English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 June 2008, 12:38   #1
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
WinUAE 1.5.0 won't start

When I first downloaded and unzipped the 1.5.0 version it ran fine and worked as expected. Then yesterday I tried to launch it and it didn't do anything. Didn't load or show any windows.

I looked in the winuaebootlog and it has stored this information:

Quote:
DirectDraw_Start: 88760249 S=1 F=0876 C=0249 (585) (Windows can not create any more DCs, or a DC was requested for a paltte-indexed surface when the surface had no palette AND the display mode was not palette-indexed (in this case DirectDraw cannot select a proper palette into the DC))
Any ideas how I can fix this?

BTW, I also tried 1.4.6 and older versions which I also still have setup on this PC and they all start and work perfectly.
Harrison is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 June 2008, 12:42   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,654
Full log. Always.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 19:03   #3
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
OK full log is:

WinUAE 1.5.0 (2008.06.19) (5.1 Service Pack 2 [2]) 32-bit F.2701 1
(c) 1995-2001 Bernd Schmidt - Core UAE concept and implementation.
(c) 1998-2008 Toni Wilen - Win32 port, core code updates.
(c) 1996-2001 Brian King - Win32 port, Picasso96 RTG, and GUI.
(c) 1996-1999 Mathias Ortmann - Win32 port and bsdsocket support.
(c) 2000-2001 Bernd Meyer - JIT engine.
(c) 2000-2005 Bernd Roesch - MIDI input, many fixes.
Press F12 to show the Settings Dialog (GUI), Alt-F4 to quit.
End+F1 changes floppy 0, End+F2 changes floppy 1, etc.
EXE: 'F:\Emulation\Amiga\WinUAE1500\', DATA: 'F:\Emulation\Amiga\WinUAE1500\'
params:
CLOCKFREQ: QPF 3.58MHz (3.58MHz, DIV=1)
DirectDraw_Start: 88760249 S=1 F=0876 C=0249 (585) (Windows can not create any more DCs, or a DC was requested for a paltte-indexed surface when the surface had no palette AND the display mode was not palette-indexed (in this case DirectDraw cannot select a proper palette into the DC))
Harrison is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 21:14   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,654
Weird error. (I needed the whole log because that error can happen at least twice during bootlog writing)

Does 1.5.1b2 do the same?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 June 2008, 02:22   #5
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
I just tried the latest beta and it runs perfectly well. It is only the 1.5.0 release that is refusing it start. I tried deleting the whole of the 1.5.0 directory and then created a new one from the original zip download, but it still refuses to start and still has exactly the same in the error log.

Not sure what could be causing it. I've not changed anything on the system. It has exactly the same graphics card drivers, all other hardware drivers, no new software has been installed etc...
Harrison is offline  
Old 28 June 2008, 12:15   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,654
There was directdraw/3d handle leak in 1.5 that probably caused this problem. Must be some card/driver specific "feature" because this is the only report so far.

What card and driver version?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 July 2008, 04:36   #7
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
Graphics card is an nVidia 7800 GT 256MB, with driver version 6.14.11.6921.
Harrison is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winuae won't start anymore/crashes jamotide support.WinUAE 6 30 June 2012 23:18
CD 32 - Won't start any games HRMeinert support.Hardware 9 07 November 2009 22:53
a600 won't start - little help? d8thstar support.Hardware 34 14 October 2008 01:03
Whdload games won't start AMIGAZ project.ClassicWB 2 12 March 2006 19:23
Won't start Steve C support.WinUAE 2 06 June 2004 13:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20790 seconds with 12 queries