English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Tutorials

Old 21 January 2013, 10:54   #1
Shoonay
Global Caturator

Floppy disk Help with BlitzBasic2 first steps

Hi, I'm Shoonay and I've never programmed anything before, so just for the heck of it found them pdf tut's on Vairn's site here on EAB, read the AF_Blitz2_Tutorial4.pdf file and decided to try it.

Just typed-in the BlitzOut souce code and it no work. Why it no work?

I think I've done everything right, used DPaint to quick draw those files needed, used Shapes to convert them to sprites, and I *think* I've "manually xeroxed" the whole source code right, but it still says there's a Syntax Error and points at the very first Statement.

Help?

PS: This is why I've never programmed anything even if I tried to step in many times with many different tutorials for many different languages, there's always that silly first try problem I don't know how to solve... it's a course I tell ya!
Old 21 January 2013, 11:03   #2
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee

I don't know Blitz, but if it complains about the very first line, try to write the variables each in one line (not two in one line). In your example:
Code:
bx=16
by=96
bdx=4
bdy=2
Old 21 January 2013, 11:07   #3
Shoonay
Global Caturator

Nono, not the very first line, the Statement, in my case it points to Statement PrepareScreen() and that's it, I've no single clue how to interpret it.
I tried copying the files to RAM: and changing the paths because that's the only difference in my case from the original tutorial, but it still says "Syntax Error".
Old 21 January 2013, 11:15   #4
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee

I think I found the problem http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=44415
The brackets should be {} not ()
Old 21 January 2013, 11:20   #5
Shoonay
Global Caturator

LOL!

Damn those low quality scans!

Thanks.
Old 21 January 2013, 11:40   #6
Shoonay
Global Caturator

Great, a second later: another problem.