English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 January 2009, 19:58   #1
Eliotg
Banned
Eliotg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Motherearth
Posts: 41
reading amiga floppys using only 1 drive on winuae

Hi,

maybe it's possible read amiga disks on winuae using only 1 floppy drive without a catweasel

Disk2FDI (registered version )can read amiga floppys using only 1 drive and a simple cable that anybody can build

http://disk2fdi.joguin.com/D2FCABLE.htm

maybe it's possible insert disk2fdi alogaritm or a similar one on winuae
IM wrong?
Eliotg is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 January 2009, 00:41   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,262
Hi Eliotg,

Similar questions have been asked here before.

Have a look at this post by alexh:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=460897&postcount=7

And read this old thread, which has contributions both from Toni Wilen (author of WinUAE) and ApH aka Vincent Joguin (author of Disk2FDI):
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=21427
prowler is offline  
Old 31 January 2009, 14:47   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,776
Quick answer: that method needs very strict timing, it can't work in multitasking operating systems.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 January 2009, 15:13   #4
Eliotg
Banned
Eliotg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Motherearth
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Quick answer: that method needs very strict timing, it can't work in multitasking operating systems.
thanks for the reply
now a few silly questions:
is the catweasel MK4 full supported on winuae?
can I play on winuae using my old disks and the catweasel?
can winuae write amiga disks using the catweasel?

where I can purchase one? are still in production?
Eliotg is offline  
Old 31 January 2009, 15:42   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,542
Quote:
can I play on winuae using my old disks and the catweasel?
No. You can only read and write image files (ADFs). And only unprotected disks, no copy protection. Once you created and ADF file from your game disk (if possible) you can use this with WinUAE.


Quote:
can winuae write amiga disks using the catweasel?
No. But with the Catweasel software, you can write ADFs to Amiga disks. Again only 880k ADFs without copy protection.


Quote:
where I can purchase one?
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=842
thomas is offline  
Old 31 January 2009, 17:54   #6
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliotg View Post
is the catweasel MK4 full supported on winuae?
probably not, Tony said he has no interest in the Catweasel.
Arnie is offline  
Old 31 January 2009, 17:55   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,776
MK4 does not support realtime streaming. It simply can't do it. (without firmware update but it has been years since last update..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 February 2009, 07:56   #8
Eliotg
Banned
Eliotg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Motherearth
Posts: 41
thomas...

thanks for the information....but the catweasel is so expensive for me only to rip floppys...I prefer disk2fdi registered version instead....the package is cheaper and it seems can rip some originals disks I have
I though the catweasel can work with winuae
Eliotg is offline  
Old 01 February 2009, 08:08   #9
Eliotg
Banned
Eliotg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Motherearth
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
MK4 does not support realtime streaming. It simply can't do it. (without firmware update but it has been years since last update..)
ok I understand...catweasel not support realtime streaming so you can't do anything

I got another silly question,sorry

are you working on a usb floppy controller to make real floppy disk works with winuae?
Eliotg is offline  
Old 01 February 2009, 18:16   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliotg View Post
are you working on a usb floppy controller to make real floppy disk works with winuae?
This will be supported someday: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=40959

Standard USB floppy drives are hardwired to PC format.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reading 1.44m pc disks on Amiga 1.76m drive ancalimon support.Apps 8 03 December 2011 05:44
Noisy floppy drive or drive not reading properly HD disks? Old Fool support.Hardware 4 07 June 2010 16:09
Reading adf's from floppydrive in WinUAE LesterChaykin support.WinUAE 105 26 April 2010 11:07
Problem reading old amiga hd drive. ahamay New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 08 May 2006 13:55
I need to recover stuff from old Amiga floppys... zardoz New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 01 November 2004 22:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18242 seconds with 12 queries