English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.MAGE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 December 2019, 21:30   #2621
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 566
Thank you DD ;-)
Viceroy is online now  
Old 11 December 2019, 00:00   #2622
jabybau
Registered User

jabybau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 70
restless guy Damien!!!!!
jabybau is offline  
Old 11 December 2019, 00:55   #2623
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Thank you Damien! Right now I am playing Legions of Dawn... Man, what a game!

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 11 December 2019 at 02:05.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 11 December 2019, 01:20   #2624
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,774
Enjoy

...I'm currently testing out one of ross's secret projects
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 December 2019, 02:31   #2625
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Hmm, when I play Legions of Dawn and select "Default" or "Fullscreen (TV)" in Filters panel, I can't click directly over the GUI's buttons to move my character. I must click outside of them.

In the screenshot below you can see that the ghosted rectangle is where I must click to move my character to the right, always at the left of the real button.

The mouse pointer seems to be misaligned with the game image, because every button reacts in the same way.

Seems to be a problem with this game and that Filter options I commented before.

Another issue related to WinUAE and that I would like to hear other people's opinions, is that the option "Mouse/Joystick Autoswitching" in Game ports panel doesn't always works with my controller, a wired XBOX 360 one. Many times WinUAE don't detect the controller or place the controller in the mouse port when I press the fire button.

So I have some questions about this option: firstly anyone know what is the logic which WinUAE uses when selecting the right port for a mouse or controller? And second, anyone sees also WinUAE having difficulties to detect controllers like happens with my XBOX 360 one?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Black Dawn III - Legions of Dawn (1995)(Black Dragon - F1 Licenceware)(Disk 1 of 2)[AMOS]_001.png
Views:	27
Size:	14.8 KB
ID:	65482  

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 11 December 2019 at 10:55.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 11 December 2019, 02:45   #2626
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,774
I've never experienced that. If you play the game using my defaults does the same thing happen?

I have to ask, why are you selecting "Default" [never use this as it messes with aspect ratio / scaling] or "Fullscreen (TV)" in the "Filters" panel?

...the games are already setup perfectly in my collection

If you are going to play around with the configuration files I've made (which have been tested thoroughly), then sorry to say; you are on own...

...but in all honesty, I wouldn't expect these changes that you've done to cause any issues; but again I haven't tested by selecting these options.
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 December 2019, 02:55   #2627
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Another issue related to WinUAE and that I would like to hear other people's opnions, is that the option "Mouse/Joystick Autoswitching" in Game ports panel not always works with my controller, a wired XBOX 360 one. Many times WinUAE don't detect the controller or it puts the controller in the mouse port when I press the fire button.

So I have some questions about this option: firstly anyone know what is the logic which WinUAE uses when selecting the right port for a mouse or controller? And second, anyone is seeing also WinUAE having difficulties to detect controllers like happens with my XBOX 36 one?
I see you've made edits / additions to your post, which I'll try to address

Regarding "Mouse/Joystick autoswitching". I've never had any issues with this over the years and it works perfectly (I've used "wired" Xbox controllers and currently "wireless" Xbox 360 controllers)

See my notes in the 1st post of this thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
  • "Keyboard Layout B" is set for "Port 2"; obviously if you plug in your joystick / controller and press button one it will swap over. With the second joystick / controller, press the 2nd button to swap over.
I should add to that really; pressing "Button 1" on any controller maps to "Port 2", pressing "Button 2" on any controller maps to "Port 1"

Last edited by DamienD; 11 December 2019 at 03:10.
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 December 2019, 03:16   #2628
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I've never experienced that. If you play the game using my defaults does the same thing happen?

I have to ask, why are you selecting "Default" [never use this as it messes with aspect ratio / scaling] or "Fullscreen (TV)" in the "Filters" panel?
I created a separate configuration in the Host panel with one shader I like to use when playing the games in the collection, so that WinUAE load it with each game, without me needing to modify every configuration separately.

In this separate configuration I have the "Fullscreen (TV)" and "Bilinear filtering" options, along with the aforementioned shader, selected on the Filters panel.

So in reality I only did need to create one new configuration to change every other automatically.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I should add to that really; pressing "Button 1" on any controller maps to "Port 2", pressing "Button 2" on any controller maps to "Port 1"
Thanks for your help with everything, mainly the "Mouse/Joystick autoswitching" option; I will follow your directions and will see if the option works now.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 11 December 2019 at 09:56.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 11 December 2019, 04:04   #2629
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Now I know what was wrong when I used the "Mouse/Joystick autoswitching" option.

It only worked for me when I selected "Game Ports Panel" from the top left box in the Input panel.

Then I pressed the Button #1 of my controller and bingo! It was finally detected!

On my computer I used to have that box always set to "Configuration #1", because I needed to remap the keys on my laptop to work correctly with WinUAE.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard 1.png
Views:	20
Size:	18.3 KB
ID:	65483  

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 11 December 2019 at 09:55.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 11 December 2019, 10:15   #2630
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
I created a separate configuration in the Host panel with one shader I like to use when playing the games in the collection, so that WinUAE load it with each game, without me needing to modify every configuration separately.

In this separate configuration I have the "Fullscreen (TV)" and "Bilinear filtering" options, along with the aforementioned shader, selected on the Filters panel.

So in reality I only did need to create one new configuration to change every other automatically.
Ah ok, that makes sense. Yes I think if you use shaders then you need to set "native" display and play around with stuff in the "Filters" section.
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 December 2019, 02:15   #2631
vbgd
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Paris
Posts: 20
Damien, your collection rocks!
vbgd is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 12:14   #2632
enzoboss
Registered User
enzoboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cava de' Tirreni/Nocera Superiore - Italia
Posts: 61
I will never cease to thank you Damien for this incredible project.
Now I'm inserting my screenshot and changing configurations, I like shaders, and inserting hdf files in the collection.I have captured the screenshots over the years with FS-UAE and now thanks to you I went back to using WinUae too.Look at the result.
Merry Christmas to all.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Agony.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	500.4 KB
ID:	65495   Click image for larger version

Name:	Deliverance.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	340.8 KB
ID:	65496   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mortal Kombat.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	704.9 KB
ID:	65497   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mortal Kombat II.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	658.7 KB
ID:	65498   Click image for larger version

Name:	Myth - History in the Making.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	408.6 KB
ID:	65499  

enzoboss is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 12:16   #2633
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,420
Merry Christmas to you
chip is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 14:26   #2634
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by enzoboss View Post
I will never cease to thank you Damien for this incredible project.
Now I'm inserting my screenshot and changing configurations, I like shaders, and inserting hdf files in the collection.I have captured the screenshots over the years with FS-UAE and now thanks to you I went back to using WinUae too.Look at the result.
Merry Christmas to all.
Better than my screenshots

You have to remember that I took over 2300 "Title" and 2300 "SShots" in under 2 months of continuous work...

Unfortunately I didn't have time to play games for more than 1 - 2 minutes really.
DamienD is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 19:22   #2635
enzoboss
Registered User
enzoboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cava de' Tirreni/Nocera Superiore - Italia
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Better than my screenshots

You have to remember that I took over 2300 "Title" and 2300 "SShots" in under 2 months of continuous work...

Unfortunately I didn't have time to play games for more than 1 - 2 minutes really.
It is from the beginning of the millennium that I try games and capture screenshots with WinUae and then from 2012 I used FS-UAE, then when I met your project now use both.
In my external hd I have a screenshot folder with "144.770" files, naturally
only Amiga.
enzoboss is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 19:24   #2636
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,420
That's impressive
chip is offline  
Old Yesterday, 19:58   #2637
Martecx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 4
Whoever cares, I made a list with Excel of DamienD's collection that automatically counts for example how many AGA, RTG, CD32, CDTV, AmigaCD games etc... which are present in the collection in addition to the total number.

It is updated to Update Pack #31; not present are APC & TCP Games & Purchases; that should be 21.

https://mega.nz/#!qmJg0CBA!UlMoD1wQJ...8env9xdxnMTTZs

Last edited by DamienD; Yesterday at 21:15. Reason: Fixed URL ;-)
Martecx is offline  
Old Yesterday, 21:25   #2638
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martecx View Post
Whoever cares, I made a list with Excel of DamienD's collection that automatically counts for example how many AGA, RTG, CD32, CDTV, AmigaCD games etc... which are present in the collection in addition to the total number.

It is updated to Update Pack #31; not present are APC & TCP Games & Purchases; that should be 21.

https://mega.nz/#!qmJg0CBA!UlMoD1wQJ...8env9xdxnMTTZs
Heya Martecx,

Thank you for taking the time to produce this

It's quite cool with loads of information, and the ability to see "cracked by"

Maybe you could add a "trained by" column also
DamienD is offline  
Old Yesterday, 21:57   #2639
Martecx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 4
The main motivation for the creation of this list was mainly to see the year of release of the games. So I can see the improvements or deterioration in the quality of the games during those years. The crack column is not perfect and if in a game I didn't find out who did the crack I got the trainer or who changed it surely can be improved. Maybe if I find the time I do it. However the nice thing is that you can order the titles as you want; for game name, for year, for developer, for aga, for any column and in a moment you see how many games are united.
Martecx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[DamienD] WinUAE v3.2.2 - Games "DAT File" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 29 10 February 2016 01:02
DamienD's SNES DVD... DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 282 03 November 2008 10:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17361 seconds with 15 queries