English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 May 2013, 12:32   #1
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
Question about monitor 1084S-p1

Hi. Just picked up one of thse monitors for free but it dosent have the cable to connect it from the amiga to the monitor (maybe an rgb cable, dont know).

Here's my questions:

1: Can i connect my c64 to this monitor as well as my Amiga500?
2: What are the best cables out there to do this. Dosent have to be genuine vinatage stuff. if its on ebay and does the trick thats all i need.


thanks in advance

tony
trydowave is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 12:54   #2
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,736
An Amiga RGB cable:
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=925

A C64 Composite cable:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore-...item257da8ad3e

I think they should both fit your monitor.

Edit: I don't know why I couldn't find the C64 cable on amigakit.eu, but apparently they list it on Ebay.
demolition is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 13:08   #3
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
the c64 never had anything better than composite?
i hear theres an svideo cable. maybe the picture would be better svideo to tv rather than composite to monitor.

ill check out the amiga cable.

cheers
trydowave is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 13:12   #4
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,736
C64 can do S-Video which will improve the picture a lot, but it requires some modifications to the C64. Here's a guide:
http://amazingdiy.wordpress.com/2013...4-s-video-mod/
demolition is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 10:46   #5
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
C64 can do S-Video which will improve the picture a lot, but it requires some modifications to the C64.
All C64 with 8 pin video port already output S-Video. The 1084 should support this via 3 RCA connectors (known as LCA - Luma, Chroma, Audio).
Hewitson is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 10:52   #6
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,736
Does any specific C64 models have an 8-pin video output connector? I don't think my C64-C has one.
demolition is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 10:55   #7
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Does any specific C64 models have an 8-pin video output connector? I don't think my C64-C has one.

both my c64c's have a 8 pin connector on the back.
roy bates is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 10:58   #8
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,736
Maybe I just need to take another look then.
demolition is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 11:16   #9
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Does any specific C64 models have an 8-pin video output connector? I don't think my C64-C has one.
If your 64C still has its original board then it will definitely have one. The 5 pin video ports are uncommon and only found on very early machines.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 12:41   #10
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
All C64 with 8 pin video port already output S-Video. The 1084 should support this via 3 RCA connectors (known as LCA - Luma, Chroma, Audio).
any chance you can recommend a cable? or is it the same as the link above?

i have 3 C64Cs and 1 C64 breadbin. I hope the latter has the right ports so i can get the best possible picture. Even through scart the odler c64 is less vivid and more noisy.

cheers
tony
trydowave is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 13:05   #11
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
ebay lists a combo svideo lead - s-video and composite output in one cable solution.
emufan is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 13:22   #12
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
ebay lists a combo svideo lead - s-video and composite output in one cable solution.
unfortunately the monitor only has composite and rgb connectors, so my tv will (with its svideo) will output a better picture. i wonder if an s-video to rgb adapter exists?
trydowave is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 13:24   #13
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by trydowave View Post
unfortunately the monitor only has composite and rgb connectors, so my tv will (with its svideo) will output a better picture. i wonder if an s-video to rgb adapter exists?

you see the yellow,red and white connectors?,they will plug straight into the monitor,you wont notice any difference in quality on a 1084s on such a small display i have one
roy bates is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 17:53   #14
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by trydowave View Post
unfortunately the monitor only has composite and rgb connectors, so my tv will (with its svideo) will output a better picture. i wonder if an s-video to rgb adapter exists?
I think you'll find the monitor does have an LCA input. If you have a nice CRT TV, it will of course output a better (and larger) picture than an old Commodore monitor.

Amigakit & Vesalia should both sell good quality cables. I would avoid the "combo" composite/s-video cables, they often output a dodgy picture in my experience.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 06 July 2013, 02:33   #15
cicobuff
 
Posts: n/a
Surprised this question has not been answered properly.

The 1084S has seperate luma and chroma inputs for an 8 pin din from the C64 video socket...for this you would need the to buy a lead from Retro Computer Shack on Ebay for £9.99, and that would be the best quality output you can get from the C64.

Set the switch on the back of the 1084S to LCA (Luma, Chroma, Audio) plug the black lead (chroma) into the red marked C, plug the yellow lead (luma) into the yellow marked CVBS/L, and then the two audio plugs into the white and red audio plug inputs on the back of the 1084S.



 
Old 06 July 2013, 02:44   #16
cicobuff
 
Posts: n/a
As for the Amiga side of things you will need a 23 Pin D Sub from the Video output of the Amiga to the 8 pin DIN on the rear of the 1084S marked TTL RGB, Vesalia sell these out of stock currently though.

Obviously the audio side of things you can just use a standard 2 phono to 2 phono lead from your Amiga 500 audio output RCA sockets to the L/R audio sockets on the rear of your 1084S...or to any externally amplified speakers.

 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NTSC CD32 and a 1084s monitor question pdorr3 support.Hardware 3 04 August 2013 16:14
My New A500 and 1084s Monitor Peter Hardware pics 3 17 February 2010 23:25
1084s monitor problem :( extralife support.Hardware 40 05 May 2009 11:02
1084s monitor problem aas5151 support.Hardware 1 03 July 2006 18:03
1084S monitor problem Jan support.Hardware 17 13 May 2003 09:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08346 seconds with 15 queries