English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2013, 09:18   #61
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
i would deffinitly try the lid switch.
roy bates is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 June 2013, 21:22   #62
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
The LED does not come on at all.
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 27 June 2013, 01:37   #63
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 656
Ok, I have some news which is probably bad for you because
the lid switch arrangement is extremely reliable in this case:
Quote:
Hello XXXX,

The CD32 uses a slotted opto coupler arrangement to detect the lid is
closed, and spin up the motor.
There is a slot on the right hand side of the drive lid, this blocks the
infra red light and starts the drive.
If the slot/lug is broken, the drive will not work.

Using a digital camera, shine it at the slot, see if a bright light is
visible?
Digital cameras can detect infra red. I have an example of this here:
http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am...se_repair.html

Does the drive even spin up when the lid is closed?

Bye,

Ian
So the console being apparently new, I doubt the plastic tab is broken.

Kinda sux for me too man, I really felt your excitement with getting a new CD32
xArtx is offline  
Old 27 June 2013, 03:54   #64
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
Ok, I have some news which is probably bad for you because
the lid switch arrangement is extremely reliable in this case:


So the console being apparently new, I doubt the plastic tab is broken.

Kinda sux for me too man, I really felt your excitement with getting a new CD32
These kind words relieve me of my frustration. Many thanks for your support. I have forgiven this evil and dishonest man, but I am sure he will pay in one form or other in life.
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 27 June 2013, 04:26   #65
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 656
I suppose he has a pretty bad eBay review coming his way.

At least you could get another one in relatively poor condition,
and you have a new case and CD drive (at least some bright side).
I don't think the CD drive is broken, it's really just a couple of motors and a laser.
The CD drive's controller is on the CD32 board, and probably has blown on-board fuses.
Probably could be fixed, but it's a bit much to go into over a forum like this.

I'm looking out for one too but I'm a bit too poor at the moment.
xArtx is offline  
Old 27 June 2013, 07:18   #66
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
Here are images of my opened CD32:








I really don't know why the drive does not work. I have unplued the cables and turned the system on, I even took the CD drive completely out (even removed the data cable), and the CD32 turned on, but it did not complain about lack of optical drive. I did not see any sign of tampering, looked pristine and brand new. I am baffled as to why a brand new system should not work!

It is the motor that is dead I think. I don't see any faint light coming out from the lens also. If I could properly diagnose it, I wouldn't mind spending more and obtaining the right parts to fix it, it screams to be brought back to life!




More image:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/90510403@N03/
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 27 June 2013, 10:08   #67
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
have you got a multimeter?
you may of checked this already,are you sure its getting the 12 volts in the machine?
most of the electronics in the amigas is 5 volts, motors etc usaully run on 12 volts so im wondering if its actaully getting it on the machine end.
roy bates is offline  
Old 28 June 2013, 03:10   #68
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
Well, I don't and I suspected that as well, thinking that it is not getting enough power through the line that I made, which is getting its power from my 300W PC PSU. So, I used a step-up converter (transformer) and used its genuine 220V brick: still the same thing, no CD drive movement.
c0dehunter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NTSC games on PAL CD32... PowerPie5000 support.Games 5 25 July 2012 17:09
Pal CD32, trying to use on an NTSC tv Cooljerk New to Emulation or Amiga scene 15 27 August 2011 19:30
CD32 PAL or NTSC games cane support.Games 3 16 August 2007 09:06
PAL CD32 on an NTSC 1084S... Ze_ro support.Hardware 12 20 May 2006 10:03
NTSC CD32 and PAL games Fred the Fop support.Hardware 5 25 March 2005 04:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06651 seconds with 13 queries