English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 February 2016, 09:50   #1
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 81
Question old Joystick not detected?

Hello Folks,

I got my Hand on an old Competition Pro Stick for the PC, the one with that 15pin-DSUB-Connector. I plugged it in that Yellow OnBoard-Connector but it is not detected on the Gameports-Panel.

Am i missing something or is it unsupported?

TIA
Sigma63
sigma63 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 February 2016, 11:37   #2
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Hello there,

Joysticks other than USB are not supported in Windows anymore since Windows 7:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ame-controller

If you really want to use it, you can buy something like this, which comes with a driver (only lists up to Win7, but it should also work with 8.1 and 10):
http://www.amazon.co.uk/USB-Pin-Joys.../dp/B002JV6JPS

And that will make it work
jbenam is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 11:50   #3
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 81
OK, my fault: too little Information

My System is running WinXP, so it should work (i think)

Thank you for your answer.

Anybody else have some more Info for me?
sigma63 is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 12:03   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Does it appear in Windows joystick control panel? No application can detect it if it isn't detected by Windows.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 February 2016, 12:07   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,380
Also, the game port needs to be enabled in BIOS and you might need to install a driver for it - perhaps part of the motherboard chipset or audio drivers.
demolition is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 12:11   #6
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 81
OK, Thank you all.

Unfortunately i have no access to my System at this Time. I'll try it later...
sigma63 is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 23:28   #7
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
Prob... needs a driver...

My Logic 3 (JT265) PC Sprint Pad defo... does.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 25 February 2016, 10:30   #8
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does it appear in Windows joystick control panel? No application can detect it if it isn't detected by Windows.
OK, you were right (as usual ) - it did not.

Now, after adding a "2-Axis 2-Button (Gameport)"-Joystick, it appears on WinUAE-GamePorts-Panel and i can use it. Very Nice!

BUT, if i start WinUAE with parameter -log, i get tons of "RAWHID: unknown Input Handler"-Messages pulling down the Emulationspeed seriously.

I newer saw this Message before. Is there something other i have to configure? Shall i create and append the logfiles?

Sigma63
sigma63 is offline  
Old 25 February 2016, 11:33   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Attach winuaebootlog.txt, thanks. That message only appears when inactive hid device returns events, perhaps Windows creates some kind of fake hid device for non-usb joysticks or something. It is debugging message that was not disabled.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 February 2016, 16:35   #10
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Attach winuaebootlog.txt, thanks.
OK, here it is!
Attached Files
File Type: zip winuaebootlog.zip (4.6 KB, 31 views)
sigma63 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error in game VBR detected... franeti project.WHDLoad 1 23 April 2015 00:43
ACA1232 only 1Mb detected scam3r support.Hardware 3 27 December 2012 02:20
A502/16 Clock not being detected? quantum112 support.Hardware 10 07 June 2009 22:12
Winuae 1.5.1 - Crash Detected illy5603 support.WinUAE 17 17 August 2008 03:25
Why aren't disk swaps detected? sanitystream support.WinUAE 6 02 October 2006 15:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14664 seconds with 15 queries