English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 January 2019, 21:13   #1
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 94
ex windows user

Hi all, ive been trying to come of windows 10 for a while, the main thing keeping me on it was WinUAE. I thought i had a version that would run on linux on the amiga forever dvd but i cant find it. Then someone pointed me in the direction if fsuae. Is this the best emulator for linux or am i better off running winuae in wine? I use it primarily to create bootable cf cards/hdds to use in my amiga 1200.


Thanks in advance.
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 21 January 2019, 21:36   #2
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,032
Run the version that you’re most comfortable with. Try them all then make the choice that’s right for you.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 24 January 2019, 19:37   #3
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 94
So winuae running in wine is fully functional? ie you can set up hard drives connected via ide, play/test games etc etc? Do I install winuae if I'm using wine?
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 24 January 2019, 19:54   #4
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,032
Perhaps Toni is a better person to ask that question to. I use WinUAE on a dedicated Windows based TriCaster that runs Windows 7.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 24 January 2019, 22:09   #5
R4M
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: /home
Posts: 15
For gaming fs-uae should be sufficient. WinUAE can easily be installed using playonlinux (which should be included in your linux distribution). You could also buy AmiKit (http://amikit.amiga.sk/), which also installes WinUAE on linux.



I have not tried to directly connect harddrives. Hdf images and mounting the linux filesystem work.



As far as i know, you should be able to mount an amiga formatted harddisk on linux. Then you could mount it in WinUAE via the linux filesystem... probably not optimal, since the permissions are not compatible.
R4M is offline  
Old 24 January 2019, 23:02   #6
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,786
Using FS-UAE to prepare drives is quite simple. Identify the /dev/ device for your disk and add that as an RDB hardfile in the FS-UAE configuration.
idrougge is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 13:00   #7
gryf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 31
I've been using both - FS-UAE natively and WinUAE under wine in linux, although for connecting/preparing cf cards or hard drives, I've been using exclusively FS-UAE - it just a matter of pointing out right device in the configuration. You can also access FFS formatted drives under linux.
gryf is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 23:55   #8
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by gryf View Post
I've been using both - FS-UAE natively and WinUAE under wine in linux, although for connecting/preparing cf cards or hard drives, I've been using exclusively FS-UAE - it just a matter of pointing out right device in the configuration. You can also access FFS formatted drives under linux.

I'm gonna buy fs-uae and give it a try, Amiga forever 8 is out which is €40 so I might as well try it out, I'm no worse off.
Cheers
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 30 January 2019, 01:12   #9
Devlin
Bane of Magic

Devlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bradford, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 285
FS-UAE is free. no purchase required.

I'll second it for Linux. It's good, fast and is good for gaming, can't say about winuae under wine though, wine causes headaches (the real/good stuff does too)
Devlin is offline  
Old 30 January 2019, 01:34   #10
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devlin View Post
FS-UAE is free. no purchase required.

I'll second it for Linux. It's good, fast and is good for gaming, can't say about winuae under wine though, wine causes headaches (the real/good stuff does too)

I didn't know it was free, on it!
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 20:59   #11
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 805
One of the biggest differences between FS-UAE and WinUAE is that WinUAE can capture video natively, while you'd have to use separate software to achieve the same thing with FS-UAE. Worth keeping in mind if you intend to record gameplay footage. All the video capture software I tried with FS-UAE whether under Windows or Linux failed miserably when in full screen mode, but can cope with recording gameplay in a window.
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 21:51   #12
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devlin View Post
FS-UAE is free. no purchase required.

I'll second it for Linux. It's good, fast and is good for gaming, can't say about winuae under wine though, wine causes headaches (the real/good stuff does too)
It is good, OK, but fast - not as fast as WinUAE. On the same computer WinUAE will always outperform FS-UAE. This is most visible on old hardware, where WinUAE will work fine, while FS-UAE will mostly first have sound issues due to speed and requirements.

At least, this is my experience with both.
Anubis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New user! Turrican_3 Member Introductions 4 17 July 2017 12:22
Another new user rewoffl Member Introductions 1 30 August 2012 17:55
New user digger909 Member Introductions 10 08 June 2009 20:33
New user needs help. stemachine support.WinFellow 4 20 February 2007 20:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07665 seconds with 13 queries