English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 June 2011, 03:59   #1
Ze Emulatron
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Invercargill, New Zealand
Posts: 176
Workbench Version command and startup-sequence

I have written a game in AmigaBASIC and have compiled it and it likes to crash when quitting on kickstart 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3 when the disk has been booted. When the game is started from workbench with kickstart 1.1, 1.2 or 1.3 it quits fine.

Can I use the Version command from the workbench disk in the startup-sequence to check if the kickstart version is equal to or higher than kickstart 2 ?
If it is run the game, otherwise it will have a message that says you need to run the game from workbench.

I looked in the Amiga Enhancer Software manual for syntax for the version command but it wasn't entirely helpful.
Ze Emulatron is offline  
Old 27 June 2011, 14:47   #2
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,193
Could be that it needs more stack space. If you show the program's icon information in Workbench, what does it say under stack space? What happens if you start the Amiga Shell under WB 1.3 and run the game from there, and what happens if you run "stack 8192" before?

Does it run fine from CLI/Shell under Kick 2.0? Beginning with Kick 2.0, a program run from the CLI/Shell is given 8K stack space, but prior to that it was only 4K.

EDIT: There's also WBRun which lets you run program as if it was started from the Workbench.

Last edited by Leffmann; 27 June 2011 at 14:59.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 27 June 2011, 15:16   #3
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
If that doesnt work http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=713984&postcount=3
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 27 June 2011, 17:19   #4
Ze Emulatron
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Invercargill, New Zealand
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
Could be that it needs more stack space. If you show the program's icon information in Workbench, what does it say under stack space? What happens if you start the Amiga Shell under WB 1.3 and run the game from there, and what happens if you run "stack 8192" before?
Thanks I added 'stack 8192' to the startup sequence and that fixed it, no more crashing on quitting.

According to Workbench 1.3 with Kickstart 2.0 the stack of the new version of the game is 6000 and something, strange the old version that worked had a stack of 5000 and something.

@ Boo Boo
I saw that thread but since the disk was supposed to be bootable without any other software it couldn't check for a graphics library version, I don't know what to replace the 'graphics.library' with to find Kickstart, 'kickstart', 'kickstart.rom', 'kick', 'kick.rom','kickstart.device', 'kick.device' didn't work. It program already worked fine running from the icon in workbench using kickstart 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3. But I don't need to worry about it now as it is working with 'stack 8192' added to the startup-sequence.

Last edited by Ze Emulatron; 27 June 2011 at 17:29.
Ze Emulatron is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ed s:startup-sequence Astrofra Member Introductions 2 24 February 2013 23:09
startup-sequence mai support.Other 10 01 June 2010 22:39
Startup-Sequence blade002 support.Apps 8 04 April 2008 20:06
startup-sequence locked glwxxx support.WinUAE 10 18 July 2006 19:25
Need help with startup-sequence lopos2000 support.Apps 5 01 August 2005 12:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06129 seconds with 15 queries