English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2011, 14:38   #1
Djay
Registered User

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brighton / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 3,089
Question for someone that understands disk structure

I have copied Frontier from the Amiga CD32 version to the floppy version replacing both the program and the .info file

if you boot the disk it loads, then goes to an AmigaDOS prompt screen

however if i load WB from my HD and then run the program from disc it loads up fine!

why will not run from disk?

can someone please take a look at the Frontier_Test.adf what is have upped to the Zone

the start-up sequence included is from the CD32 version, the stack is set higher (although i have tried at the original floppy size), there is a setpatch command which isnt in the floppy version (which i also tried removing), although in this version i have upped i have changed it from cd0: to Frontier:

there are some great benefits to using the CD32 version:-
Password Copy Protection check removed (rather than cracked)
Navigation computer added (as per FFE)
Loads of new structures and buildings added
Loads of bug fixes
and some other small additions


i have been trying out this version of Frontier and it seems the best... i really want to get this working from floppy

i will credit anybody who can help in the release notes

http://download.abime.net/zone/Frontier_Test.zip
Djay is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 14:55   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Some Amiga games need small program to run, I'm not sure why, like in example
loader filename
s2325 is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 14:56   #3
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djay View Post
why will not run from disk?
Needs lowlevel.library and freenanim.library. I have uploaded a fixed version that will run from disk to The Zone.
StingRay is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 15:02   #4
Djay
Registered User

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brighton / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 3,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Needs lowlevel.library and freenanim.library. I have uploaded a fixed version that will run from disk to The Zone.
i love you
Djay is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 15:15   #5
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,272
Snoopdos would have been your friend for this, as it would physically tell you what the game is looking for
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 16:04   #6
Djay
Registered User

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brighton / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 3,089
thanks Galahad i will remember for futures stuff
Djay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EAB File Server structure update TCD project.EAB File Server 38 18 November 2010 06:49
Bitmap Font File Structure ant512 Coders. General 7 20 October 2007 08:33
Newbie question: how to access files on an Amiga disk using PC disk drive? Nethead New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 04 July 2003 23:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06356 seconds with 13 queries