English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2018, 02:45   #1521
nexus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ohio
Posts: 32
just fyi the final card can use up to 20w+ so you might wanna fix your power issues 1st
nexus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 January 2018, 03:05   #1522
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 215
I take it we are talking a normal PCI card then and not say a VME board or a PC104 on an adapter board then?
kgc210 is online now  
Old 13 January 2018, 04:07   #1523
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 903
Took some power measurements at the wall.
Heavily loaded tower running Q2 Timedemo=104 Watt.
Heavily loaded tower sitting at the desktop=~100 Watt.
Desktop booting peaked at about 84 Watt but PPC was probably crashed.
Desktop with Sonnet running Q2 Timedemo=84 Watt
Old Tower reading as I recall with Sonnet was 95 Watt, somewhere in this thread.

Some dnetc numbers, haven't rerun them since memory tuning but I don't expect that will change much.
[Mar 31 00:01:20 UTC] Automatic processor type detection found
a PowerPC 7441/7450/7451 (G4) processor.
[Mar 31 00:01:20 UTC] OGR-NG: using core #0 (KOGE 3.1 Scalar).
[Mar 31 00:01:40 UTC] OGR-NG: Benchmark for core #0 (KOGE 3.1 Scalar)
0.00:00:16.80 [5,051,323 nodes/sec]
[Mar 31 00:01:40 UTC] OGR-NG benchmark summary :
Default core : #0 (KOGE 3.1 Scalar)
Fastest core : #0 (KOGE 3.1 Scalar)
[Mar 31 00:01:40 UTC] RC5-72: using core #0 (MH 2-pipe).
[Mar 31 00:01:58 UTC] RC5-72: Benchmark for core #0 (MH 2-pipe)
0.00:00:16.15 [1,470,979 keys/sec]
[Mar 31 00:01:58 UTC] RC5-72: using core #1 (KKS 2-pipe).
[Mar 31 00:02:16 UTC] RC5-72: Benchmark for core #1 (KKS 2-pipe)
0.00:00:16.15 [1,490,976 keys/sec]
[Mar 31 00:02:16 UTC] RC5-72: using core #2 (KKS 604e).
[Mar 31 00:02:35 UTC] RC5-72: Benchmark for core #2 (KKS 604e)
0.00:00:16.17 [1,341,507 keys/sec]
[Mar 31 00:02:35 UTC] RC5-72: using core #5 (MH 1-pipe).
[Mar 31 00:02:53 UTC] RC5-72: Benchmark for core #5 (MH 1-pipe)
0.00:00:16.19 [1,523,776 keys/sec]
[Mar 31 00:02:53 UTC] RC5-72: using core #6 (MH 1-pipe 604e).
[Mar 31 00:03:11 UTC] RC5-72: Benchmark for core #6 (MH 1-pipe 604e)
0.00:00:16.15 [1,478,688 keys/sec]
[Mar 31 00:03:11 UTC] RC5-72 benchmark summary :
Default core : #2 (KKS 604e)
Fastest core : #5 (MH 1-pipe)
[Mar 31 00:03:11 UTC] Core #5 is significantly faster than the default core.
Please file a bug report along with the output of
-cpuinfo.

Compared to anything that's about as fast:
*OGR-NG*
5,051,323 nodes/sec ---> Rapture
5,218,781 nodes/sec ---> Sam440ep(AOS4.x AMCC440@667MHz)
5,569,086 nodes/sec ---> WinUAE(AOS4.x Intel i5 3570k)

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 13 January 2018 at 04:55.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 06:38   #1524
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 441
WarpOS dnetc client has no Altivec code compiled in.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 06:39   #1525
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 441
And I see someone guessed right on the card already.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 07:15   #1526
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0x View Post
If there is any way we can help with - just let us know.

Btw: I still don't get that on A1200 you can have 256MB RAM even with 68030 and 4000D is limited to 128MB on CPU card...
An Amiga with Zorro 2 has a different official memory map than a Zorro 3 Amiga. The A1200 blizzard for example puts it memory in non existent ( for an A1200) Zorro 3 space. Amiga expansion ram for a Zorro 3 machine is officially at 0x8000000 to 0x10000000 which is 128 MB. Zorro 3 starts at 0x10000000.

However, expansion.library is hardcoded to use Zorro 3 from 0x40000000 and up. So unofficially you could use this 784 MB for expansion ram.

See A3000 memory map on Google.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 10:44   #1527
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 186
I have a 3.3 volt Mediator and a stock power supply in a Sonnet 7200 - A4000D - Voodoo 3 system. It should be pretty easy to add a power connector to the Sonnet as mentioned in post #1496 of this thread. I would think this should help with the A4000D systems weak 5 volt rail.

Can someone help with the best place to connect 5 volts and ground to on the Sonnet pcb?

Last edited by Magic; 13 January 2018 at 11:30.
Magic is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 11:15   #1528
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 487
Quote:
AvP: SDL, mixed c & c++, SDL-OpenGL calls(inexistent for OS3.X) .....really not my forte.
There is SDLgl for Os3.x.
I used it in my 68k Cube and Cube 2 and Hexengl ports.
arti is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 11:27   #1529
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 8
I have A4000D with 3.3 Mediator, CS mk3, Deneb, Voodoo4 and unmodified Sonnet 7200.

PSU inside is replaced with Fortron SFX FSP300-60GHS 80PLUS BRONZE 300W so no clunky atx adaptors.

Its rockstable.
k0x is online now  
Old 13 January 2018, 11:35   #1530
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0x View Post
I have A4000D with 3.3 Mediator, CS mk3, Deneb, Voodoo4 and unmodified Sonnet 7200.

PSU inside is replaced with Fortron SFX FSP300-60GHS 80PLUS BRONZE 300W so no clunky atx adaptors.

Its rockstable.
Did you solder the A4000 connector and lead directly to the Fortron board? How did you handle the power switch situation?
Magic is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 11:43   #1531
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 355
@arti
Quote:
There is SDLgl for Os3.x.
I knew I was missing something, sorry. Of course non ppc-classic. It's Mesa related no?
Cowcat is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 12:40   #1532
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 441
Update powerpc.library on git. It needs pci.library 13+. The rapture card needs 13.1 which Elbox will provide shortly. Sonnet should still work with 13.0.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 12:46   #1533
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 877
I'm impressed by all the people who have apparently managed to work out what this new card (cards?) are, I am absolutely none the wiser!
trixster is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 12:57   #1534
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
I'm impressed by all the people who have apparently managed to work out what this new card (cards?) are, I am absolutely none the wiser!
You are not the only one, I think it may be a SAS RAID card? But only guessing?
kgc210 is online now  
Old 13 January 2018, 13:02   #1535
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 8
Btw: why Rapture name?
k0x is online now  
Old 13 January 2018, 13:04   #1536
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgc210 View Post
You are not the only one, I think it may be a SAS RAID card? But only guessing?
Well it took us some time but we figured it out based on the info you can read here. It was great challenge!

Definitely its not RAID card
k0x is online now  
Old 13 January 2018, 13:05   #1537
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Update powerpc.library on git. It needs pci.library 13+. The rapture card needs 13.1 which Elbox will provide shortly. Sonnet should still work with 13.0.
Am really glad to see support from Elbox! Thumbs up!
k0x is online now  
Old 13 January 2018, 13:12   #1538
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 441
My regards to Eric and Phil btw.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgc210 View Post
You are not the only one, I think it may be a SAS RAID card? But only guessing?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 14:13   #1539
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic View Post
Did you solder the A4000 connector and lead directly to the Fortron board? How did you handle the power switch situation?
Yes, exactly as you describe. Amiga connector and lead directly soldered (replaced) to Fotron board.

The power switch is working the same way as id used to be.

I dont know technical details because my friend - electrician did that conversion for me.

Idea came from this page https://www.thefuturewas8bit.com/ind...000psu-upgrade and from here http://www.nightfallcrew.com/15/02/2...0-psu-upgrade/

Am really happy with it. Its silent, powerful, calm, 100% compatible replacement of old PSU and no visible difference from original
k0x is online now  
Old 13 January 2018, 14:20   #1540
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 186
Thanks - those links ^^^^ answer all of my questions
Magic is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (3 members and 1 guests)
kgc210, jack-3d, k0x
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 01:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 01:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 16:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35510 seconds with 15 queries