English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

Old 16 June 2005, 15:22   #1
benkid77

Total Chaos

Hello all forum members,

I've been using WinUAE for several years now, and have configurations that allow me to play all of my Amiga games more or less perfectly, except for one game "Total Chaos".

For those who are unfamiliar with Total Chaos, it is different from most other Amiga Games in that it requires a very powerful Amiga to run. The game can be downloaded from the web. I believe it is in the public domain now.

The main problem I have is that although the game loads OK, and runs seemingly perfectly for a while. The game eventually crashes back to the workbench desktop with a fatal sound related error, or a "Guru Meditation" type software failure error. This usually happens after a few minutes or so of play, but seems completely random.

Here is my system:
Windows XP SP2 plus latest drivers and updates,
Athlon 64 3500+, (Totally Prime 95 stable), 1GB RAM, ATI X800 PCI-E gfx, Creative Audigy 2 ZS

My WinUAE Configuration:
WinUAE version 1.0 (The latest - downloaded yesterday)
Emulated HDD (Windows directory - not a hardfile)
CPU: 68040, JIT Enabled, Fastest Speed Possible, Default Advanced JIT Settings
Chipset: AGA
ROM: Kickstart 3.1
RAM: 2MB Chip, 8MB Fast, 1MB Slow, 32MB Z3-Fast, 32MB RTG
Workbench 3.1
Picasso 96, Latest "graphics.rtg"

These are extreme settings, but if JIT is turned off, the game is way too slow under emulation. If RAM is lessened the game fails with "insuficcient memory" errors during load.

So, I have solved those problems by using the above configuration, and now just the stability/crashing issue still remains.

Has anyone else had this problem, or have any advice on how to make the game stable under WinUAE,

Thanks, benkid77
Old 16 June 2005, 16:38   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer

and the exact error messages are? ("sound related error" does not help much..)
Old 16 June 2005, 17:05   #3
benkid77

Quote: