English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 September 2009, 20:41   #1
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
A few questions

Sorry if I start randomly typing in capitals, my keyboard has been messing up recently and TAKES Much hammering of shifT TO SORT Out, sO I Just won't bother (hope that's OK).


1) What exactly are the limitations of the LITE edition? Like, what is missing that is in the normal edition? I have no FastRAM, but I want to see what I will be missing.

2) What, exactly, do you need to install it? The instructions are quite poor for this, I have to say (though I am used to things like that). Would a dd command in Linux suffice? Or would I need something more than that? Do I need workbench 3.X DISKS? Or just images? Or nothing at all?



Thanks a lot!
Muzer is offline  
Old 11 September 2009, 23:09   #2
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
I've finally figured it out. However, when I try to install it, when it's reading from the (virtual) disk, it gives loads of cheCKSUM ERRORs, and doesn't copy a single file. Am I missing something?

md5sum of workbench ADFs:

6a9d2d6bdcef35523572b4dddf1fd784 Workbench310.adf
86c1bbfc9abc55762a69570e207509ad Workbench310Extras.adf
49fc786cffd18544b76d72059c9fd9e1 Workbench310Fonts.adf
87d85b40d0dc408a7c800a2085a62bd3 Workbench310Install.adf
f4874c52ce56fd0bd9133b1540a2c892 Workbench310Locale.adf
1f13edb7c85204e687a7c263806af9fd Workbench310Storage.adf


The one that is inserted at the time is Workbench310.adf


(Oh, and I did buy Amiga Forever ages back, but the HDD with it on died (grr...), that being the only thing of worth on it, so I've had to acquire it using *ahem* other means, so that could be the cause of the problem)





EDIT: It actually seems to be checksum errors in the HDD file itself. Have I got the geometry wrong? What should it be set to?



EDIT2: I seem to have resolved it by mounting it in Linux then virtually mounting the FS rather than the image itself. Now hopefully when I unmount the filesystem in Linux the image will have the changes, I believe the affs driver has R/W support. I can't wait till I can dd this image!

Last edited by Muzer; 11 September 2009 at 23:22.
Muzer is offline  
Old 12 September 2009, 12:48   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
LOL! . That keyboard would have been thrown out the window by now if it were me, but you're obviously a patient person using Linux.

The instructions are quite poor for Mac, UAE and Linux users I admit and are aimed more towards WinUAE. They do however clearly state what you require (Workbench 3.0/1 disk/adf, 3.0/1 ROMS) but are not very newbie friendly.

The thing is, I'm more interested in just working on the packs than writing instructions for different operating systems and emulators.

Hopefully someone with better Linux and UAE knowledge can help if you are still having issues. Or just use AmigaSYS or Amikit:

http://amigasys.extra.hu/
http://amikit.amiga.sk/amikit-cd.htm

They probably have better Linux support and instructions.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 12 September 2009, 12:55   #4
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
As I said, I believe I've managed it

I've found out I really need to get more RAM for my Amiga - no games want to run from the workbench if I just set 2MB chipram with nothing else in the emulator (I still haven't received my laptop IDE --> PC IDE adaptor yet).


What I am most glad about is that I'll FINALLY be able to play Worms: DC on a real Amiga!



Oh, and is there something I need to download to open IPF disks in workbench? They all appear as DF0:CAPS and I can't double-click them.
Muzer is offline  
Old 12 September 2009, 12:57   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
Oh, and is there something I need to download to open IPF disks in workbench? They all appear as DF0:CAPS and I can't double-click them.
You need the IPF support library : http://www.softpres.org/download
Place it in your WinUAE folder (CAPSImg.dll that is).

Edit : Or the Linux version, which I have no idea how to use

Last edited by TCD; 12 September 2009 at 13:14.
TCD is offline  
Old 12 September 2009, 13:05   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
As I said, I believe I've managed it
Nice one, I thought you'd sorted it out but posted anyway just to show I wasn't ignoring you!

Worms DC is an awesome game. So many good memories playing that with friends!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 12 September 2009, 13:17   #7
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
The closest I've got so far IS PLAYInG it on AN Emulator (just nOt tHe SAMe), and playing it on an Amiga with a broken mouse port (ie, not really playing it at all, just staring longingly at the main menu ;p)

I've installed the liBRARy (by putting it in /usr/lib) and configured it (with ldconfig) _ UAE ISN't picking it up. Maybe I need E-UAE? I'll try that.
Muzer is offline  
Old 12 September 2009, 13:20   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
Maybe I need E-UAE? I'll try that.
Seems like you need E-UAE for that : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=12866
TCD is offline  
Old 12 September 2009, 13:45   #9
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Hmm, I've trIED IT AND IT STILL WON't wORK>

I could try compiling it from source; it might need to be linked in.
Muzer is offline  
Old 12 September 2009, 14:04   #10
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
That did it
Muzer is offline  
Old 12 September 2009, 14:14   #11
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Did you know that it's fully legal to download any of Team17's old Amiga games, even if you don't own them, as long as you do it from http://www.dream17.co.uk/ ? (Team17 gave Dream17 permission to host IPF and cracked ADF images of all their Amiga games, and many CD32 games).

Just in case any of you, like me, like Team17 but don't want to illegally download their games.
Muzer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions... Jeeva Amiga scene 5 04 April 2008 23:45
C/C++ questions pmc Coders. General 26 22 May 2007 03:22
Three Little Questions. mindjoker support.Hardware 2 16 March 2003 03:38
Two questions Drakon request.Old Rare Games 7 19 November 2002 19:33
A few questions! One1 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 30 October 2002 17:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08217 seconds with 13 queries