English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2007, 04:43   #1
jabsy
Yeah Hup!

jabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 340
PCMCIA Flash Memory setup???

Hello all,

Is there a limit to, or specific setup required, for flash memory cards on the amiga???

I have a couple of 8 meg cards that when fitted to a vanilla 1200 ('020, no fast mem) dont show up as anything. Do I need to mount some drivers for it, or is there a limit to their size (eg 4 megs)

I just want to know if it's worth messing around with them.

jabsy
jabsy is offline  
Old 10 March 2007, 08:51   #2
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
4MB is your limit,as the pcmcia slot is mapped just above the 4MB mem. The same problem arises with Mem Expansion cards and non-MMU accelerator cards.
dambuster is offline  
Old 10 March 2007, 09:45   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,139
Ignore dambuster he's getting confused with PCMCIA SRAM and DRAM which are configurable as FastRAM.

1) Flash cards cannot be configured as memory. They can only be configured as a hard drive.

2) PCMCIA flash cards do not show up as a hard drive without a driver.

http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/cfd

8Meg flash is pretty pathetic though as a non-bootable hard drive. That said it if you have a PCMCIA slot on your laptop makes a good medium for transferring ADF's to your Amiga to be written back to disk.

Format the card on the PC and then insert in the Amiga with the CFD driver loaded. You'll need another tool to read PC formatted cards.

http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/fat95
alexh is offline  
Old 10 March 2007, 13:19   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
and this is how we are doing CF on your amiga

EAB style!
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=25274
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 11 March 2007, 08:08   #5
jabsy
Yeah Hup!

jabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 340
Cheers lads, but I'm a tad confused. It's not a compact flash card, but a full size PCMCIA card marked as 8 megs flash memory.

I've also bought a few 44pin CF adapters for use as hard drives, but that's a different story/project...

I was thinking that this would be fast memory as opposed to a flash drive. I have a CF-PCMCIA adapter for that, planning on using it to transfer files etc.

As for Dambusters reply, if these are flash drams, then will only 4mb show up out of the 8 available, or 0mb show up purely because they are 8mb cards??

These cards came out of some old bay networks routing/switching gear we pulled during an upgrade. They sat in my shed/junkpile for the last 2 years. It only just clicked I might be able to use them as RAM. Unfortunately I can't see the original label from the cards.
jabsy is offline  
Old 11 March 2007, 10:51   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabsy
it is a full size PCMCIA card marked as 8 megs flash memory.
I know.

It is either going to work as a hard drive with the CFD driver or it is not going to work at all.

Does the Card show up any info if you start CardPrep ??

Quote:
I was thinking that this would be fast memory as opposed to a flash drive.
Nope. It has to be SRAM or DRAM to be configured as FAST RAM.

Quote:
if these are flash drams, then will only 4mb show up out of the 8 available, or 0mb show up purely because they are 8mb cards??
It wont show up at all not because of the size but because it is a flash card.

Last edited by alexh; 11 March 2007 at 10:58.
alexh is offline  
Old 11 March 2007, 11:29   #7
jabsy
Yeah Hup!

jabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 340
Cheers. It's not much cop to me then except for transferring files.

Thanks for your help. I'll whack em back on the shelf.
jabsy is offline  
Old 11 March 2007, 15:37   #8
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
whoops - sorry
dambuster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use of 4MB PCMCIA Fast Flash Memory as Fast RAM in A1200 nkarytia support.Hardware 10 16 September 2011 13:37
PCMCIA flash memory cards beatnik support.Hardware 9 23 July 2010 17:25
PCMCIA Flash memory Dave_wb support.Hardware 7 18 December 2009 10:10
PCMCIA network setup problems Bane support.Hardware 29 11 February 2008 15:58
3Com PCMCIA NIC setup in OS 3.9 using Genesis mfilos support.Hardware 3 03 November 2005 11:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09647 seconds with 15 queries