English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 April 2019, 11:17   #41
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian View Post
Can a riser with SERIAL, FLOPPY & PARALLEL port will be done ?

The best addon for a CD32 for me is like a SX32 with 060 & 64 Mb or more RAM
SX32 is also much much much more expensive than TF330. It's a lot of money to pay for a few extra ports.
trixster is online now  
Old 26 April 2019, 14:12   #42
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 495
I think it's expensive because it's old and rare, not because the riser has extra ports.

I think a new riser with those extra ports can be redone, because there is no special hardware on it
Rochabian is offline  
Old 26 April 2019, 15:26   #43
SKOLMAN_MWS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 145
TF360 can have SPI controller to which you can connect an SD card reader for convenient file exchange and an Ethernet or WiFi network, decoder MP3 etc.
SKOLMAN_MWS is offline  
Old 26 April 2019, 15:48   #44
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 48
Posts: 298
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Im terribly interested in following this development....
seb132 is offline  
Old 26 April 2019, 15:54   #45
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
Watch Stephens YouTube channel for this information. He explained already
The point in asking was to avoid sifting through hours of video to answer a yes or no question.
th4t1guy is online now  
Old 26 April 2019, 15:57   #46
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,216
The SX1/SX32 riser did not have logic chips on the riser they had them on the SX1/SX32 main board plugged in.

Possibly using unused or not needed (for SX1/SX32) I/O on the riser connector?

That might explain why the SX1/SX32/WSi risers are not 100% compatible with TF328?

So in theory a new riser could be created with these I/O connectors and the plugin cards (TF329/TF361) could take advantage of them (if there are enough spare I/O)

Last edited by alexh; 27 April 2019 at 03:16.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 April 2019, 16:09   #47
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian View Post
I think a new riser with those extra ports can be redone, because there is no special hardware on it
Yes, but there needs to be special hardware somewhere for those ports to work - and that hardware is not on the TF360, or the TF328. So the riser *does* need special hardware for those ports to do anything in this context.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 02:49   #48
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 438
Instead of speculate just wach this short video ive posted above!
[ Show youtube player ]
Its just few minutes long!
Floppy port needs 5 ics - these will NOT FIT physically on the riser!!!
Also serial and parallel ports will need some logic.
As i said - WILL NOT PHYSICALLY FIT on riser - needs additional pcb

As about CIAs - these are not needed - Akiko chip is emulating those - watch Steve's videos, he already explained how it works while he developed TF330
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 04:41   #49
cheshirenoir
I miss my A1200

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
Instead of speculate just wach this short video ive posted above!
[ Show youtube player ]
Its just few minutes long!
Floppy port needs 5 ics - these will NOT FIT physically on the riser!!!
Also serial and parallel ports will need some logic.
As i said - WILL NOT PHYSICALLY FIT on riser - needs additional pcb

As about CIAs - these are not needed - Akiko chip is emulating those - watch Steve's videos, he already explained how it works while he developed TF330
Cheers 8 Bit Dreams.
I watched through the whole series. It was highly amusing to see such a glorious "kludge" come together and work at the end. (I also enjoyed hearing a fellow Aussie playing with this stuff.)
Now I'm wondering if there is a potential project here for an "enhanced" version of the riser, deliberately designed to pass through the signals needed by the TF boards, with a piggybacked daughter-board for the extra "goodies" people seem to want. (I'm not too fussed. I have a CD32 but I only use it for games. When the TF360 comes out I'll probably re-evaluate.)
I seem to remember a riser design (Edit: This one - http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=88826 ) that broke out a whole bunch of signals out the rear that could allow such a daughter-board without additional work.
Hmm. Interesting times indeed :-)
My personal wish list for a two stack riser for the CD32 would be:
  • PS/2 mouse connector
  • RGB Video out (15KHz either 15 pin VGA or 23 pin Amiga. I'd personally prefer the 15 pin because 23 pin adaptors are getting rarer than hen's teeth.)
  • Floppy Drive Connector (Preferably as a 34 pin header to simplify using existing internal drives. Eh. I'm lazy. I don't have an external FDD right now, and this would be the fastest way to connect my Gotek.)

Of course this is just wishful thinking. I'll most likely just buy a Kipper2K one at the appropriate juncture, or get a bundle with a TF360 on AmiBay :-)
(My biggest problem, as always, is getting stuff to Australia. It's expen$ive getting stuff shipped here )
cheshirenoir is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 11:05   #50
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 438
Yes, that riser from bprepared seem to be the right one. As about schematics - these are on Aminet since 1995.
You just need to figure out how floppy connector will be mounted..

As about shipping to Australia - it's 7€ only. Tracked of course. This is since 2017 - i started to offer TF530's, it remains same with TF534 & TF330 im offering now..

Last edited by 8 Bit Dreams; 27 April 2019 at 12:29.
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 28 April 2019, 23:09   #51
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 495
Yes ! The bprepared riser seems to be the one with extra ports working with TF boards !

Also, there is no update on the project since one year, i wish it's still on the way

For a TF360 + bprepared riser combo : Take my money !
Rochabian is offline  
Old 28 April 2019, 23:31   #52
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 438
I would be glad to build them, but these are not open source unfortunately.
And another thing You should keep in mind:
This riser doesn't have 23pin Video output, so You need to use S-Video wich is really crap compared to RGB...
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 29 April 2019, 15:15   #53
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 495
French CD32 here with SCART RGB so no problem at all

Or RGB mod on TP9 for others, wich is quite easy to do...
Rochabian is offline  
Old 29 April 2019, 15:40   #54
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
As about CIAs - these are not needed - Akiko chip is emulating those
The Akiko chip only emulates enough to get the CD32 to work, since the OS depends on the CIAs for timers, the keyboard input uses them, and the joystick ports use them for the fire button on standard controllers, and for reading all buttons on the CD32 controller. Not only does the Akiko not emulate the other CIA I/O functions, it also lacks the I/O pins. So yes, you *do* need the CIAs, or at least a functional equivalent, for floppy, parallel and full RS232.

As an aside, I got to see the TF360 in the flesh when Steve brought it along to the Scottish Amiga users meetup yesterday... It's an impressive little bit of kit!
Daedalus is offline  
Old 29 April 2019, 15:50   #55
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 536
I love how few components is needed for it. (and this was what people commented aswell when showing my board to people at the revision demoparty this easter)
Chucky is offline  
Old 30 April 2019, 02:03   #56
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
As an aside, I got to see the TF360 in the flesh when Steve brought it along to the Scottish Amiga users meetup yesterday... It's an impressive little bit of kit!
Slightly off topic I know but did I hear Steve say that he's also going to do a 360 for the A1200?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 April 2019, 04:00   #57
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Slightly off topic I know but did I hear Steve say that he's also going to do a 360 for the A1200?

I suspect Edu Arana will be doing the 1200 version, he's currently "porting" the 330 to the 1200.
alenppc is offline  
Old 30 April 2019, 04:24   #58
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
I suspect Edu Arana will be doing the 1200 version, he's currently "porting" the 330 to the 1200.
Cool
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 01 May 2019, 09:35   #59
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,122
Yep, the plan is to have an A1200 version once the CD32 version is finished. Whether Steve does it himself, or someone else picks it up, we'll find out soon enough
Daedalus is offline  
Old 01 May 2019, 12:38   #60
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,407
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: this is a great development and really appreciated. In fact, the entire TF project has been excellent. Now I wish plasmab would return to eab, he’s missed.
trixster is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted : 060 card , RTG Card o0Nosferatu0o MarketPlace 9 07 May 2013 00:38
WANTED: Zorro Network card and/or cheap 060 card Madrid MarketPlace 0 10 March 2011 22:52
WTB: 060 card for A1200 4pLaY MarketPlace 3 04 January 2010 22:33
WTB - 060 Accelerator card for A1200 ne7 MarketPlace 0 11 January 2009 02:29
Blizzard 060 Desktop card for sale Galahad/FLT MarketPlace 14 29 July 2003 09:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10434 seconds with 14 queries