 warm-up sesssions during which I ran out of time I didn't lose 1 life but instead was presented with the Game Over screen. I'm 99.99% sure this is wrong. Can anyone help or advise please?
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 13 April 2009, 00:18   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Maybe a bad crack? Try to play Turrican with an original dump with save states. Or use the WHDLoad game.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 April 2009, 12:22   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,625
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
OK, so it's been a while since I last sat down to play any Turrican title from start to finish but, sincing trying out WinUAE's "save state" feature, I've decided to go for it. In segments.

Anyways, I'm a bit baffled because after 2 warm-up sesssions during which I ran out of time I didn't lose 1 life but instead was presented with the Game Over screen. I'm 99.99% sure this is wrong. Can anyone help or advise please?
You are correct, I found this with Turrican 2 CDTV (WHDLoad). Only when time runs out though. I thought it was just me, maybe its a bug.

With Turrican 1, it takes 1 life and lets you continue. If you loose all lives, it gives you the option to continue.

Just cant remember this problem back in the day, cause I know I finished both 1 & 2 (without cheating).
FOL is offline  
Old 13 April 2009, 13:39   #4
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 42
Posts: 573
I'm using (or trying to) the WHDLoad of the CDTV version. I will try the other version from KillerGorilla's most excellent packs!
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 13 April 2009, 15:04   #5
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 42
Posts: 573
YEP! The non-CDTV version works fine. I guess the CDTV vesion is flawed in some way.

I've submitted a report from the WHDload page. Hopefully, if this is an error rather than a CDTV "unique feature", the awesome guys who did the WHDload work for this title can fix it.

Last edited by vroom6sri; 14 April 2009 at 13:34.
vroom6sri is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shurrican (Turrican clone) new 68k game! viddi Amiga scene 73 07 August 2014 17:30
Turrican II time limits BuckoA51 support.Games 11 14 October 2011 00:28
Mega Turrican/Turrican 3 Alien Queen Sprite Request Zenotorn project.Sprites 5 09 June 2010 16:39
[Found: Turrican] There is this game I remember as a child, a Metroid type game. PiesAreBlueGuy Looking for a game name ? 15 18 September 2009 14:35
Turrican c64 with in game music ? coze Retrogaming General Discussion 3 08 August 2009 22:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05943 seconds with 13 queries