English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 June 2012, 13:25   #1
Jasmin68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: At home :)
Posts: 18
WinUAE 2.4.1 does not boot with attached HD anymore

Hi!

I recently switched from 2.4.0 to 2.4.1 and noticed that without any changes in my configurations WinUAE does not boot anymore from a directory attached as bootable HD or a bootable hardfile. It just stays there doing nothing showing a black screen.

When I remove the bootable HD from the configuration it starts normally, of course just showing the Kickstart Screen, since it has nothing to boot from.

Switching back to 2.4.0 everything works fine again.

I also tried 2.4.2 beta 4, which does not work either.

Attached you find the bootlog from both versions.

Let me know, if you need any additional info, which might help with tracking down the problem.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog2.4.0working.txt (11.2 KB, 105 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog2.4.1notworking.txt (11.3 KB, 111 views)
Jasmin68k is offline  
Old 06 June 2012, 14:06   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,042
Attach also winuaelog.txt (Enable checkbox in misc panel).
Does latest 2.4.2 beta work?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 06 June 2012, 14:22   #3
Jasmin68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: At home :)
Posts: 18
From what I can see in the sticky thread the latest beta is 2.4.2 beta 4, which does not work either, as stated in the original post

Logs are attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog2.4.0working.txt (15.3 KB, 127 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog2.4.1notworking.txt (15.4 KB, 102 views)
Jasmin68k is offline  
Old 06 June 2012, 14:24   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,042
Oops

Include log using latest beta and last working version, beta includes more HD logging than older versions.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 06 June 2012, 14:27   #5
Jasmin68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: At home :)
Posts: 18
There you go.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog2.4.2b4notworking.txt (15.2 KB, 118 views)
Jasmin68k is offline  
Old 06 June 2012, 14:47   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,042
Does it work if you select 68020 CPU?

68030 (or higher) + cycle-exact isn't fully supported combination when using expansion hardware.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 06 June 2012, 14:52   #7
Jasmin68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: At home :)
Posts: 18
Yes, it does ...in both 2.4.1 and 2.4.2b4.

Can you elaborate a little more on what the source of the problem is?

Should 68030 + cycle-exact not be used?

And what changed from 2.4.0, when it was still working?
Jasmin68k is offline  
Old 06 June 2012, 15:59   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasmin68k View Post
Yes, it does ...in both 2.4.1 and 2.4.2b4.

Can you elaborate a little more on what the source of the problem is?
Problem is native (x86 C code) threads that need to directly access Amiga memory, bypassing CPU emulator's data cache.

If emulated Amiga program reads some memory location, it gets loaded to 68030's data cache. Following reads from same location reads the data in cache, memory is not accessed.

Things go bad if thread writes new value to above address. Emulated program still sees the original value because cache is not flushed.

Threads bypass the cache emulation because it would add overhead to function that is used very regularly. (each CPU memory access)

There are some simple workarounds but they are not perfect and because 68030 cycle-exact is far from exact, there really isn't any need anyway.

Quote:
Should 68030 + cycle-exact not be used?
Depends on configuration. It can have problems with expansions that use native threads (filesystem, uaescsi, bsdsocket etc..)

Quote:
And what changed from 2.4.0, when it was still working?
No idea. Unsupported = It may or may not work. If you are interested, you can try to find which was first non-working beta.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 06 June 2012, 16:05   #9
Jasmin68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: At home :)
Posts: 18
Thanks for the detailed explanation.

I guess, since 68030 cycle-exact is not that perfect anyway, easiest would be to just leave it off.

BTW I noticed using 2.4.1 that the same configuration with the hardfile as bootdrive, boots faster on 68020 with cycle exact than with 68030 without cycle exact, nothing else changed

Well, whatever, important thing is it works now, thanks a lot!
Jasmin68k is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 09:31   #10
CapnJack
 
Posts: n/a
A workaround for this is to just boot up a standard quick config to the kickstart screen (ex A4000), press F12 then load your custom configs with HD attached. Press start and the hangup no longer occurs.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winuae won't start anymore/crashes jamotide support.WinUAE 6 30 June 2012 23:18
WinUAE 2.3.3 Weird problem with a real hard drive logs attached ancalimon support.WinUAE 15 12 December 2011 10:03
hd wont boot with df0 attached terexuk support.Hardware 5 30 March 2011 07:48
A4000D won't boot anymore lopos2000 support.Hardware 14 30 June 2005 14:27
HD on 1200 won't boot anymore Iguana support.Hardware 3 24 May 2003 20:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07367 seconds with 16 queries