English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 May 2002, 10:19   #1
Walker
Junior Member
Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 595
Marvin's Marvellous Adventure AGA

The game loads just fine with WinUAE 0.8.21 R3, but I can't start the game. I try to pick different options from the game menu but nothing happens. Anybody out there with a solution to this?
Walker is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 02:06   #2
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
fix the emulator, not the game

There is no solution.
Thanks for bringing up a stone-old game issue I almost forgot about.
MMA has never ever worked with ANY WinUAE (BTTR got it into its non-working list since about 4-5 years).

Toni:
On the main menu, you can only select the QUIT and the ENTER PASSWORD option, but neither the START option nor the INSTRUCTIONS option.

Last edited by andreas; 16 May 2002 at 02:18.
andreas is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 02:27   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
I suppose this works on a real Amiga? If so which model(s)?
jmmijo is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 11:42   #4
Walker
Junior Member
Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 595
Re: fix the emulator, not the game

Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
MMA has never ever worked with ANY WinUAE (BTTR got it into its non-working list since about 4-5 years).
Is this an official list....? I'd be happy to help out updating it.
Walker is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 13:00   #5
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,820
Well, I did get it working once. I can't remember how, though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	marvin'smarvaaga.gif
Views:	289
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	2400  
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 18:08   #6
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
@Walker

but of course it is!
Who told you it isn't?
Well yes, you've got the permission () to update the BTTR list every time you feel to it.
Guess what I've been doing the past years?
Remember that strange configuration information I made Operation Thunderbolt work with? (Printer port off, etc. ... )
And many more...So help the boys update their stuff - you've got my blessings.

@Cody
could you upload your version in the Zone in case it's not the TOSEC version?

Last edited by andreas; 16 May 2002 at 20:37.
andreas is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 19:10   #7
Walker
Junior Member
Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 595
LOL!

Now I get which list you mean! I thought there was a separate listing of games not working in any emulators.

I guess I can put together a list just by looking for games that has a "-" in the WinUAE column.
Walker is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 21:49   #8
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
@Cody

You sure you played the game ??? Cause this is exactly the scene that appears after waiting for some moments (demo mode) !
RetroMan is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 22:56   #9
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Looks like a great game too. Strange how the fire button only refuses to work on start and instructions.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 17 May 2002, 09:02   #10
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,820
I think you could be right, Retroman...
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 17 May 2002, 18:48   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,503
fixed about 5 minutes ago
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 May 2002, 18:55   #12
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
'Ods my bodkins!
Hell, I wanna know that! What's the logical reason resp. the technical reason with a menu with only half of the items functioning? Speak up!
Now you've made me completely curious ...
andreas is offline  
Old 17 May 2002, 19:16   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,503
1: game's music play routine interrupt was ignored -> no music.
2: game ignores start requests until music is playing with correct volume.

Result: non-working game
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 May 2002, 19:51   #14
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thanks.
Even killing two birds with one stone, so to speak.

Last edited by andreas; 29 March 2008 at 05:28.
andreas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MARVIN`s MARV ADVENTURE AGA plasmatron support.WinUAE 2 01 July 2011 18:31
Marvin's Marvellous Adventure problems hexaae support.WinUAE 5 27 March 2008 22:59
Marvin's marvellous adventure AGA - which config rsn8887 support.Games 9 25 November 2006 19:56
Bubble & Squeak and Marvin's Marvellous Adventures CD32. GreyLord request.Old Rare Games 9 06 October 2006 20:35
Marvin's Marvellous Adventure: Hey, now look at that! :) andreas Nostalgia & memories 8 03 January 2003 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08998 seconds with 14 queries