English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2020, 18:15   #701
Yoz Montana
Registered User

Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 118
Project import

Hi Zener,

For convenience, I made different projects to see their feasibility in RedPill.
Now I would like to integrate them into one and the same project.

Is it possible to integrate the project import into another ?

Do memory sprites take up ram space?

What are the advantages of having the mirrors sprites apart from saving space on the sprite sheet?

Since I have a lot of spritesheets and animations, the offset of mirror sprite numbers causes a lot of problems in the animations and the code hence my questions above.
Given all of these issues, I think it's best that I embed the positions of the mirror sprites directly into the sprite sheet.
On the other hand, the weight of the sprites-sheets will take longer to load.

If you have another solution, let me know.

Last edited by Yoz Montana; 30 September 2020 at 20:42. Reason: More questions
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 08:56   #702
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 537
Guys...I want to make my first game on redpill. Is there a tutorial video, resources, or even chat serve where I can go to ask questions to learn how to use this great powerful tool? I want to make my first online game....backgammon online for the Amiga (with chat support).
xboxown is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 12:53   #703
Yoz Montana
Registered User

Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Guys...I want to make my first game on redpill. Is there a tutorial video, resources, or even chat serve where I can go to ask questions to learn how to use this great powerful tool? I want to make my first online game....backgammon online for the Amiga (with chat support).
You have at your disposal several demos with RedPill
The documentation : TRIGGERS
Last version : REDPILL_0_8_1
Examples and demo tutorials video : YouTube
Social network : Discords / facebook

This thread for your questions.
The best way to use RedPill is to test the features to see the possibilities.
-
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 08 October 2020, 11:29   #704
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 306
Hi Yoz,

it is not possible to integrate different projects into one, what is supported now is to import/export triggers and levels. What kind of join would you need?

Sprites take up chip memory, it doesn't matter if the flip is done by RP or by you. Amiga doesn't have hardware flip, the flip is preprocessed and uses memory. As you say many times it is better you do it in the paint program to be sure of what is happening.

The sprites are processed and cut, the time it takes to load should be the same, go for sheets with the flipped sprites. Now you have more than one spritesheet, maybe this helps you to sort out some issues.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoz Montana View Post
Hi Zener,

For convenience, I made different projects to see their feasibility in RedPill.
Now I would like to integrate them into one and the same project.

Is it possible to integrate the project import into another ?

Do memory sprites take up ram space?

What are the advantages of having the mirrors sprites apart from saving space on the sprite sheet?

Since I have a lot of spritesheets and animations, the offset of mirror sprite numbers causes a lot of problems in the animations and the code hence my questions above.
Given all of these issues, I think it's best that I embed the positions of the mirror sprites directly into the sprite sheet.
On the other hand, the weight of the sprites-sheets will take longer to load.

If you have another solution, let me know.
Zener is offline  
Old 08 October 2020, 13:22   #705
Yoz Montana
Registered User

Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 118
Hi Zener,

Thanks for your answers.

Following the problems encountered previously, i integrated the flipped sprites in the spritesheet.
And I could see that the flipped sprites are interesting for small projects with 2 or 3 sprite sheets maximum.

In each project, the objects are linked to triggers and animations.
Considering that we cannot save the animations in an external file and that we cannot integrate one project into another.
I have to redo all the animations starting from a base project and add all the objects and triggers after the other projects knowing that the respective animations have to be redone with the associated spritesheets. Which is very tedious !
An animation library management would have been appreciated as import / export triggers and levels.

In my game, I have more than 60 animations for 1 level :
[ panel animation ]
Could you add an input field to current animation ?
Could you assign frame offset (X, Y) with the arrow keys ?

[ panel Objects ]
Could you add an input field to Display offX and Display offY as you did for height and width?
Could you integrate an insert object button because we can only add and delete the last object created?
If you have 10 objects and you want to delete the number 1 or insert an object after the 1. You have to delete all the objects from 2 to 10.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zener View Post
Hi Yoz,

it is not possible to integrate different projects into one, what is supported now is to import/export triggers and levels. What kind of join would you need?

Sprites take up chip memory, it doesn't matter if the flip is done by RP or by you. Amiga doesn't have hardware flip, the flip is preprocessed and uses memory. As you say many times it is better you do it in the paint program to be sure of what is happening.

The sprites are processed and cut, the time it takes to load should be the same, go for sheets with the flipped sprites. Now you have more than one spritesheet, maybe this helps you to sort out some issues.
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 15 October 2020, 01:22   #706
Yoz Montana
Registered User

Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 118
Hi Zener,

Under WB, audio CD playback is functional but under RedPill no audio CD playback using the Play CD32 function.

Do you have an example CD audio track playback for Redpill?
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 18 October 2020, 19:27   #707
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoz Montana View Post
Hi Zener,

Under WB, audio CD playback is functional but under RedPill no audio CD playback using the Play CD32 function.

Do you have an example CD audio track playback for Redpill?
Are you using a real/emulated CD32? The play function is only meant for CD32, I don't think it will work on a regular Amiga CD IDE drive.

The usage is pretty straightfoward, just use once the Play CD32 trigger with the track number used in the CD, starting at track 1
Zener is offline  
Old 18 October 2020, 20:42   #708
Yoz Montana
Registered User

Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 118
Unhappy No CD play

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zener View Post
Are you using a real/emulated CD32? The play function is only meant for CD32, I don't think it will work on a regular Amiga CD IDE drive.

The usage is pretty straightfoward, just use once the Play CD32 trigger with the track number used in the CD, starting at track 1
I used in winUAE. Reading CDs works fine under the workbench (PlayCD : uaescsi.device Unit 0) but in RedPill no read CD.
I used [Actions] PlayCD32 1, no CD-Audio playback

Do you have a solution ?
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 15:58   #709
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoz Montana View Post
I used in winUAE. Reading CDs works fine under the workbench (PlayCD : uaescsi.device Unit 0) but in RedPill no read CD.
I used [Actions] PlayCD32 1, no CD-Audio playback

Do you have a solution ?
This is meant for CD32, in WinUAE the cd must work from CD&Hard drives -> Optical media options-> CD drive/image

The device is named cd.device in a CD32 if I remember it correctly
Zener is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 20:38   #710
Yoz Montana
Registered User

Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zener View Post
This is meant for CD32, in WinUAE the cd must work from CD&Hard drives -> Optical media options-> CD drive/image

The device is named cd.device in a CD32 if I remember it correctly

In the Workbench, CD is recognized in uaesci.device.
I tried several methods but nothing works under RedPill.

Can you make a video tutorial so that we can use the CD under RedPill ?
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 09:03   #711
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoz Montana View Post
In the Workbench, CD is recognized in uaesci.device.
I tried several methods but nothing works under RedPill.

Can you make a video tutorial so that we can use the CD under RedPill ?
I think you are emulating a cd drive connected to an Amiga 1200 for example, but you need to emulate a CD32, because the command I use if for a CD32, not for regular CDs.

You can find here how to do it: https://thecakeisaliegaming.wordpres...ulation-guide/

In Redpill, just call Play CD32 with the track number
Zener is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 13:21   #712
Yoz Montana
Registered User

Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zener View Post
I think you are emulating a cd drive connected to an Amiga 1200 for example, but you need to emulate a CD32, because the command I use if for a CD32, not for regular CDs.

You can find here how to do it: https://thecakeisaliegaming.wordpres...ulation-guide/

In Redpill, just call Play CD32 with the track number
Thank for your answer.

For several months I have been trying to get the audio CD to work on redpill.
Unfortunately it does not work under winuae.

Under Winuae:
In CD32 mode, Audio CD is not taken into account. No CD-Audio playback
However, the CD32 games are starting very well.
But in CDTV mode, Audio CD is taken into account. CD-Audio playback

Too bad not to use CD quality audio in an amiga game.

How did you go about making a CD32 game with Redpill with audio tracks?

The only possibility is to make an .iso of the game with the CD audio tracks to do my tests
Yoz Montana is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tracking a game/program's memory usage clebin Coders. General 5 01 December 2017 10:46
Amiga Demo Creator to save as ''DMS'' DerekAutista123 support.Demos 10 01 November 2016 19:27
Amiga Game Creator with Sonic?? DerekAutista123 Amiga scene 1 06 March 2016 23:32
Commodore 64 D64/D81 image creator for Amiga? Akira request.Apps 11 13 December 2012 00:27
old game review tv program gimbal Retrogaming General Discussion 10 11 July 2006 02:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10830 seconds with 16 queries