English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2018, 12:19   #1
thyslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Dresden / Germany
Posts: 14
Amiga window refreshing question

Hi Amiga coders!

I've run into the following situation. My program has two windows:
- A GadTools window containing some buttons etc
- A TextWindow that displays text using Intuition functions

Both windows are of type SimpleRefresh.

Now the problem: The GadTools window can open an ASL request. If the user moves the ASL request over the windows the following happens:

1) The part of the GadTools window that was overlapped by the request is refreshed automatically. I don't understand why, because my GT_BeginRefresh / GT_EndRefresh are not done yet, because the request is open and blocks the program so that the refresh messages can't be received while the request is open.

2) The part of the TextWindow which was overlapped by the request is damaged as long as the request is open. This doesn’t look nice.

How is problem 2) usually avoided in Amiga programs? Would the only solution be to use a SmartRefresh window for the TextWindow?
thyslo is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 09:57   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by thyslo View Post
1) The part of the GadTools window that was overlapped by the request is refreshed automatically. I don't understand why, because my GT_BeginRefresh / GT_EndRefresh are not done yet, because the request is open and blocks the program so that the refresh messages can't be received while the request is open.
Intuition automatically refreshes all known elements. That is the window borders and gadgets linked to the Window->FirstGadget list.


Quote:
How is problem 2) usually avoided in Amiga programs?
There are several methods:

- make the window SMART_REFRESH.
- use ASLFR_Window and ASLFR_IntuiMsgFunc to keep your window alive.
- instead of drawing yourself attach all the text to a gadget and let Intuition do the refreshing.
- place the windows and requester so that the user does not need to move it around.
thomas is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 10:47   #3
thyslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Dresden / Germany
Posts: 14
Thank you, Thomas, that clears it!

So I'll look into the methods you mentioned an look, what fits best to the program. At first look it seems compelling to simply use a SMART_REFRESH window:-)
thyslo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refreshing my Picasso IV memory! dirkies support.Hardware 13 07 August 2015 18:53
Snapshot Amiga Shell window? TenLeftFingers support.Apps 3 15 June 2015 17:38
Amiga 1200...board revisions question / wire link modification question voyager_1701e support.Hardware 3 20 February 2014 13:32
question about a glitch in window mode sink support.WinUAE 5 15 December 2009 21:54
Amiga exact screenshots regardless of Window/Screen Size P-J request.UAE Wishlist 22 07 May 2008 11:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10759 seconds with 15 queries