English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2014, 05:57   #1
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
How do you switch PAL<>NTSC on A600 (both mouse buttons not working)

Hi all, I see at http://goo.gl/zUmkBU that holding down both mouse buttons on the Amiga 600 will give you a menu when you can switch between NTSC and PAL by pressing any key. It also gives you a Display Options page.

However I don't see the same boot menu as those examples have given when I hold down both mouse buttons on my UK A600 (being used in the USA). Instead mine has a heading:

Boot menu
Page 1 f 1
Select Boot Partition
[DF0 ]
[CC0 ]

[CANCEL] [Advanced Options...]

That's it. Nothing in advanced options of interest for switching display mode either.

Pressing any key does nothing.

Any ideas? Could this boot menu be to do with the HxC Slim?

Anyway, basically how do I switch from PAL to NTSC?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 21 April 2014, 09:06   #2
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,164
I believe the PAL/NTSC switch in the early startup menu is a Kickstart 3.x function, but A600s came with Kickstart 2.x as stock.

If you read that thread you linked to further, rkauer has listed what you need to do on the motherboard to convert it.
ajk is offline  
Old 22 April 2014, 16:16   #3
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 772
Also you can use one of the degraders available on Aminet to change the video mode and reboot the machine in that mode, without having to modify any hardware.
alenppc is online now  
Old 23 April 2014, 01:11   #4
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,333
http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=23032
palboot on that disk might do what you need..
(Haven't used it, but the name sounds about right..)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 23 April 2014, 01:16   #5
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
Thanks guys. Turns out my USA TV doesn't mind the PAL Amiga through the SCART > HDMI converter I have set up.

Is there any other general benefit to getting Kickstart 3.0 if I only want to run classic Amiga games?

Last edited by Starglider 2; 23 April 2014 at 02:59.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 23 April 2014, 01:26   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Don't confuse Workbench 3.0 with Kickstart 3.0.
The early startup PAL/NTSC feature is in KICKSTART 3.0, the ROM, not on Workbench.

As a general rule, most software runs on PAL machines, so you want PAL, rarely ever NTSC.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 April 2014, 02:59   #7
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
Thanks but I said Kickstart 3.0 not Workbench 3.0.

Just kidding Just edited my post. Same question, but I meant KS3...
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 23 April 2014, 05:18   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
As a general rule, most software runs on PAL machines, so you want PAL, rarely ever NTSC.
I don't know that I'd agree with that. There's a HUGE amount of games designed for NTSC systems that benefit from being run in 60hz.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 23 April 2014, 07:05   #9
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,164
The majority of games are happy with Kickstart 1.3 and you may even run into compatibility problems with a later version with some older games. However, if your setup is expanded enough (some extra RAM, hard drive) so that you can use WHDLoad, it's worthwhile to do so. WHDLoad even has a PAL/NTSC setting on a per-game basis.
ajk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1000 kickstart (pal/ntsc switch) frank_b support.Hardware 20 17 November 2015 17:27
CD32 - Is NTSC/PAL switch and 50/60 switch possible? missyrelm Hardware mods 70 18 April 2013 08:31
PAL & NTSC Via Holding Down Mouse Buttons crazyegg support.Hardware 12 13 April 2010 21:58
converting pal a600 to NTSC A600 kipper2k support.Hardware 7 18 October 2006 11:06
A1200 PAL/NTSC Hardware switch Unregistered support.Hardware 2 21 June 2004 19:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.75005 seconds with 15 queries