English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2016, 16:02   #1
Hypex
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 56
How to set up FS-UAE for A4000/OS4 config?

Hello everyone.

I've been trying to set up FS-UAE for an A4000/OS4 config in the Launcher. I read lots about it but fail to find any set up guide. All I read of speaks of things I don't find. For example I installed that latest stable release on Linux x64 (Mint) but it has no A4000/OS4 config. Does the A4000/OS4 only appear in the unstable release?

I have A4000 3.1 ROM with CyberStorm ROM files and QEMU plugin installed. I tried to set up a PPC config by hand but it never works. At most I get what looks like a constant reboot booting OS4 floppy or with a PPC test disk no PPC library is found.

What is needed for an A4000/OS4 config preset?
Hypex is offline  
Old 17 July 2016, 01:51   #2
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypex View Post
What is needed for an A4000/OS4 config preset?
This should match the A4000/OS4 model:
Code:
amiga_model=A4000
hard_drive_0_controller=scsi0_cpuboard
cdrom_drive_0_controller=scsi1_cpuboard
uae_scsi=false
uae_z3mapping=real
uae_cpuboard_type=CyberStormPPC
uae_cpuboard_rom_file=cyberstormppc.rom
uae_cpuboardmem1_size=128
uae_gfxcard_size=4
uae_gfxcard_type=PicassoIV_Z3
uae_cpu_type=68040
uae_cpu_model=68060
uae_fpu_model=68060
I think, the easiest way is to install the latest dev version from ppa...
jbl007 is offline  
Old 17 July 2016, 13:14   #3
Hypex
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 56
Thanks for hint. I tried the config but it still failed somehow.

I also tried to install the dev version but only the stable one come up. I added the dev PPA. Removed stable PPA in between relaoding package lists. Won't show up! :-?
Hypex is offline  
Old 18 July 2016, 14:46   #4
Hypex
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 56
I downloaded the dev version by hand. Though it was confusing what was what. They all looked like they were named after Ubuntu distros. So I grabbed one and it installed. Wel it installed okay.

I tried it out and found out where the PPC part was after only seeing A4000. And getting used to the new layout. I tried setting up an A4000/OS4 config and it seemed to be working but then kept complaining that it had no graphics rom. So looks like I need to check all my files. Even though I do have a Picasso ROM there.

I may need to revert back to the stable one as I did find it unstable, with the user interface locking up or not responding at times and eventually the whole application locked up and had to be forced out.

What I don't understand about the launcher, is that you can set up configs for a particular machine, like an A4000, but when selecting them it then reverts to using A500 as the machine. Not only do I find this confusing, I find it annoying! I just want to set up a list of names for configs in a logical manner and have them act as configs. Why does it not do this! :-?

Last edited by Hypex; 18 July 2016 at 14:52.
Hypex is offline  
Old 22 July 2016, 15:47   #5
Hypex
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 56
In closing. I ended reinstalling a new Mint. The one I had was too old and the current stable FS-UAE which supports QEMU couldn't install. I also found what version supports PPC/OS4 which was posted here but no one shared. In any case I finally got OS4 CD booting. So now it's time for another problem, another thread.

Last edited by Hypex; 25 July 2016 at 13:17.
Hypex is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fs-uae + os4.1 lewren support.FS-UAE 18 16 October 2017 21:13
A4000 WinUAE config - Unrecoverable crash Narf the Mouse support.WinUAE 12 11 March 2016 16:04
FS-UAE A4000/OS4 CD-Rom weirdness esc support.FS-UAE 14 18 October 2015 20:30
set uae config file to 'preferred device' for joystick Interceptor support.WinUAE 2 22 April 2010 00:38
How much would an A4000 set you back? Smiley Retrogaming General Discussion 10 17 March 2006 21:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06413 seconds with 13 queries