English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

Old 15 March 2016, 16:26   #1
Alan

Hello Amigos

Hi everyone,

I found this forum when I got round to getting the Amiga 500+ out the attic.

Imagine my joy that the power light came on, the drive light came on as did the caps lock light.....then my disappointment when all I get is a black screen

The battery has leaked over the board....I have no computer knowledge, does anyone know of anywhere I can take the beast to be repaired?

Thank you in advance

Alan

Old 15 March 2016, 17:08   #2
Allen1

Hi Alan,

until you find someone who may have a look at the damage from the battery leakage, it would be wise to remove the battery and put the board minus the metal shield into a plastic bowl and then treat the affected areas with some lemon juice to stop the damage from the battery continuing to eat away at the board and parts.

I use vitafit lemon juice from Lidls, its cheap and does a good job (its a bit like jif and is made from lemon concentrate). Just soak the areas that are bad, leave for a while then use an old tooth brush to remove more stubborn bits and rinse with water, this may take a few goes to get it clean then find somewhere warm to let it dry after getting rid of most of the water etc.

Realistically you may have to remove some of the socketed dips as the legs often get contaminated too (that battery stuff gets everywhere), the dips can also be cleaned using the same method as for the motherboard.

It is important to do the above in an area that is easily cleaned and to wash your hands properly after doing the work and also wear some old clothes. With a bit of luck the damage will be fixable so after its cleaned you could maybe upload some pictures of the board and maybe someone will help you out.