English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 March 2016, 21:23   #1
WeiXing3D
Rusted Amiga user
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pacifica, California. U.S.A.
Posts: 77
Help setting up 16GB micro SD card in WinUAE for use in Amiga 3000

I'm trying to follow this tutorial [ Show youtube player ] while using Amiga Forever 2016. Unfortunately, besides the fact the user interface has changed a lot with the new version of WinUAE, I'm not being able to see (or detect) my microSD when trying to add it as a new Hard Drive.

I have used Windows Diskpart toll to clean the SD card, so all I see when pulling down in the Hard Drive settings is: ?[14.8G,RW as Storage Device].

Then when I tried to select that drive using HDToolBox I get a message saying that this type of device can be handled:


I can't seem to find a guide to prepare a micro or SD card to be used in a real Amiga 3000, by means of a SCSI2SD micro SD adapter. I'd like to have the card ready to plug and copy content of existing HDD with OS inside the Amiga.

I'd appreciate your guidance. Thanks.

Last edited by WeiXing3D; 12 March 2016 at 22:30.
WeiXing3D is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 March 2016, 21:31   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Did you run WinUAE as admin? How did you mount it in WinUAE? (IDE? UAE? CF or HD type? Try first with UAE and run hdtoolbox with uaehf.device parameter, if it works, drive is detected and the rest are AmigOS side limits)

Select the drive, quit emulator, attach winuaebootlog.txt log file.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 March 2016, 22:26   #3
WeiXing3D
Rusted Amiga user
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pacifica, California. U.S.A.
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Did you run WinUAE as admin? How did you mount it in WinUAE? (IDE? UAE? CF or HD type? Try first with UAE and run hdtoolbox with uaehf.device parameter, if it works, drive is detected and the rest are AmigOS side limits)

Select the drive, quit emulator, attach winuaebootlog.txt log file.
FIXED. I thought I was running Amiga Forever as administrator but I was not. I managed to prepared 3 different sizes of micro SD cards from 4 GB, 8 GB and 16 GB, respectively, to test when I physically install the SCSI2SD micro SD adapter in my Amiga 3000.

I came across a stubborn 32 GB SanDisk micro SD, which is not letting me format the third and last partition (to be used as "Games"). I'm using PFS3 AIO handle with this card. Any ideas?

Last edited by WeiXing3D; 13 March 2016 at 07:31.
WeiXing3D is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
setting up cf card in winuae back2skooldaze support.WinUAE 1 21 January 2015 01:21
8GB or 16GB CF card with ClassicWB ADVSP TronPlayer support.Hardware 14 28 August 2014 01:31
Does OS 3.9 recognize 16GB CF card after install over OS 3.1? Snowwie support.Hardware 5 02 March 2014 22:39
Problems setting up a 16 Gb CF card from Winuae beltrixx support.Hardware 9 18 February 2014 10:17
Setting up Amiga 3000 amiganer support.Hardware 18 04 May 2010 22:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10869 seconds with 14 queries