English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

Old 10 March 2013, 01:51   #1
daro2096

Step by Step guide for installing WHDLoad and games for complete newbies?

I unpacked everything in Winrar on my PC and then transferred it all to Amiga by CD. I think I installed WHDLoad but then I try to install a game i get errors like "filestring is too long" or something like that.

I downloaded all the files from whdload.de site.

Really pulling my hair out here. Why can't it be as simple as installing a game on my PC? Think Windows has made me soft.

Why is there no simple install guide on whdload.de You think they would provide a how to guide on that site.
Old 10 March 2013, 01:59   #2
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee

http://kg.whdownload.com/kgwhd & http://whdownload.com

Extract them on your Amiga, not on your PC.
Old 10 March 2013, 03:39   #3
daro2096

I tried extracting them on my amiga 1200 but was getting nowhere with it.
Old 10 March 2013, 08:20   #4
mailman
Zone Friend

Quote:
Originally Posted by daro2096 View Post
I unpacked everything in Winrar on my PC and then transferred it all to Amiga by CD. I think I installed WHDLoad but then I try to install a game i get errors like "filestring is too long" or something like that.
You need to update Installer tool to the latest version (check on Aminet).

Quote:
Really pulling my hair out here. Why can't it be as simple as installing a game on my PC? Think Windows has made me soft.
It is but one condition has to be met - all the system files have to be up to date.

Quote:
Why is there no simple install guide on whdload.de You think they would provide a how to guide on that site.
What for?

1. You installed WHDLoad in your system - good.
2. You downloaded install files for a game of your choice from whdload.de - good.
3. You unpacked downloaded archive - good.
4. Click on the icon "Install" and proceed according to the messages on the screen.
5. Run the game